Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book
Another good book by Clive Cussler for the Dirk Pitt series. I've enjoyed all books from the series and look forward to more.
Published 10 months ago by Kevin G Carleton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great book, but not a great Cussler novel
The 10th book in the Dirk Pitt series finds Pitt battling a Japanese enemy intent on taking over the US's economy through the threat of nuclear explosives hidden in hundreds of cars around the US. As usual with Cussler novels, it starts out with a disastrous event that Pitt finds himself coincidently in the middle of.
As far as Pitt novels go, this one wasn't bad,...
Published on Jan. 21 2004 by Scott


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, Sept. 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dragon (Mass Market Paperback)
Another good book by Clive Cussler for the Dirk Pitt series. I've enjoyed all books from the series and look forward to more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Story, June 5 2004
By 
This review is from: Dragon (Mass Market Paperback)
Cussler delivers another really good story and plot for his readers to enjoy.
The hero, Dirk Pitt, is faced with a daunting challenge of locating several nuclear bombs that are smuggled into the United States. A highly nationalistic Japanese executive is behind the controls of what could be the biggest terrorist plot in U.S. history. Pitt, Giordino along with a few other intelligence personnel, must also locate this ruthless tycoon's operating center and destroy it before it's too late.
Very intense story though Cussler could have done without using racial epithets to describe the Japanese people. I was not really bothered by it initially until our great hero, Dirk Pitt and his sidekick, Al Giordino, began using it also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great book, but not a great Cussler novel, Jan. 21 2004
This review is from: Dragon (Mass Market Paperback)
The 10th book in the Dirk Pitt series finds Pitt battling a Japanese enemy intent on taking over the US's economy through the threat of nuclear explosives hidden in hundreds of cars around the US. As usual with Cussler novels, it starts out with a disastrous event that Pitt finds himself coincidently in the middle of.
As far as Pitt novels go, this one wasn't bad, but definately not the best. All the usuals are here, including Pitt's relationship with Loren Smith, his best friend Al Giordino, and James Sandecker. The great things about this book is that it's long and filled with action. As usual with Pitt novels, 500+ pages that are filled with action is enough to keep you entertained for a long time. Too long unfortunately. I thought that they could have done without 100-150 pages in this book. It actually took me 3 months to read. Usually when I get a good book, especially a Pitt novel, I'm done in a week. I think I was bored with this one because Pitt was facing a human enemy and searching for a human threat. The past novels have always featured some strange phenomenon or Pitt discovering some famed treasure, which make for a great read. Facing off against the Japanese made it just like any other novel.
My other problem with Dragon is Pitt's love interest. In the past novels, Pitt is always introduced to some new woman. The same goes here, but her character was really poorly developed. It pretty much amounted to nothing more than a single sexual encounter, which isn't like Cussler. The last few pages of the novel do feature enough intrigue and suspense though to make me want to pick up the next novel right away.
If you're a fan of the series, I definately suggest picking up "Dragon." But if you're looking for a good Cussler novel to wet your teeth with, I'd suggest skipping this one and going straight to "Pacific Vortex."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4th protcol for the modern age., March 31 2003
By 
D. Newstead (Middlesex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dragon (Mass Market Paperback)
Maybe it was the excitement of finding a great new author in Treasure but this book just missed the level of enjoyment of Treasure. However having said that this book is a masterpiece in suspense and almost all too believable for its own good. Tales of smuggling bombs and second world war bombers the action never lets off. Another great book from a great author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy American, Aug. 27 2001
This review is from: Dragon (School & Library Binding)
Dear reader who was around when Japan so adamantly attempted to conquer America by purchase will most appreciate this story. Cussler makes several subtle sarcastic jabs at the Japanese who gloated about their once robust economy in the 1980's, when they flexed their yens and gobbled up extraordinary volumes of American business. Familiar phrases that were smugly touted by the Japanese during that time such as 'Business is War' and 'We aren't forcing you to sell your country to us' sarcastically glare from the pages while we presently watch their economy sputter. But the contemptuous yellow threat in the story fails to defy the formidable American, Dirk Pitt! The story itself was run-of-the-mill Dirk Pitt. He and sidekick, Giordino are more or less forced into assisting the United States to stop an international crime of nuclear proportions... literally! Cussler's lovely lady, Loren joins in for the suspense and the company of Pitt and Giordino save the day in the nick of time. Where have I read this before? Wasn't it in the last Cussler novel? The story is what it is dear reader, so enjoy it for that: A cornball fiction adventure that illustrates that you may just never know what you're getting when you buy a Japanese car!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Classic Cussler., July 15 2011
By 
J Reader (CANADA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dragon (Mass Market Paperback)
Dragon is absolute classic Cussler. Imaginative, action packed and a little bit sexy. Dirk Pitt plays the super hero minus the tights and the fate of America once again falls into the hands of this accidental hero.

Dragon brings together the threat of international economic warfare and real WW2 warfare. One of the things I really enjoy about Clive Cussler's novels is the way he incorporates some historical context into each of his story's. Dragon is fast paced action packed and entertaining. As with all of Cusslers novels the joy is in the international adventure he does so well. Specifically this story floats back and forth between Japan and the US.

Cussler certainly doesn't hold a top ten position among the writers in the genre but he knows how to put together a fantastical story that will keep you turning pages until the end. If you are looking for a relaxing easy read this wouldn't be a bad choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Standard Cussler, but not great, June 26 2001
By 
Norm Zurawski (Millington, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dragon (Mass Market Paperback)
"This book panders to the anti-Japanese sentiment of the early nineties," is one quote I read in a review above. Yup, this is the case. Without having actually read Rising Sun by Michael Crichton (saw the movie), it appears Cussler got caught up in the "Japs are out to get us" mentality that permeated the late 80's and early 90's.
But that's a premise and anyone who is familiar with a Cussler book knows that there needs to be an entity of evil associated with that which opposes Dirk Pitt (like every single movie made in the 80's where the Russians were the bad guys). In this case, it's the big bad Japanese financial and power machine image of that stated time period.
This is standard Cussler, as I said. But there are some stretches in "reality" that make you wonder just how much you are willing to believe when you read these books. Like I said, standard Cussler.
Having said that, this is a fine book. Escapism is another word someone used in describing this book. Well, sure. That's what this is all about. We're not talking the Bhagavad Gita here, people. This is good, clean (well, close) American fun. It'll make you cheer for the good guys and jeer the bad guys when they get theirs, which they always do.
I liked it. Cussler books are an easy escape from those books that make me think. And we all need that from time to time. The ties, albeit almost always far-fetched and quite Scooby Doo like, are fun.
In all, a good solid Cussler read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Move over 007---Pitt is the REAL THING!, Oct. 30 2000
This review is from: Dragon (Mass Market Paperback)
Can ANYONE tell me who can write more action into 500 pages than Clive Cussler?? ANYONE?? As one of Pitt's finest adventures begins (as usual) we are transported to an un-recorded flight of a 3rd atomic bomb to be dropped on Japan at the end of WWII. It never arrived...the powers-that-be sweep it under the table and we then leap-frog ahead to a sudden nuclear explosion in the Pacific. The explosin is totally UN-RELATED to the atomic bomb which never arrived in WWII...where did it come from and why? This is the little problem we encounter with 'Dragon' possibly one of Pitt's most entertaining adventures. From an undergound Nazi cache of stolen art, to robotic dogs to a fanatical modern day Ninja who collects human heads this novel travels from one spot on the globe to another as quickly as you can turn the pages. We even are treated to a spectacular nuclear explosion IN the United States...how it comes about is half the fun, and how Dirk & Company take us to the final moments is a roller-coaster worth riding. For sheer fun and an adrenaline rush unlike any other, 'Dragon' is THE answer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Non-Stop Exciting Fiction That's Not Too Far From Reality!!!, Sept. 5 2000
This review is from: Dragon (Mass Market Paperback)
I am an avid Cussler fan and have read most of his books. "Dragon" is one of his best. It ranks a close second to "Cyclops". "Dragon" is a very thought-provoking novel in that it makes me wonder just how far off Cussler's baseline story reflects today's world. His use of robots made for the sole purpose of driving Japanese cars with hidden nuclear bombs to predetermined world locations is disturbing. Who knows how far an intelligent, industrialized nation could go if such a nation fell into the hands of the wrong power-hungry leaders? My only objection came at the end of the story. Without giving anything away, I found it hard to believe how Dirk Pitt managed to survive again! Oh, well. Such is fiction. Despite this minor complaint, "Dragon" is still a great entertaining read with nonstop action. I recommend it to all Cussler fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dragon, May 11 2000
By 
student (Connecticut,USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dragon (Mass Market Paperback)
In my day I have read a lot of books and so far I have not read one that is Dragons equal. Dragon is extreamly well written and has a fabulous plot. It talks of underground mining and a sinster plot to plant nucleur bombs all over the world and hold the world hostage. And this all being done from private companies out of Japan looking for finacial gain. Dirk Pitt, the protagonistis a mix between James Bond and Jaques Cousteau. If you are looking for a fabulous book with get to the next page action Dragon is the book you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dragon
Dragon by Clive Cussler (Mass Market Paperback - Oct. 31 2006)
CDN$ 12.99 CDN$ 11.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews