Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Countdown to Black Friday in Lawn & Garden

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars14
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on November 7, 2003
Robin Sharma is growing and evolving, and his latest effort reflects that. "The Saint, the Surfer and the CEO" is a wonderfully told story that everyone will relate to. If you are in need of a little inspiration, a little encouragement, a little hope or a little the book. Sharma's storytelling style and his character's dialogue tends to be somewhat corny and maudlin at times, but you know what? The message is so uplifting and enlightening that it is very easy for me to overlook. I highly recommend this.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on January 27, 2003
Sharma's book is a thinly veiled litany of pop-success, self-improvement, and leadership aphorisms and clichés which could be collected from any half-dozen other books or seminars. The author possibly intersperses a few bits of original thought between near-plagiaristic repetitions of metaphors. This is all loosely shrouded in the context of dialog between an obvious ignoramous who is supposed to represent the reader on their path of self-discovery of all of this new wisdom, and the saintly gurus who so generously spew it forth. The book is at once amusing and insulting. However, as a collection of good folk wisdom, one could read it as a concise reminder of the way in which we would all like to conduct our lives.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on May 2, 2003
An excellent book on how to live a happy life, although it might not suit everyone's conception: the book does provide a remarkable aid to gain greater insight on how to find your true personal happiness. Written in a simple but profound and truthful way, the book will provide the reader with an excellent method of opening to life's possibilities. Highly recommend it to anyone who is looking to liberate themselves from assumptions and preconceptions that rule our daily lives(and that's where we all should start).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on March 3, 2004
Very few people know how to live their life to it's fullest potential and walk their talk. I feel Robin offers a great formula in simple terms. For some people this book will reawaken buried knowledge. For others, especially teens, it can be an amazing tool for building an honest basic foundation that's easily understood. With all the hustle and bustle in our everyday life many of us loose site of what really is important ... thank you Robin for reminding us.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2011
I read the monk who sold his Ferrari, many years ago and was really moved by what the book had to say. Same feelings now after reading the saint, surfer and CEO. I can honestly say there was nothing in the book that i had not heard before, but how many of us actually take heed of the lessons presented, and try and incorporate them into our lives. This book was written on many different levels and even though i have been at this personal growth stuff for many years it is nice to be reminded of lessons and teachings that one may have forgotten about or was not ready for when it was read the first time. I initially bought the book for a friend who is big into surfing, but ended reading it myself before i passed it on to him.The book was a gentle reminder for me that the nuts and bolts of growth are not complicated complex things, but simple anecdotes and gems that we have heard numerous times, but were either not listening or not ready to hear.I am also happy to say that my friend that i bought the book for thought the book was great and the lessons really resonated with him. We all have a few books that break the trail for us to grow, this is definitely one of those books.I would highly recommend this book for anybody who is trying to better themselves, even those who have been on the growth path for some time and may need some reminders of some things they may have overlooked.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2004
A motivational speaker and a Life Coach, Robin Sharma's Favorite Quote: "To live in hearts we leave behind is not to die." by Thomas Campbell has ever touched my heart to believe in living the Heart's desire. This book is a peppy read with all Goodness lessons in these times when moral values are waning. Robin's wisdom on life has profound insights and breakthrough ideas for self-leadership and living your best life. The book has a story about one man's quest to discover the answers to life's greatest questions. Robin Sharma reveals joys of living and suggests ways on how to stop betraying your self and live your destiny. Robin has practical wisdom for self feeling of goodness, conquering stress and balancing life with better fruitful relationships. His theory on self transformation has an impact on living life with adventurous feel and simplicity. He suggest ways of conversations with self. He tells to go deep inside the soul and begin the process of knowing yourself. He says "Self- knowledge is the starting point of personal excellence. Detect your largest values, define how you really wish to conduct your life, and think about what makes you happy. Clarify what standards you feel you need to live your life under in order to be true to yourself, then articulate how you'd occur in the world if you were really thinking, acting and feeling in authentic ways." The book is a good Life Changing Advice. He says 'Rather than spending all your time trying to do great things, spend more time trying to be a great person. That is the secret to doing great things.' Among his other books-'The Monk who solf his Ferrari' series is a great read and if ever you catch a listening of his speech, Robin's got a cool voice, a fluent spiritual excellency that flows the words with ease to be digested for better living. Grab a Copy of Robin Sharma #1 best selling 'The Saint, the Surfer, and the CEO' - Live the heart's desire! A great Pick.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2002
Robin Sharma has not only done it again- but he has done it better. I have read all of Robin's books and attended a number of his seminars. Robin is a gifted writer and speaker on leadership- both within organizations and on personal leadership. Truly a joy to read, his words will help transform your life-if you practice what Robin teaches such that it becomes a part of you. This is definitely a book to not only read over and over again, but one that you must live daily and teach to everyone you know.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2003
If you want to learn about what the author wanted to say, read the 7 Habits of Highly Effective people by Stehpen Covey. 90% of the contents of this book is contained in Covey's book, only in a much more detailed and convincing form. The remaining 10 % you will in find in other pop success books. Stay away from this one, you will find much better success books.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2002
What a great book! I have read "The Saint" twice in the past week. The secrets to a successful life in many ways are hidden in the most secret of places- within ourselves. Robin Sharma provides a roadmap to each of us so that we can find our gifts. A great story-very thought provoking and well written. Robin is a master story teller and teacher.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2003
This is a great book. Like a story told by your grandparents and parents on a warm summer night, this book contains lessons and truisms that are timeless. Robin Sharma captures them in a manner that is thought provoking and inspires you to look within you. I highly recommend it to all.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Who Will Cry When You Die
Who Will Cry When You Die by Robin Sharma (Paperback - April 19 1999)
CDN$ 15.26