Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quidditch Through the Ages
Quidditch Through the Ages is a sort of addition to the Harry Potter series. If you've read the Harry Potter books, you probably remember the characters talking about what a wonderful, exciting and informative book it is.
I kind of expected it to be longer, but I suppose that you can't get everything you want... all in all, for an additional book I thought that it...
Published on July 5 2004 by Theatre Kidd

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny, likely prized by serious Harry Potter fans
Summary:
The book was published as a charitable publication; all of the proceeds are supposed to go to a charitable organization with the writing and publication costs being taken care of by donations. As for the contents, the book covers the history and rules of Quidditch and talks about some of the professional teams in Great Britain.
My Comments:
First,...
Published on July 28 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny, likely prized by serious Harry Potter fans, July 28 2003
Summary:
The book was published as a charitable publication; all of the proceeds are supposed to go to a charitable organization with the writing and publication costs being taken care of by donations. As for the contents, the book covers the history and rules of Quidditch and talks about some of the professional teams in Great Britain.
My Comments:
First, the book is quite funny, with numerous humorous notes and stories. It is more reminiscent of Rowlings earlier Harry Potter novels than it is of numbers 4 and 5 that do have some funny elements but tend to be much more serious than the first three.
The book is also probably highly prized by Harry Potter fanatics because it further develops the already incredibly detailed magical/muggle world of the series. Rowling has accomplished something few other authors can claim - the creation of a credible world - and this is just another doorway into that world.
The only problem I could possibly see with this book is that it is hardly long enough to be called a book; it is more a monograph or pamphlet with its roughly 50 pages. Granted this is a fictitious history which means every detail and story has to be developed from scratch. What's more, it has to be incorporated into the existing stories and future stories. Nevertheless, this can only be described as a 'brief' history of Quidditch.
Overall, you can read the entire thing in about 30 minutes and if you are a die hard Harry Potter fan you'll probably appreciate it and find it disappointingly short. If not, it won't likely keep your interest like the novels will. I'd recommend it for die hard fans but be aware that it is short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quidditch Through the Ages, July 5 2004
Quidditch Through the Ages is a sort of addition to the Harry Potter series. If you've read the Harry Potter books, you probably remember the characters talking about what a wonderful, exciting and informative book it is.
I kind of expected it to be longer, but I suppose that you can't get everything you want... all in all, for an additional book I thought that it was pretty okay. The best things about it were the little comments and tid bits that made it really seem like a book from the Hogwarts library.... the card in the front that has the names of all the kids that checked it out, the introduction from Dumbledore, and the conversion from dollars to sickles and knuts on the back are all really cool.
If you're a Harry Potter fan, you have to get this, if just to ease your curiosity on what it's about. But beware- this book has no plot and reads pretty darn boring, except for a few select parts. It clears up quite a bit of the fourth book's Quidditch Cup, and if there are any more matches in future books, I suggest keeping this close at hand.
This is rated G, and is really really tame. The fifth book was kind of crazy, what with the teen angst and such, but this takes you back to the happy, carefree world of Harry Potter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quidditch Through the Ages, Dec 9 2003
By A Customer
The book "Quidditch Through the Ages"by J.K. Rowling is a great book to read if you like the Harry Potter books and the sport Quidditch als from those books.This book guides you from the beggining of Quidditch until the present of what Quidditch is now.The book is focused only on Quidditch,it talks about the many teams from England and many other countries as well. It also talks about where the bludgers came into existence, and why the teams have certain logos on their uniforms.The book mentions amazing events and things that have happened in historic matches.Also it talks on how rules have changed through time.There are many other features that this book includes,I hope you like it as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!, Sept. 19 2002
By A Customer
Very useful and very funny. Delightful reading. Makes me wonder how she got to imagine all the fantastic history of Quidditch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of Harry Potter's school books, Sept. 11 2010
By 
Julie P. "Movie nut" (Montreal-Nord, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Quidditch Through The Ages (Paperback)
Love that this Harry Potter school book is published. Although slightly smaller (really?) is size than the original, it is still a good presentation of that historic volume. Very easy to read and a nice addition to my Harry Potter library.

P.S. Yes! I know! Harry Potter and Hogwarts are just fiction. But one can wish, can't one?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!!, Aug. 27 2008
This is such a good book. It is interesting and fun to read, it carries alot of insight into the backround world of quidditch. A must have for any true potter fan. My only wish is that it was longer. Oh well.
'Fansastic Beasts and Where to Find Them' was also GREAT!! I highly reccomend both :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cute addition to the collection!, Oct. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quidditch Through The Ages (Paperback)
A cute addition to an amazing franchise. Fans of the series will love this as a short add-on, along with the other two books she wrote for charity. Yes it is short but, as a fan, I enjoyed them and was thankful I bought them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the two short novels written by Jo Rowling, July 20 2009
By 
This book really givens you a in depth history of the game and a very interesting twist on how the snitch was put into the game. I thought this was the best of the two short novels written by Jo Rowling and a fan's must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hail Queen Rowling!, Jan. 20 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quidditch Through The Ages (Paperback)
JK Rowling really outdid herself writing about Quidditch! This book is ripe with facts and history and it's perfect for us Potterheads and for the casual reader to help them understand the game of Quidditch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short, but Interesting, Feb. 28 2013
This review is from: Quidditch Through The Ages (Paperback)
As a huge Harry Potter fan, this is a great addition to my collection. It provides great insight and background on Quidditch, and is an amusing read.

My only complaint is that it is really short, and not really worth reading more than once. However, the proceeds from the book go to charity, so I find the cost to length ratio justifiable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quidditch Through The Ages
Quidditch Through The Ages by JK Rowling (Paperback - Aug. 25 2009)
CDN$ 7.99 CDN$ 7.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews