Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book
I've bought one for myself & a few more as gifts. Michael J Fox is really very inspirational to everyone.
Published 8 months ago by aslakeview

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alright
A quick and enjoyable read. A short memoir of how Michael learned important lessons without going to post secondary.
Published on July 2 2010 by Kathryn L. Schmidt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, Jan. 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Future: Twists and Turns and Lessons Learned (Hardcover)
I've bought one for myself & a few more as gifts. Michael J Fox is really very inspirational to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book!, Jan. 24 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Future: Twists and Turns and Lessons Learned (Hardcover)
This book was amazing. Well written and hard to put down. I strongly recommend this book to all biography fans out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, July 20 2010
By 
Kim Levasseur (Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Future: Twists and Turns and Lessons Learned (Hardcover)
This is a lovely book and an excellent read.He is funny,straight foward and tells it the way it is.Lets us see and understand how strangely sometimes life seems to work itself out.Even though we may have planned it otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alright, July 2 2010
By 
Kathryn L. Schmidt (Vancouver Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Future: Twists and Turns and Lessons Learned (Hardcover)
A quick and enjoyable read. A short memoir of how Michael learned important lessons without going to post secondary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Funny Thing Happened On The Way To The Future, May 30 2010
By 
A. E. Grimley "Adelle" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Future: Twists and Turns and Lessons Learned (Hardcover)
A succinct read with anecdotes from "Back to the Future" of life's lessons outside the mainstream classroom. Live 2 learn is the overriding message as is living in the moment. Aimed at college graduates who may not have tripped up over life's unexpected turns yet. Reading is promoted...conventional education a little bashed in the process which is a shame as you can benefit from both. I ordered it from Amazon.ca before it's even available in the U.K for a few months so I think you could say once a fan, always a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A small book with a lot of content, relaxed and personal style., July 28 2011
By 
Betty Gelean "nightreader" (Smithers, BC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Future: Twists and Turns and Lessons Learned (Hardcover)
This is Michael's third book, and is more geared to a quick read, recommended as a gift book for a high school graduate. An honest look at the early years of Michael J. Fox right up to and including his fight with Parkinson's Disease. Knowing one of the crew, I have followed Michael's career since he was working on his first TV series in Vancouver, BC, and I believe that he is totally honest as he writes this book. A small book with a lot of content, I liked his relaxed and personal style of writing.

As a high school dropout, some readers may feel that he is condoning this action. What he has to say is that you have to be open to learn from life, however and whenever it is served, e.g. learning physics from hockey. School has given you a start, but there is much more to be learned if you are open to what life has to teach you. This book will give the reader some insight into his remarkable ability to face adversity head on, to roll with the punches, retain his sense of humor, and remain true to himself. Michael has worded it well in this quote:

'There's a rule in acting called, "Don't play the result." If you have a character who's going to end up in a certain place, don't play that until you get there. Play each scene and each beat as it comes. And that's what you do in life: You don't play the result.
Michael J. Fox (1961 - ), Good Housekeeping, June 2011'

A very quick read, but is worth reading a second time to "get it".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars audiobook version review, April 21 2011
I looked forward to this book on CD format, but found that despite the excellent content, Michael J. Fox reads it SOOO QUICKLY, there are just too many spots you can't "get" because he zips through them way too fast, and words get slurred and garbled. If you really want to enjoy this book, buy the printed form. The audio book format might disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Future: Twists and Turns and Lessons Learned
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews