Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best One Yet
Robin Sharma is growing and evolving, and his latest effort reflects that. "The Saint, the Surfer and the CEO" is a wonderfully told story that everyone will relate to. If you are in need of a little inspiration, a little encouragement, a little hope or a little clarity...read the book. Sharma's storytelling style and his character's dialogue tends to be...
Published on Nov. 7 2003 by Grant Criddle

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars something old, something new, something borrowed...
Several years ago I visited a trendy restaurant and ordered their chicken mango salad. Some delicious bits of chicken and mango arrived, nestled in a bizarre mishmash of strange colored and shaped lettuce. I politely picked through the lettuce and ate what I could endure, but the overall experience was one of confusion and disappointment. All those feelings came back...
Published on March 26 2004 by Larry Hehn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best One Yet, Nov. 7 2003
By 
Grant Criddle (Regina, Saskatchewan Canada) - See all my reviews
Robin Sharma is growing and evolving, and his latest effort reflects that. "The Saint, the Surfer and the CEO" is a wonderfully told story that everyone will relate to. If you are in need of a little inspiration, a little encouragement, a little hope or a little clarity...read the book. Sharma's storytelling style and his character's dialogue tends to be somewhat corny and maudlin at times, but you know what? The message is so uplifting and enlightening that it is very easy for me to overlook. I highly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should read!, Sept. 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I like this book mostly because it is written as a story making it easy to read for everyone.

It really makes you think about how you're living your life and gives you ideas on how to change to be a better person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars something old, something new, something borrowed..., March 26 2004
By 
Larry Hehn "Christian in the Rough" (Toronto, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Saint, Surfer, and CEO: A Remarkable Story About Living Your Heart's Desires (Paperback)
Several years ago I visited a trendy restaurant and ordered their chicken mango salad. Some delicious bits of chicken and mango arrived, nestled in a bizarre mishmash of strange colored and shaped lettuce. I politely picked through the lettuce and ate what I could endure, but the overall experience was one of confusion and disappointment. All those feelings came back when I read this book.
Robin Sharma provides life lessons via the fictional story of Jack Valentine, an advertising executive who is reunited with his long-lost father as they share a hospital room. On his deathbed, Cal Valentine sends Jack on a mystical journey to meet three mentors -- you guessed it -- a priest, a surfer and a CEO.
Writers such as Og Mandino and Paolo Coelho have mastered this style, delivering clear, profound messages through believable dialogue. Sharma doesn't come close here...the dialogue is stiff, unrealistic and unnatural. It is littered with dozens of profound quotes that deliver a great message, but send the hokey factor sky high. Success principles appear to have been cut from other sources and pasted in these pages with not much thought given to organization or flow.
The gist of Sharma's message is to submit to the will of "the universe" for your life and follow your true vocation. Some won't mind this message, but I was surprised to see that "God" is almost avoided like a four letter word in these pages, even by the priest.
Just like that chicken mango salad, there are some good nuggets to be found here, but you can save yourself the agony of picking through the jungle of lettuce by reading the summary on the last three pages.
Larry Hehn, author of Get the Prize: Nine Keys for a Life of Victory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars really good, Oct. 24 2011
This review is from: The Saint, Surfer, and CEO: A Remarkable Story About Living Your Heart's Desires (Paperback)
I read the monk who sold his Ferrari, many years ago and was really moved by what the book had to say. Same feelings now after reading the saint, surfer and CEO. I can honestly say there was nothing in the book that i had not heard before, but how many of us actually take heed of the lessons presented, and try and incorporate them into our lives. This book was written on many different levels and even though i have been at this personal growth stuff for many years it is nice to be reminded of lessons and teachings that one may have forgotten about or was not ready for when it was read the first time. I initially bought the book for a friend who is big into surfing, but ended reading it myself before i passed it on to him.The book was a gentle reminder for me that the nuts and bolts of growth are not complicated complex things, but simple anecdotes and gems that we have heard numerous times, but were either not listening or not ready to hear.I am also happy to say that my friend that i bought the book for thought the book was great and the lessons really resonated with him. We all have a few books that break the trail for us to grow, this is definitely one of those books.I would highly recommend this book for anybody who is trying to better themselves, even those who have been on the growth path for some time and may need some reminders of some things they may have overlooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Life Changing!, May 21 2004
This review is from: The Saint, Surfer, and CEO: A Remarkable Story About Living Your Heart's Desires (Paperback)
A motivational speaker and a Life Coach, Robin Sharma's Favorite Quote: "To live in hearts we leave behind is not to die." by Thomas Campbell has ever touched my heart to believe in living the Heart's desire. This book is a peppy read with all Goodness lessons in these times when moral values are waning. Robin's wisdom on life has profound insights and breakthrough ideas for self-leadership and living your best life. The book has a story about one man's quest to discover the answers to life's greatest questions. Robin Sharma reveals joys of living and suggests ways on how to stop betraying your self and live your destiny. Robin has practical wisdom for self feeling of goodness, conquering stress and balancing life with better fruitful relationships. His theory on self transformation has an impact on living life with adventurous feel and simplicity. He suggest ways of conversations with self. He tells to go deep inside the soul and begin the process of knowing yourself. He says "Self- knowledge is the starting point of personal excellence. Detect your largest values, define how you really wish to conduct your life, and think about what makes you happy. Clarify what standards you feel you need to live your life under in order to be true to yourself, then articulate how you'd occur in the world if you were really thinking, acting and feeling in authentic ways." The book is a good Life Changing Advice. He says 'Rather than spending all your time trying to do great things, spend more time trying to be a great person. That is the secret to doing great things.' Among his other books-'The Monk who solf his Ferrari' series is a great read and if ever you catch a listening of his speech, Robin's got a cool voice, a fluent spiritual excellency that flows the words with ease to be digested for better living. Grab a Copy of Robin Sharma #1 best selling 'The Saint, the Surfer, and the CEO' - Live the heart's desire! A great Pick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Saint, the Surfer, and the CEO: A Remarkable Story About, March 3 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Saint, Surfer, and CEO: A Remarkable Story About Living Your Heart's Desires (Paperback)
Very few people know how to live their life to it's fullest potential and walk their talk. I feel Robin offers a great formula in simple terms. For some people this book will reawaken buried knowledge. For others, especially teens, it can be an amazing tool for building an honest basic foundation that's easily understood. With all the hustle and bustle in our everyday life many of us loose site of what really is important ... thank you Robin for reminding us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly written book with no original content, Oct. 18 2003
This review is from: The Saint, Surfer, and CEO: A Remarkable Story About Living Your Heart's Desires (Paperback)
If you want to learn about what the author wanted to say, read the 7 Habits of Highly Effective people by Stehpen Covey. 90% of the contents of this book is contained in Covey's book, only in a much more detailed and convincing form. The remaining 10 % you will in find in other pop success books. Stay away from this one, you will find much better success books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sharma is great, but read his The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari, Sept. 25 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Saint, Surfer, and CEO: A Remarkable Story About Living Your Heart's Desires (Paperback)
I'd rate this book higher, but it really steals the basic plot setup of his earlier book THE MONK WHO SOLD HIS FERRARI. Read that book for an unbeatable story with great lessons for living.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Bliss, May 2 2003
By 
An excellent book on how to live a happy life, although it might not suit everyone's conception: the book does provide a remarkable aid to gain greater insight on how to find your true personal happiness. Written in a simple but profound and truthful way, the book will provide the reader with an excellent method of opening to life's possibilities. Highly recommend it to anyone who is looking to liberate themselves from assumptions and preconceptions that rule our daily lives(and that's where we all should start).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A book to Ponder, March 5 2003
By A Customer
This is a great book. Like a story told by your grandparents and parents on a warm summer night, this book contains lessons and truisms that are timeless. Robin Sharma captures them in a manner that is thought provoking and inspires you to look within you. I highly recommend it to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Saint, Surfer, and CEO: A Remarkable Story About Living Your Heart's Desires
CDN$ 13.95 CDN$ 12.56
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews