Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read
This novel was an excellent read in my opinion, even though I dislike Joel C. Rosenberg. It is about the Iranian nuclear weapons development program, a possible Iranian-Israeli Nuclear War, the arrival of the Imam al-Mahdi, and the American secret intervention to stop the development program.
Published on Aug. 26 2011 by Mr. Jones

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars beware its not just a thriller...
I've read all three books in this trilogy and although the idea, some of the research and the story-line are all great and well done, the author seems to not be able to keep out his religious mission to convert the reader into a follower of Jesus. If it wasn't for that all three books would have been fantastic spy stories keeping you turn page after page. Instead I feel...
Published 17 months ago by heissundinnig


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, Aug. 26 2011
This review is from: The Twelfth Imam (Hardcover)
This novel was an excellent read in my opinion, even though I dislike Joel C. Rosenberg. It is about the Iranian nuclear weapons development program, a possible Iranian-Israeli Nuclear War, the arrival of the Imam al-Mahdi, and the American secret intervention to stop the development program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, April 14 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "ladymay" (ON) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Twelfth Imam (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this book it was hard to put it down. Lots of action and insight to world events, I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of action, suspense and even a little romance, Oct. 19 2010
This review is from: Twelfth Imam (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book as it has all of the elements of an exciting book, complete with a character that works for the CIA. Many of Joel Rosenberg's books are shockingly accurate to real life events, sometimes written before the events have even taken place. The Twelfth Imam takes place in several time-periods, one of which being in the wake of the 911 tragedy. It was full of suspense, and even a little romance. I think anyone who likes to read stories full of action would enjoy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars indiana jones meets jesus, June 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Twelfth Imam (Kindle Edition)
this book is really something! generally speaking, i'm not one to read "thrillers", but in this case i made an exception and for a while i was glad i did. get the picture: iran is on the cusp of obtaining nuclear weapons with which they plan to annihilate israel and the usa. israel is wise to iran's intentions and is threatening to launch a pre-emptive strike . the u.s. is thus caught between a rock and hard place: what to do? well, the cia discovers an american of iranian extraction who is persuaded to infiltrate the iranian hierarchy and somehow work to prevent armageddon. so far so good; plausible, even. while all this is going on-- the plot is very complicated -- an iraqi nuclear scientist working for the iranians -- is beginning to have doubts about his head-sceintist father-in-law's role in iran;s nuclear program and upon the death of the latter (via a car bomb presumably planted by israeli agents), he hops in his car and heads for a nuclear facility hidden in the mountains to get hold of his deceased father-in-law's hard drive, when -- and here's where the narrative begins to spin out of control -- on the way, amid a snowstorm, who does the son-in-law-assistant-nuclear -scientist meet standing by the side of the road wearing only a robe and sandals? you guessed it: JESUS!!!! this meeting occasions an almost immediate conversion to xtianity after a life-long devotion to islam, which he all at once perceives to be a false religion. turns out the the twelfth imam -- an iranaian messiah -- is none other than one of the false prophets prophecied by jesus somewere in the new testament. well, by now you get the point: if all this seems unbelievable, it's because it is what started off as good "thriller" ends up as something between a sunday-morning sermon and a rant against islam. there's more, but i've already said enough, perhaps even too much. save your money and buy yourself a cup of starbuck's coffee instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joel Rosenberg is my new favorite author, Oct. 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Twelfth Imam (Paperback)
Thrilling to see how simple it is to see how God could bring this all to pass in the near future/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another great book based on End Times., May 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Twelfth Imam (Paperback)
Again I found it very factual but I would rather just have the facts and not weave it around a novel. I suppose there are others who need a story but I think the facts speak for themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars beware its not just a thriller..., April 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Twelfth Imam (Kindle Edition)
I've read all three books in this trilogy and although the idea, some of the research and the story-line are all great and well done, the author seems to not be able to keep out his religious mission to convert the reader into a follower of Jesus. If it wasn't for that all three books would have been fantastic spy stories keeping you turn page after page. Instead I feel like I've fallen prey to a religious nut almost forcing his views onto me by trying to follow the story. The Bible and the Quran both condemn heathens/infidels and threaten to destroy them, but the author conveniently leaves out all passages of the Bible referring to that and pushes all Quran passages to turn Islam into the forces of evil. That is not just unfair its plain wrong!!!
In closing I would say I'd recommend these books to anyone who can handle religious rants without losing the thread of the story and is not annoyed by the constant message that Jesus is the best and everyone else is worthless....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, Fun read!, March 11 2013
This review is from: The Twelfth Imam (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book, and quickly bought the next in the series. The author uses a very high level of detail with geographical, political and military info. As a Christian, I like the spiritual content as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars written, Dec 28 2010
This review is from: Twelfth Imam (Paperback)
This novel is an excellent read, especially in the times that we now live in, it is a fast moving story that keeps the reader from wanting to put the book down, I find that all of Joel' novels are fast moving and up to date with the present time, I would recommend this novel to anyone interested in what is going on in Iran today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Twelfth Imam
The Twelfth Imam by Joel C. Rosenberg (Paperback - July 19 2011)
CDN$ 18.99 CDN$ 13.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews