Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Cyber Monday Deals Week in Home & Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars9
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$15.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 24, 2014
this book is really something! generally speaking, i'm not one to read "thrillers", but in this case i made an exception and for a while i was glad i did. get the picture: iran is on the cusp of obtaining nuclear weapons with which they plan to annihilate israel and the usa. israel is wise to iran's intentions and is threatening to launch a pre-emptive strike . the u.s. is thus caught between a rock and hard place: what to do? well, the cia discovers an american of iranian extraction who is persuaded to infiltrate the iranian hierarchy and somehow work to prevent armageddon. so far so good; plausible, even. while all this is going on-- the plot is very complicated -- an iraqi nuclear scientist working for the iranians -- is beginning to have doubts about his head-sceintist father-in-law's role in iran;s nuclear program and upon the death of the latter (via a car bomb presumably planted by israeli agents), he hops in his car and heads for a nuclear facility hidden in the mountains to get hold of his deceased father-in-law's hard drive, when -- and here's where the narrative begins to spin out of control -- on the way, amid a snowstorm, who does the son-in-law-assistant-nuclear -scientist meet standing by the side of the road wearing only a robe and sandals? you guessed it: JESUS!!!! this meeting occasions an almost immediate conversion to xtianity after a life-long devotion to islam, which he all at once perceives to be a false religion. turns out the the twelfth imam -- an iranaian messiah -- is none other than one of the false prophets prophecied by jesus somewere in the new testament. well, by now you get the point: if all this seems unbelievable, it's because it is what started off as good "thriller" ends up as something between a sunday-morning sermon and a rant against islam. there's more, but i've already said enough, perhaps even too much. save your money and buy yourself a cup of starbuck's coffee instead.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2013
Thrilling to see how simple it is to see how God could bring this all to pass in the near future/
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2013
Again I found it very factual but I would rather just have the facts and not weave it around a novel. I suppose there are others who need a story but I think the facts speak for themselves.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon April 14, 2013
Enjoyed this book it was hard to put it down. Lots of action and insight to world events, I highly recommend it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2013
I've read all three books in this trilogy and although the idea, some of the research and the story-line are all great and well done, the author seems to not be able to keep out his religious mission to convert the reader into a follower of Jesus. If it wasn't for that all three books would have been fantastic spy stories keeping you turn page after page. Instead I feel like I've fallen prey to a religious nut almost forcing his views onto me by trying to follow the story. The Bible and the Quran both condemn heathens/infidels and threaten to destroy them, but the author conveniently leaves out all passages of the Bible referring to that and pushes all Quran passages to turn Islam into the forces of evil. That is not just unfair its plain wrong!!!
In closing I would say I'd recommend these books to anyone who can handle religious rants without losing the thread of the story and is not annoyed by the constant message that Jesus is the best and everyone else is worthless....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2013
I enjoyed this book, and quickly bought the next in the series. The author uses a very high level of detail with geographical, political and military info. As a Christian, I like the spiritual content as well.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on August 26, 2011
This novel was an excellent read in my opinion, even though I dislike Joel C. Rosenberg. It is about the Iranian nuclear weapons development program, a possible Iranian-Israeli Nuclear War, the arrival of the Imam al-Mahdi, and the American secret intervention to stop the development program.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on December 28, 2010
This novel is an excellent read, especially in the times that we now live in, it is a fast moving story that keeps the reader from wanting to put the book down, I find that all of Joel' novels are fast moving and up to date with the present time, I would recommend this novel to anyone interested in what is going on in Iran today.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on October 19, 2010
I enjoyed this book as it has all of the elements of an exciting book, complete with a character that works for the CIA. Many of Joel Rosenberg's books are shockingly accurate to real life events, sometimes written before the events have even taken place. The Twelfth Imam takes place in several time-periods, one of which being in the wake of the 911 tragedy. It was full of suspense, and even a little romance. I think anyone who likes to read stories full of action would enjoy this one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Damascus Countdown: A Novel
Damascus Countdown: A Novel by Joel C. Rosenberg (MP3 CD - Oct. 7 2014)
CDN$ 19.99

The Third Target: A J. B. Collins Novel
The Third Target: A J. B. Collins Novel by Joel C. Rosenberg (Paperback - Sept. 17 2015)
CDN$ 15.87