Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Less about Oscar than..., May 4 2010
By 
Jill Meyer (United States) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Oscar the Cat - a tabby/white mix - who was one of six cats living with the patients at the Steere Nursing Home in Rhode Island - became famous when his habit of sitting with dying patients in their last stage of life was written up in the news media. Dr David Dosa, a geriatrician and assistant professor at Brown University, who's also an attending physician at Steere, wrote up his findings about Oscar's behavior and published it in the New England Journal of Medicine. (NEJM)

Dr Dosa expanded his article for NEJM into a small book, called "Making Rounds with Oscar", where he tries to determine if Oscar has a true gift for knowing when a person is near death. The dying often give off a sweet smell that Dr Dosa thinks Oscar may have a heightened awareness of and that's responsible for his attentiveness to the dying.

But Dr Dosa's book is more than just a look at Oscar. It's also a look at the patients at Steere and the families of the patients and the staff at the home who provide loving care in the patients' final days. Most of the patients at Steere are there because of dementia and had been living with their families until they entered Steere. Dr Dosa talks about the caregivers - both at home and at Steere - and the almost superhuman jobs they do to ensure the best quality of life possible for those suffering from dementia.

Dr Dosa gives us a wonderful look at those caregivers who tend to the sick and at Oscar the Cat who gently sits with them at their deaths. A very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not about the cat, Aug. 25 2011
This review is from: Making Rounds with Oscar: The Extraordinary Gift of an Ordinary Cat (Paperback)
I'm not big on cats (More of a dog person really) but I read a review on the book and it sounded interesting. A cat that can predict death? Sounds gory but wow. The writing was very easy reading so I bought the book and was hooked into actually reading a book about dementia. Sounds depressing but honestly it was the most uplighting book I have ever read about dementia. Let's face it, who's going to read a book about dementia but would you read a book about a cat that predicts death? Well.... I'll let you answer that question. Yes!! There's a reason why this book is on the best seller's list. It's a very easy reading, sucks you in type of story ,...about a cat that hangs out in a nursing home. If dementia has ever hit your life...oh I hate when people say you should read this book...but honestly do yourself a favour and just pick it up. It won't be a waste of time and the photo of Oscar on the front is pretty cute as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good summary of the inner dealings of gerontology, June 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Rounds with Oscar: The Extraordinary Gift of an Ordinary Cat (Paperback)
How we can find humanity even in the worst of circumstances. Oscar is actually a diversion to the real story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A heart warming book, Nov. 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Rounds with Oscar: The Extraordinary Gift of an Ordinary Cat (Paperback)
I found this story very easy to read. It was heart-warming, and sad all at once. Oscar has truly brought comfort in the final hours of so many of his "patients." It was absolutely amazing to read of the impact he has had on staff and residents at Steere House. It was also an insightful look into the lives of dementia patients. Oscar's care and comforting presence reached past the unraveling minds of those living there, and found a place in their hearts. A great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a Great Book, Sept. 18 2013
By 
E. Robbins (DeFuniak Springs, FL, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Rounds with Oscar: The Extraordinary Gift of an Ordinary Cat (Paperback)
I enjoy cat stories to begin with and then discovered this book is about a special cat in a nursing home for advanced care of dementia patients. In following the story of this cat there is so much interesting information wound into the story about how people and patients - and even cats - respond and how to best help each other with everyday life living with dementia. A must read for care givers with folks in a nursing home situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This was a special book, Sept. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Rounds with Oscar: The Extraordinary Gift of an Ordinary Cat (Paperback)
My mother recently died of Alzheimers and I ony wished that I had read this book long before she got to the end stage. It let me see things that I was missing with my mum and the disease. I have let all of my family read this and they all felt the same. I have also purchased a second copy for a friend that is struggling with her father who is in the earlier states of Alzheimers. When I hear her complaining about him, I remind her to read "Oscar". It is the disease not her dad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars caregiver, May 21 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Rounds with Oscar: The Extraordinary Gift of an Ordinary Cat (Paperback)
Wonderful book. I'm a cat lover and have worked in nursing home so am aware how much animals mean to residents who are unable to take their own pets with them to a home.
Oscar brought comfort to many residents who were alone and was always to be found curled up beside them in their final moments.
Dr Dosa talks about caregivers at Steere and families coping with losing their loved ones to Alzheimers disease. Nice reading, not full of medical terminology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Aug. 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a wonderful book, written by a caring practician.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Sept. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
fast service excellent book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Making Rounds with Oscar: The Extraordinary Gift of an Ordinary Cat
CDN$ 18.00 CDN$ 13.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews