Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Dee Henderson delivers!
Lisa O'Malley was a forensic psychologist in Chicago. She knew all about death and each stage the bodies go through. She had seen just about everything and had the nightmares to prove it. Her past gave her the ability to examine mountains of evidence and see hidden connections between victims and their killers. She was very good at her job because she was tenacious...
Published on Feb. 24 2004 by Detra Fitch

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It didn't do it for me, but still not bad!
The Truth Seeker, book 3 of the O'Malley Series by Dee Henderson, was a pretty good read. But, I'm only giving this one three stars. This book, like it's predecessors, is something of a whodunit with elements of romance added. I don't read much fiction, but I enjoyed the first two books of the O'Malley series (The Negotiator & The Guardian) enough to buy this one...
Published on June 5 2002 by Donald S. Meador


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Dee Henderson delivers!, Feb. 24 2004
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Truth Seeker (Paperback)
Lisa O'Malley was a forensic psychologist in Chicago. She knew all about death and each stage the bodies go through. She had seen just about everything and had the nightmares to prove it. Her past gave her the ability to examine mountains of evidence and see hidden connections between victims and their killers. She was very good at her job because she was tenacious!
U.S. Marshal Quinn Diamond had been searching for Amy Ireland for over twenty years. The case was personal, possibly linked to the death of his father. He linked Amy with a friend in Chicago who had been murdered. Lisa O'Malley had handled the crime scene, so Quinn went to Lisa for help. However, by doing so, he put Lisa's life at risk!
Quinn had been friends with the entire O'Malley clan for years. Lisa was the one who touched a cord deep within him though. Unlike him, Lisa did not believe in the Resurrection. Her past had made it virtually impossible for her to do so. Even her siblings, Kate and Marcus, thought she had good reasons. But that would not stop them from trying to help her understand.
***** I love Inspirational books written by Dee Henderson. Why? Glad you asked! Dee does not try to shove the bible at her readers. Even if the readers are not religious, they will still enjoy the book since it is mostly Romantic Suspense! I especially recommend this book for fans of the TV show CSI, Crime Scene Investigators. When it comes to romance, thrilling plots, and fascinating characters, Dee Henderson delivers! *****
Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling Christian romance!, Sept. 19 2003
By 
Jo28 "jo28" (Washington State, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Truth Seeker (Paperback)
After reading the excellent books The Negotiator and The Guardian, the reader has very high expections for the 3rd book in the O'Malley series. Fortunately, Dee Henderson does not disappoint. The Truth Seeker is another first-rate Christian thriller/romance.
Lisa O'Malley long ago stopped trying to belong anywhere. Then the O'Malleys gave her a place to belong. Now, family is very important to her. But her brother's partner Quinn is pretty important too. She's not about to let him know that though-- she's still mad that he asked out her sisters before he asked her. As a forensic pathologist, Lisa's job can be disturbing, but it also gives her a place to hide from her past and from secrets she has hidden so deeply that even her family members don't know about them.
Quinn Diamond is restless. For years, his life has been dictated by his desire to solve his father's murder. The mystery of his father's death drove Quinn to become a US Marshall. Now though, Quinn doesn't know how much longer he can keep searching without any leads. As Quinn makes a last grasp to solve his father's murder, he is also drawn to Lisa. If only he could figure out why Lisa has built the walls around her heart so high... Quinn's heart is already gone to Lisa, but she doesn't believe and Quinn's faith is too important to him to let himself believe he has a future with Lisa.
Lisa's biggest problem with believing is the resurrection. Her job has taught her that something like the resurrection couldn't be possible and a hard childhood only cements that fact in her mind. But Lisa understands too well that her future with Quinn may hinge on what she decides to believe. Lisa and Quinn begin to forge a friendship, both wondering if it might turn to more, but a killer is hot on Lisa's trail. Will Quinn get to Lisa in time? And can he disprove Lisa's beliefs with the strength of his own faith?
The issues addressed in this book must have been a huge undertaking for Dee Henderson, yet The Truth Seeker is remarkably well written. Lisa's questions about faith and the resurrection aren't glossed over or ignored, instead they are dealt with head on in a candid fashion. The romance between Lisa and Quinn is sweet and gentle, with strong undertones as Quinn struggles to understand what drives her. This book is amazing, from the faith issues, to the romance, to the heart pounding plot. I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves thrillers or mystery. Dee Henderson has written another gem, of which she should be very proud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the O'Malley Family, Nov. 21 2002
By 
J. Bell "bailey1ak" (Alaska) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Truth Seeker (Paperback)
I would agree with all of the people who say that they love these books. Dee Henderson is an awesome writer. I think the thing that I like most about these books is that they all just roll into the next book in the series. I have read other books that are part of a series and it seems that some of the facts change from book to book. Henderson keeps her characters consistant in all of the books and since the O'Malley's are a family you get to not only follow the romance and suspense of a sibling, but also enjoy the other family members that you have grown to love in the other books in the series.
I have loved all of Dee Henderson's books so far and you will notice that most of those that did not care for her books admitted that they did not usually read fiction books, or that they did not usually read romance books. I think that is one of the things that makes her books unique. They have a story that does not rely on romance alone. I enjoy suspense books and romance books and usually bounce between the two, this is a wonderful blend of the two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Definite Bookshelf Resider!, July 6 2002
This review is from: The Truth Seeker (Paperback)
Lisa O'Malley briefly appears in The Guardian and we mostly remember her because of the present she sent to Quinn Diamond. How wondeful it must have been to receive a pertrified squid for an answer to go out for dinner. Well, anywho....
Lisa O'Malley is a forensic pathologist. Mysteries about dead victims are her specialty. She is excellent at what she does and although the faces of the dead don't seem to bother her outwardly, inside they do. They bring back hidden secrets from her past. Secrets that she wants to keep covered.
Quinn Diamond is a U.S. Marshall. A partner of Marcus O'Malley. He seems very much to want to be in the O'Malley family for he has asked out Jennifer, Kate and Lisa. Maybe that is a reason why Lisa refuses his offers for dinner. (If she thinks being asked third is bad, wait till she finds out she was asked out not third but fourth!)

For years Quinn has been searching for the reason to the disappearance of a girl named Amy Ireland and for answers to the murder of his father, which both happened on the same day. Now, Quinn is finding leads and asks for Lisa's help because of her involvement in the cases of disappeared and murdered ladies who may have had connections with Amy. As time wears on, Lisa and Quinn are drawn closer and Lisa finds herself falling for this tall handsome man. Quinn is in love with Lisa but he doesn't realized that, when he asked for her help, he had effectively put the woman he loves in harms way.
The spiritual subject of The Truth Seeker concerns the Resurrection. Lisa has seen so many people die and knows full well what happens after they are buried. And she cannot bring herself to believe as Quinn does that Jesus rose from the dead after three days in the grave. She also has an ulterior reason. Something from her past has pushed her away from God. Quinn is in love with Lisa and wants her to believe, but persuading her may be harder than he thought. Will Quinn ever convince her that Jesus did raise from the dead and is alive today?
I enjoyed this O'Malley book from starting to end. A real page turner. I couldn't put it down. Again Dee Henderson reaps success with an amazing novel! The ending thrill is one of my favorite parts of the book. The romance is not overdone and is very sweet. Lisa is an awesome O'Malley. Quinn is an awesome and very likable guy. His persistence, determination and goodlooks tend to grow on you after a while. It would be so great to have a freind like him. Wow! Lisa and Quinn go very well together. I hope that you will enjoy this top-notch novel as well as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It didn't do it for me, but still not bad!, June 5 2002
By 
Donald S. Meador "imthman" (Novo Hamburgo, Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Truth Seeker (Paperback)
The Truth Seeker, book 3 of the O'Malley Series by Dee Henderson, was a pretty good read. But, I'm only giving this one three stars. This book, like it's predecessors, is something of a whodunit with elements of romance added. I don't read much fiction, but I enjoyed the first two books of the O'Malley series (The Negotiator & The Guardian) enough to buy this one too.
The mystery aspect of this book unraveled early for me. In fact, I was certain I knew whodunit as soon as the character was introduced. Even with the answer to the mystery realized early, the book still held my interest. There was an even greater mystery than the whodunit.
The theological issue of this book is about the believability of the resurrection. I wanted to see how Henderson handled the topic. She handled it okay, but I was a little disappointed. I was hoping for more depth.
The character development in this book was interesting. Quinn Diamond, a U.S. Marshal & Montana rancher, is an interesting, even if self-contradictory at times, fellow. His ranch is measured in miles, not acres. That means he's stinking rich. And, he spends money so carelessly, I wonder if he is a fool. In fact, if one more O'Malley girl falls in love with a man who has more money than he can count, I will be convinced they are all gold-diggers.
I did not find Henderson to have a pet word in this O'Malley tale (see my reviews of the first two). However, I reached a point that I got tired of being told that one character after another ran his or her hands through his or her hair.
In the end, I was somewhat disappointed in the book. I will buy the fourth book and read it. Mainly because I really like the O'Malley family. Henderson is a good writer; I was just disappointed with the third book. However, I do hope you enjoy it. It seems all the other reviewers did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Should you read this book? YES!!!, Dec 26 2001
By 
This review is from: The Truth Seeker (Paperback)
Dee Henderson, you've done it again! The third book of the O'Malley series, "The Truth Seeker" will just captivate you! And if you've read all three books and loved them as much as I do, I'm sure you feel a part of the O'Malley family now!
The O'Malley family consists of seven brothers and sister, three boys and four girls. Since they were little they had been in the same orphanage and when they got out of the orphanage, they decided to 'adopt' each other, taking the name O'Malley as their family name. They all have very important jobs, Marcus is a U.S. Marshal, Kate a negotiator for hostage situations, botched-up robberies, etc., Jennifer is a doctor, Jack a fireman, Rachel a trauma psychologist, and Lisa is a forensic pathologist. This story is about Lisa O'Malley, 'the truth seeker'.
U.S. Marshal Quinn Diamond has for twenty years been searching for the person who murdered his father. His only link is the disappearance of Amy Ireland, a neighbor of his ranch where Quinn's father was killed. And Quinn is still searching for her.
Lisa O'Malley, forensic pathologist has worked crime scenes in Chicago for many years. When she is asked by her boss to look over the files of unsolved cases, she of course accepts and digs into the sea of evidence and connections between victims that are faint but are now fading.
Quinn and Lisa's cases seem to come together by some threads of evidence. As Quinn spends more time around Lisa, he finds himself falling in love with her and prays every day for her salvation. Lisa is also beginning to fall for Quinn but has seen to much pain and death to believe in God and the resurrection of Jesus Christ. And there is also the deep secret which Lisa has been hiding for years, even from her family. Quinn is determined to find out about it.
Now there is a killer out to stop Quinn and Lisa from discovering which has been remained buried for years. He'll stop at nothing, escalating from notes... then to arson. But where will he stop at? Lisa and Quinn are afraid that he'll stop at nothing, even murder...
The characters are so lovable! From the silent and strong Quinn with his steadfast faith in God, to Lisa who holds a heavy secret in her heart which keeps her from believing in the one person who can help her. Who can help from wanting to find out more about them, and hoping that they would fall in love? As with all of Dee Henderson books, "The Truth Seeker" is well written and can't be put down. Plus you get to find out a lot more about police investigations and forensic studies. Dee Henderson must have put a lot of work into all of the O'Malley books.
The first in the O'Malley series is "The Negotiator" in which the main character is Lisa's sister, Kate O'Malley. The next book after that is "The Guardian", in which the main character is Marcus O'Malley, the oldest of the O'Malley's. Then comes "The Protector" whose main character is Jack O'Malley. I just can't wait to read it! I wonder who Dee Henderson would write about next? Rachel, Stephen, or Jennifer? Other books by Dee Henderson is "Danger in the Shadows" (written before "The Negotiator" whose main character is the sister of Kate O'Malley's boyfriend, Sara) and "True Devotion", the first in the Uncommon Heroes Series. The second book in the Uncommon Heroes Series is "True Valor", which will be coming out in March. Don't miss any of these books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another must read by Henderson..., Aug. 10 2001
This review is from: The Truth Seeker (Paperback)
*The Truth Seeker* is the third novel in the O'Malley series by Dee Henderson (though readers should technically start with *Danger in the Shadows* first). Henderson in a short time has written and published several novels that are sure to please fans of Christian fiction!
In *The Truth Seeker*, Lisa O'Malley and Quinn Diamond are thrown together in an investigation of a lifetime. Lisa, a forensic examiner, is working the scene at a house fire/possible murder, when she is injured severely and forced to accept the willing help of both her family and Quinn. Quinn becomes a valuable part of Lisa's life by supporting her through her recovery and investigating a series of murders that may be related to his own father's shooting death twenty years earlier. Falling in love with each other is an inevitability.
As Lisa and Quinn work around the clock to find out the truth, the other six O'Malleys continue watching over Jennifer as she plans her wedding and continues cancer treatment. And as Lisa struggles with her own past and inability to believe in Christ's resurrection, Quinn prays that Lisa will follow three of her siblings in becoming a believer.
Once again, Dee has demonstrated a fine talent for writing Christian romance and suspense. This is definitely a must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss this one! The best one yet!, Aug. 7 2001
By 
This review is from: The Truth Seeker (Paperback)
Lisa O'Malley was a forensic psychologist in Chicago. She knew all about death and each stage the bodies go through. She had seen just about everything and had the nightmares to prove it. Her past gave her the ability to examine mountains of evidence and see hidden connections between victims and their killers. She was very good at her job because she was tenacious!
U.S. Marshal Quinn Diamond had been searching for Amy Ireland for over twenty years. The case was personal, possibly linked to the death of his father. He linked Amy with a friend in Chicago who had been murdered. Lisa O'Malley had handled the crime scene, so Quinn went to Lisa for help. However, by doing so, he put Lisa's life at risk!
Quinn had been friends with the entire O'Malley clan for years. Lisa was the one who touched a cord deep within him though. Unlike him, Lisa did not believe in the Resurrection. Her past had made it virtually impossible for her to do so. Even her siblings, Kate and Marcus, thought she had good reasons. But that would not stop them from trying to help her understand.
***** I love Inspirational books written by Dee Henderson. Why? Glad you asked! Dee does not try to shove the bible at her readers. Even if the readers are not religious, they will still enjoy the book since it is mostly Romantic Suspense! I especially recommend this book for fans of the TV show CSI, Crime Scene Investigators. When it comes to romance, thrilling plots, and fascinating characters, Dee Henderson delivers! *****
Reviewed by Detra Fitch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another AWESOME Dee Henderson book!, July 29 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Truth Seeker (Paperback)
She did it again, another can't-put-down-until-you-finish-it book! Some recommended 'Danger in the Shadows' to me awhile back, and I read and loved it, also The Negotiator, although I have to admit that 'The Guardian' wasn't one of my favorites, although very good. But this book got me back in the series, I actually didn't rush out and buying it, not knowing how it would be, but when I did, it was read within 24 hours. This book is awesome, once again, Ms Henderson gets you off to a great start, and keep you interested and guessing all along the way. I love these books because they have some backbone, they're not like alot of the 'inspirational romance' books that don't even have all the facts straight. I love the mystery, but it's just enough to make you shiver (especially if you're reading it late at night!) but it's not bloody and gory. And I love the theme about Christianity that each book has. Combined with just even romance to keep it going, I love the way she describes the family, it makes you want to be part of it! My favorite parts in this book were - *the* phone call convo that Quinn overhears, and of course the Resurrection scene. I thought that was brought across really good, it was easy to grasp.
I can't wait to read Jack's story!
If you haven't read 'The Truth-Seeker' BUY IT!!!!! But, make sure you read Danger in The Shadows, and the other O'Malley books first! Trust me, you'll feel like part of this family when you get done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lisa and Quinn...Yummy !, July 9 2001
This review is from: The Truth Seeker (Paperback)
Let's face it romance has spawned many intersting families but none so special as the O'Malleys. Readers first met Dave in DANGERS IN THE SHADOWS, then again in NEGOGIATOR when he met his very own O'Malley and the family was born. Readers have enjoyed the journey of discovery thru each of the O'Malley stories and with Lisa's story we are sure to have at least three more. But then there are their kids <g>.
THE TRUTH SEEKER is an example of an authors growth, as she creates a story full of suspense but never losing site of the romance of her couple and the link to all the books, their sister with Cancer. Here we have Lisa and Quinn who we meet in THE GUARDIAN, where the sprarks first flew, but nothing like their own story. This one is full of suspense as our couple find their own connection with their spirituality and their love for each other, despite the evil that engulfs them. Also the whole family is there as well so it it like visiting good friends.
What makes Dee Henderson's books unique is although they are Christian based in their concept and delivery they are not preachy. They will appeal to both Christians and non Christians who want classic romantic suspense. But if it is Inspirational Romances you are looking for, then DEE HENDERSON's books are classic Inspirational Romances. You can't call your self a romance reader if you haven't at least one Henderson book on your keeper shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Truth Seeker
The Truth Seeker by Dee Henderson (Paperback - Oct. 19 2005)
CDN$ 17.99 CDN$ 12.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews