Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing and Startling
"The Disappearance of the Universe" is an amazing and startling book. The author, who as far as I can see is just a regular guy with no academic background, has managed to do what the other popular books about "A Course in Miracles" definitely did not do: make it truly understandable! Not only that, but this book does it in a way that's fun to read. Not that it isn't...
Published on July 1 2003 by Paul Rodriquez

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not my cup of tea.
I had been looking forward to receiving the CD's but l was disappointed. I found that the author was trying to be funny to bring some humour into it but it just did not fit. It seems to be the same concept as Conversations With God but for me it didn't even come close. I am not doubting that the author had this experience but l just did not enjoy the way it was...
Published on April 5 2010 by SIS


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deeply thought provoking, hopeful, disquieting, Feb. 26 2004
By 
Rickie Bansbach (Bel Air, MD United States) - See all my reviews
I have found that during the time I was reading this book, and since I have finished it, I thought much of what was written was rather disturbing and unsettling. Disturbing in that it contradicts much of what I was taught as a child and have believed as an adult. It has quite a ring of truth to it. It has kept me wondering and thinking. It is a hopeful book, but also has left me feeling a bit sad. I think I'd need more than 1000 words to attempt to cover it all. I would recommend this book highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is the book, Oct. 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Disappearance of the Universe: Straight Talk About Illusions, Past Lives, Religion, Sex, Politics, and the Miracles of Forgiveness (Paperback)
if you are still looking for what's going on with your life,
you will find a new idea here.
if you buy that idea, I'll see you in there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, March 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Disappearance of the Universe: Straight Talk About Illusions, Past Lives, Religion, Sex, Politics, and the Miracles of Forgiveness (Paperback)
Gary's conversations and lay out makes a great way of leading into his path and helps deepen one's understanding of A Course In Miracles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not my cup of tea., April 5 2010
By 
SIS (Wainfleet, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
I had been looking forward to receiving the CD's but l was disappointed. I found that the author was trying to be funny to bring some humour into it but it just did not fit. It seems to be the same concept as Conversations With God but for me it didn't even come close. I am not doubting that the author had this experience but l just did not enjoy the way it was presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read!, Feb. 13 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Disappearance of the Universe: Straight Talk About Illusions, Past Lives, Religion, Sex, Politics, and the Miracles of Forgiveness (Paperback)
This book is based on A Course in Miracles, but it is easier to read. It promotes better understanding of parts of the course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, Feb. 21 2014
By 
John A. Lewis "Art Lewis" (Ladysmith, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As advertised it is straight talk about what it takes to step out of a thought system based on fear. You owe it to yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gary's books are too good to be interpreted in a flaky way!, March 6 2010
By 
Wim Borsboom (Victoria BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Disappearance of the Universe: Straight Talk About Illusions, Past Lives, Religion, Sex, Politics, and the Miracles of Forgiveness (Paperback)
Gary Renard wrote some very good books, I recommend reading them...
The message is mostly true, fun and absorbing to read, clear, tight and to the point.
Beware though, the "channeled visitors" scene (mise-en-scène) is a literary form only. The message (however good it is and however much it is accurate) does not prove that its literary form represents reality! And of course not! The enscenation is part of the "false universe" that will disappear when the reader realizes the truth and reality embedded in these writings.
That is of course why eventually the "visitors" Arten and Pursah had to disappear as well. :)
So, however simple and clear the text seems, it requires careful reading.
For example, and I quote:
"To correct something usually means you fix it up and keep it. When the false universe is finished being corrected by the Holy Spirit, it will no longer appear to exist."
Notice it says that "the false universe will no longer appear to exist..."
This "false" or mentally illusive universe IS of course already a SEEMING appearance.
It is already a pseudo universe, as it is the usually mentally interpreted (wished for or feared) deformation of reality!
It is NOT reality itself; it is mind-imaged pseudo-reality only. This universe already does not exist... except in the imaginations (fed by fear, angst, desires, hopes and expectations) of the common human mind.
When one keeps upholding its seeming appearance by believing one's-own-and-the-common-consensus-interpretations of it, one keeps upholding a chimera with an ill functioning mind, a mind that tends to treat seeming appearance as more real than reality itself.
Of course when the mind functions right it only captures reality!

So let this book inspire you to recalibrate or normalize your mind... that is what the "fix" by the Holy Spirit is about.
So again, beware: do not loose your mind to some flaky interpretations that this book inspires (?) in some people... the embedded truth is too true for that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Universe and Whatelse, Sept. 19 2014
This review is from: The Disappearance of the Universe: Straight Talk About Illusions, Past Lives, Religion, Sex, Politics, and the Miracles of Forgiveness (Paperback)
A new perspective on things. Thoroughly enjoyed it and highly recommend it. Cheryl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Dec 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Disappearance of the Universe: Straight Talk About Illusions, Past Lives, Religion, Sex, Politics, and the Miracles of Forgiveness (Paperback)
Great complimentary book to A Course in Miracles. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, May 1 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Disappearance of the Universe: Straight Talk About Illusions, Past Lives, Religion, Sex, Politics, and the Miracles of Forgiveness (Paperback)
Exactly as described - delivered on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews