Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative - permanent library addition
First, let me say I was born in 1972, after everything in this book happened. But JFK's tenure and assassination have left their mark on politics. After listening to the CD's I got the impression that Jackie O. was a very smart lady who knew more about her husband's affairs than she let on in public, but she was living in a time when a wife was supposed to be seen and...
Published on Nov. 8 2011 by KJV

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Conversations with Jacqueline
I bought this to add to our historical collection. As a diehard kennedy fan, one who just saw 'The Kennedys' on tv, this was of great interest. I must admit that I am still slogging through it. Much more tedious than I'd imagined.The foreward and intro in the first of the book is also on the CD's.As I am Canadian perhaps this would be of much more interest to an American...
Published on Dec 28 2011 by Mrs. P. "Carol"


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative - permanent library addition, Nov. 8 2011
By 
KJV (Georgetown, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jacqueline Kennedy: Historic Conversations on Life with John F. Kennedy (Hardcover)
First, let me say I was born in 1972, after everything in this book happened. But JFK's tenure and assassination have left their mark on politics. After listening to the CD's I got the impression that Jackie O. was a very smart lady who knew more about her husband's affairs than she let on in public, but she was living in a time when a wife was supposed to be seen and not heard, so no one really knew her - we just saw the image. A political wife always knows what goes on behind the scenes with alliances, appointments, policy and election hurdles. We hear her opinions about various senators, opponents and key political figures in American history. That said, it would have been nice to hear more about the woman behind the legend, and not just about her involvement in JFK's political life. But, all in all, it gives an excellent first-person account of a life in politics, dealing with pressures, lack of privacy and the challenges of conducting a normal life in the middle of one of the most high-profile American families in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars review, Oct. 27 2011
This review is from: Jacqueline Kennedy: Historic Conversations on Life with John F. Kennedy (Hardcover)
It was perfect until I found the huge scratch on the 5th cd... It was clearly like this when I received it because I took it out from the box and it was like this.
Other than that, the product is perfectly fine ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well-done, but little real insight by the First Lady into JKF's presidency, June 16 2013
This review is from: Jacqueline Kennedy: Historic Conversations on Life with John F. Kennedy (Hardcover)
This is a collection of 8 audio CDs and accompanying book with complete transcript and black & white photos. It is intended to represent Jacqueline Kennedy's contemporary recollection (recorded from March - June 1964) of her husband's presidency, with the intention that it be published some 50 years later. Given that President Kennedy did not live to write his own memoirs, the job had to be left to those closest to him. It has been beautifully published, reflecting a loving concern by Caroline Kennedy to both ensure her parents' privacy and acknowledge the need to chronicle JFK's presidency. However, to me, the conversations do not display Caroline Kennedy's belief that they display Mrs. Kennedy's intelligence and wit. Rather, she is vague on details, recounting only what she remembers hearing. Interviewer Arthur Schlesinger frequently explains to Mrs. Kennedy details of what happened. Schlesinger frequently interrupts her; we will never know what she might have said had the conversations not been so "led" by him. That said, for those interested in the JFK, this is definitely worth having as a well-produced oral history of his political career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Conversations with Jacqueline, Dec 28 2011
This review is from: Jacqueline Kennedy: Historic Conversations on Life with John F. Kennedy (Hardcover)
I bought this to add to our historical collection. As a diehard kennedy fan, one who just saw 'The Kennedys' on tv, this was of great interest. I must admit that I am still slogging through it. Much more tedious than I'd imagined.The foreward and intro in the first of the book is also on the CD's.As I am Canadian perhaps this would be of much more interest to an American Democrat.However, there is much information, much more in her opinions and thoughts, background than I ever thought possible. it took a real lady, truly a historian, to have the courage and foresight to put this together a scant 6 monhths after becoming a widow.With all his oersonal faults, JFK was quite a man who dearly loved his family and country and tried to do his best, even though he was, as we all are, fallible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jacqueline Kennedy, Nov. 12 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jacqueline Kennedy: Historic Conversations on Life with John F. Kennedy (Hardcover)
The book, Jacqueline Kennedy and the recorded tapes of her conversations, is an important part of American histroy. It permits the reader, or listener, to get a window into the lives of the important personalities of the times who contirbuted in shaping the global village of the last 50 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Sept. 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jacqueline Kennedy: Historic Conversations on Life with John F. Kennedy (Hardcover)
Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book, Dec 12 2011
This review is from: Jacqueline Kennedy: Historic Conversations on Life with John F. Kennedy (Hardcover)
I ordered this book and it arrived on time and issue free. Very easy to order and no hassles. It was not damaged and arrived in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jaqueline Kennedy, Oct. 15 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jacqueline Kennedy: Historic Conversations on Life with John F. Kennedy (Hardcover)
prompt delivery. I haven't watched the dvd yet, but the book was interesting and great pics of old and unseen pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CAMELOT that was AMERICA, April 11 2012
This review is from: Jacqueline Kennedy: Historic Conversations on Life with John F. Kennedy (Hardcover)
Why do some Americans have to try to destroy and criticize everything good in America?

The Kennedy years were grand years for the USA. It was Camelot in the truest sense of the word. The sun was shining on America and you were loved and admired all over the world. You went to the moon. You created the Peace Corps. Everything was positive. You went up, up, up, and the world loved you for it. You were the light in the darkness because the Kennedys were shining, bright stars. Rose had created a leading family that was solid to the core. Jackie was smart, motherly, elegant, and successful. She was First Lady at 32 and did she lead the women of the world by her sheer presence! No diplomat could wield greater power than she could. They both came from fine leading American families. They were American royalty. They gave rich America class. They gave America meaning. There was a sense of justice and winning, steady values. What a time it was! No other presidential couple has ever done that again. They have all been very uninspiring, mediocre, and very unsuccessful. Kennedy stood up with all his might when America was under attack, and he won, not only the retreat of the then other power bloc, but its admiration (in Vienna). Kennedy was NEVER a womanizer. There is not one iota of proof of all these ridiculous, puerile inventions. Just sick, degenerate, money-making talk.

Presidents Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Bush (2x),Clinton and Obama were/are asleep at the switch and let America slide, while its enemies rise. No class, no inspiration, no success, all morally suspect and in at least one case the President lost America its moral superiority, so essential for great leadership. President Reagan reached out to Russia and united the West, but all his efforts were lost with dithering Clinton and incomprehending Bush. Smart-lips Obama always seems exhausted and his wife is best never seen. Nothing splendid gets done. Nothing great gets achieved.

Oh, let America rise again and lead the West to greatness! Let there be another but enduring Kennedy Camelot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jacqueline Kennedy: Historic Conversations on Life with John F. Kennedy
Jacqueline Kennedy: Historic Conversations on Life with John F. Kennedy by Caroline Kennedy (Hardcover - Sept. 14 2011)
CDN$ 60.00 CDN$ 37.80
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews