Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the Name of Honour, must read, Jan. 5 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Name of Honor: A Memoir (Paperback)
Excellent. The book helps with understanding the deep seated problems facing the Pakistani government and people, especially the horrific situations women have live with. It also shows the way forward and leaves one with hope, not despairIn the Name of Honor: A Memoir
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Julie (Amazing book), Aug. 14 2010
This review is from: In the Name of Honor: A Memoir (Paperback)
In the name of Honor was an amazing book. I was not able to put this book down. I recommend this book to anybody who wants to have a good book read. I was extremely sad for this girl who was gang rapped by men who were twice the age of her. Mukhtar went through a huge ordeal as well as her brother. Her brother was wrongfully accused of raping a women who is a lot older than him. There is a group of bad men who live near Mukhtar and her family. Her father was an amazing man who always taught her to stand up for herself. Being married at a young age and divorced in her twenties. She was lucky to have been able to get out of divorcee. In Punjab Divorce is a sin and should only be up held if the man files through for it not the women. The women are treated like objects. They have to the home makers, and do whatever men what them to do. Women are not allowed to voice their opinions or speak out. If they do, they will get a sentence that the men are accompanied to do.

I read this book, because my parents grew up in Punjab, unfortunately my mom was lucky to have not encounter this. I was deeply sadden to hear what Makhtar had to go through. This book touched me. It made me realize what my mother had to go through a bit, because in India it's true women are treated like objects and have to do whatever the men want them to do. I guess you could say Makhtar luck was not the greatest that day. She surely did not deserve this. I was happy by the out come of it though. The out come was good, but you know what? This girl is going to be scared for life. Rape is a serious thing and it's hard for a person to even be able to fold that chapter of their life.

I do believe Makhtar did pull this really well. Unfortunately most of the men did not get sentenced, she was able to save what was left of her life. I think this women is an amazing women and she is the voice of the other women who can't speak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Required reading, Dec 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Be in the know about the horrible practices in countries that value women and girls equal to or less than livestock.
As shocking as the truth is, it must be told. This book does that.....get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing Read..., Dec 28 2013
By 
Louise Jolly "Bookaholic" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In the Name of Honor: A Memoir (Paperback)
Story Description:

With Marie-Therese Cuny
Translated by Linda Coverdale

Washington Square Press|October16, 2007|Trade Paperback|ISBN: 978-1-4165-3229-3

In June 2002, Mukhtar Mai, a Pakistani woman from the impoverished village of Meerwala, was gang raped by a local clan known as the Mastoi - punishment for indiscretions alledgedly committed by the woman's brother. While certainly not the first account of a female body being negotiated for honor in a family, this time the survivor had bravely chosen to fight back. In doing so, Mai single-handedly changed the feminist movement in Pakistan, on the world's most adverse climates for women.

By July 2002, the Pakistani government awarded her the equivalent of $8,500 U.S. dollars in ischool for girls so that future generations would not suffer, as she had, from illiteracy.

In the rousing account, Mai describes her experience and how she has since become an agent for change and a beacon of hope for oppressed women around the world. Timely and topical, IN THE against exceptional odds.

MY REVIEW:

Makhtar Mai was gang raped in June of 2002 by a local caste called the Mastoi. She was gang raped as a punishment for her brother on account that he had committed a sexual act. Her brother was also sodomized. This unbelievable act of gang rape goes on all the time in Pakistan and Mukhtar says that every hour a woman is raped. Other punishments meted out to innocent women as punishment is the practice of throwing acid into their faces in order to scar them for life; horrific beatings and captivity; out-right murder; and setting women on fire.

These are the arcane and barbaric laws being upheld in Pakistan and Mukhtar has worked tirelessly to have these laws changed or abolished.

Her other project is in educating girls from the community and builds a school where they can learn to read and write so they don't face the embarrassment of illiteracy like she had.

In July of 2002, the government of Pakistan gave her a cheque in the amount of $8,500 U.S. dollars as compensation money and sentenced her attackers to death.

Mukhtar Mai is an amazing woman who refused to curl up in a ball and stay silent. She came forward and decided to fight back. She told her story and took it to the courts - all the way up to the Supreme Court and even had meetings with the President of Pakistan.

IN THE NAME OF HONOR is a disturbing memoir, so hard to read some of the details that happen to these innocent women. It absolutely breaks your heart. But, Makhtar Mai's response to the violence she endured had for far reaching affects for all women. And, not just the women of Pakistan but women around the world. I commend her for her dogged persistence in obtaining justice for herself and other women.

This was a fantastic read and only took me a couple of hours at just 179 pages. This is one memoir you won't want to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read, Aug. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Name of Honor: A Memoir (Paperback)
This is a very interesting book that is easy to read. I learned a lot about the lifestyle of this culture that I would never have known otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In the Name of Honor A Memoir, Oct. 23 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Name of Honor: A Memoir (Paperback)
I like this book, it truly made me understand the struggles of women in other part of the world. Although I have heard of tribal tradition it is only after reading this book did I understand what that truly meant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In the Name of Honor: A Memoir
In the Name of Honor: A Memoir by Mukhtar Mai (Paperback - Oct. 16 2007)
CDN$ 18.99 CDN$ 13.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews