Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars21
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on July 28, 2003
The book was published as a charitable publication; all of the proceeds are supposed to go to a charitable organization with the writing and publication costs being taken care of by donations. As for the contents, the book covers the history and rules of Quidditch and talks about some of the professional teams in Great Britain.
My Comments:
First, the book is quite funny, with numerous humorous notes and stories. It is more reminiscent of Rowlings earlier Harry Potter novels than it is of numbers 4 and 5 that do have some funny elements but tend to be much more serious than the first three.
The book is also probably highly prized by Harry Potter fanatics because it further develops the already incredibly detailed magical/muggle world of the series. Rowling has accomplished something few other authors can claim - the creation of a credible world - and this is just another doorway into that world.
The only problem I could possibly see with this book is that it is hardly long enough to be called a book; it is more a monograph or pamphlet with its roughly 50 pages. Granted this is a fictitious history which means every detail and story has to be developed from scratch. What's more, it has to be incorporated into the existing stories and future stories. Nevertheless, this can only be described as a 'brief' history of Quidditch.
Overall, you can read the entire thing in about 30 minutes and if you are a die hard Harry Potter fan you'll probably appreciate it and find it disappointingly short. If not, it won't likely keep your interest like the novels will. I'd recommend it for die hard fans but be aware that it is short.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on July 5, 2004
Quidditch Through the Ages is a sort of addition to the Harry Potter series. If you've read the Harry Potter books, you probably remember the characters talking about what a wonderful, exciting and informative book it is.
I kind of expected it to be longer, but I suppose that you can't get everything you want... all in all, for an additional book I thought that it was pretty okay. The best things about it were the little comments and tid bits that made it really seem like a book from the Hogwarts library.... the card in the front that has the names of all the kids that checked it out, the introduction from Dumbledore, and the conversion from dollars to sickles and knuts on the back are all really cool.
If you're a Harry Potter fan, you have to get this, if just to ease your curiosity on what it's about. But beware- this book has no plot and reads pretty darn boring, except for a few select parts. It clears up quite a bit of the fourth book's Quidditch Cup, and if there are any more matches in future books, I suggest keeping this close at hand.
This is rated G, and is really really tame. The fifth book was kind of crazy, what with the teen angst and such, but this takes you back to the happy, carefree world of Harry Potter.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on December 9, 2003
The book "Quidditch Through the Ages"by J.K. Rowling is a great book to read if you like the Harry Potter books and the sport Quidditch als from those books.This book guides you from the beggining of Quidditch until the present of what Quidditch is now.The book is focused only on Quidditch,it talks about the many teams from England and many other countries as well. It also talks about where the bludgers came into existence, and why the teams have certain logos on their uniforms.The book mentions amazing events and things that have happened in historic matches.Also it talks on how rules have changed through time.There are many other features that this book includes,I hope you like it as much as I did.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon May 25, 2012
As an extra book to the Harry Potter saga, this volume really shows the depth of this wizard game, called Quidditch, that J K Rowling has written about in her series.

In it, we get to learn many rules for all players, names of teams in the United Kingdom, a good perspective on the international recognition and presence of Quidditch, and a history of the Quidditch game, from its origins down in the Queerditch Marsh to 1991, year that Harry Potter starts his first year. As this copy is taken from the Hogwarts Library, it shows a list of students who have borrowed the book, along with a funny note from Dumbledore about how he proposed to Madame Pince to take a copy of this book and offer it to Muggle readers.

Once again illustrated by J K Rowling, this book is another treat for fans of Harry Potter, though I wish that the more recent edition had kept the original green cover with the red Hogwarts seal, instead of this blue cover, which doesn't corresponds to the one that we get to have on the first edition and on the Pottermore website.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a relatively short book meant to take a humorous look at Quidditch, the popular wizarding game from the Harry Potter world. The book looks at the history of quidditch, its rules, the player positions, and the popular teams in the UK and around the globe. It's a fun book, but fairly limited in content and not as enjoyable a read as the actual Harry Potter books. So it's pretty easy to give this book four stars. On its own it's simply a fun and quick read about a wizarding game and for fans of Harry Potter it adds a nice extra bit of flavor and depth to one of the central activities from the famous book series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 19, 2002
Very useful and very funny. Delightful reading. Makes me wonder how she got to imagine all the fantastic history of Quidditch.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2013
As a huge Harry Potter fan, this is a great addition to my collection. It provides great insight and background on Quidditch, and is an amusing read.

My only complaint is that it is really short, and not really worth reading more than once. However, the proceeds from the book go to charity, so I find the cost to length ratio justifiable.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2010
Love that this Harry Potter school book is published. Although slightly smaller (really?) is size than the original, it is still a good presentation of that historic volume. Very easy to read and a nice addition to my Harry Potter library.

P.S. Yes! I know! Harry Potter and Hogwarts are just fiction. But one can wish, can't one?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2008
This is such a good book. It is interesting and fun to read, it carries alot of insight into the backround world of quidditch. A must have for any true potter fan. My only wish is that it was longer. Oh well.
'Fansastic Beasts and Where to Find Them' was also GREAT!! I highly reccomend both :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2014
A cute addition to an amazing franchise. Fans of the series will love this as a short add-on, along with the other two books she wrote for charity. Yes it is short but, as a fan, I enjoyed them and was thankful I bought them.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Hogwarts Library Boxed Set
The Hogwarts Library Boxed Set by J.K. Rowling (Hardcover - Nov. 27 2012)
CDN$ 29.79

The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Standard Edition
The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Standard Edition by J. K. Rowling (Hardcover - Dec 9 2008)
CDN$ 13.05