Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY UNFORGETTABLE!!
I have read literally thousands of books during my lifetime; some forgotten as soon as the pages have been read. However, "The Forgotten Garden" will remain with me for the rest of my days. In 1913, a young girl is abandoned on a ship from England to Austraila, and what follows through the pages is a journey back and forth through time in search of her true identity...
Published on April 26 2009 by The Mad Hatter

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great story . . . botched delivery
I was so looking forward to reading this highly-recommended story (the details of which I won't relay here). However, much like House at Riverton, this story had a slew of characters and was told from various points in time, which were constantly changing. It really makes it difficult to engage with these characters. Nell's point of view, after the first 150 pages, I...
Published on Sept. 12 2010 by dragonfly


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY UNFORGETTABLE!!, April 26 2009
By 
The Mad Hatter "Seagull Books" (Prince Edward Island, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Forgotten Garden (Paperback)
I have read literally thousands of books during my lifetime; some forgotten as soon as the pages have been read. However, "The Forgotten Garden" will remain with me for the rest of my days. In 1913, a young girl is abandoned on a ship from England to Austraila, and what follows through the pages is a journey back and forth through time in search of her true identity.

The author, Kate Morton weaves a story so profound and magical, the reader will be be captivated by its intrigue from beginning to end. The story holds mystique, fantasy, realism and leaves the reader never wanting the story to end. The characters and plot are stong and well developed, grabbing the reader with such intensity one feels a part of the journey. It is a lengthy book, but one filled with every emotion possible, sadness, joy, antiipation, revenge, jealousy, longing and love.

This is truly an enchanting book, an absolute masterpiece and one you will definitely not want to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, Jan. 9 2010
By 
Emily Mackinnon (Halifax, NS, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Forgotten Garden: A Novel (Hardcover)
The Forgotten Garden is one of those rare, absolutely page-turning books. I read it a few months ago on a trip to South Africa, but the plot and characters are still very much alive in my head. This book has everything: history, mystery, loss and love. (That sounded like a poem!) Kate Mosse writes fluidly and the story line just flows so that you don't even realize you're turning pages and have been sitting in the same exact spot for the past four hours. Only a select few books take me to that place, and The Forgotten Garden was one of them. An excellent read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great story . . . botched delivery, Sept. 12 2010
This review is from: The Forgotten Garden (Paperback)
I was so looking forward to reading this highly-recommended story (the details of which I won't relay here). However, much like House at Riverton, this story had a slew of characters and was told from various points in time, which were constantly changing. It really makes it difficult to engage with these characters. Nell's point of view, after the first 150 pages, I could have completely done without, seeing as Cassandra had her diary anyway. It makes for a confusing and at times, tedious read - as well as many unanswered questions and underdeveloped characters. Writing is beautiful and the story itself is fantastic, but the sheer volume of storylines makes for a frustrating read. Try The Thirteenth Tale instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ADDICTIVE READ, April 9 2010
By 
C. Nguyen "Loola" (Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Forgotten Garden: A Novel (Hardcover)
I could not put this book down. Infact, it is the first book in a very long time that I was obsessed with! I didn't want to do anything else in the span of a week that it took me to finish it. I think I even skipped meals on some days just so I could read it! Fiance? Fiance who? He did not exist when I was reading 'The Forgotten Garden'. Haha. It is one of those books that you completely absorb into. Escapism at its best. The story is so mysterious and fascinating! And like the reviews from before, I too am not usually a fan of stories that hop-scotch back and forth but Kate Morton does it in a way that isn't confusing whatsoever! I was sad when I finished the book. A definite must read indeed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tangle of Heartwrenching Stories, April 9 2010
By 
Lynnden Kelly "Lynnden" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Forgotten Garden (Paperback)
This book was a pleasure to read from start to finish. It was sad, uplifting, curious and intriguing all at the same time. The way the characters each told their stories kept me on the edge of my seat, waiting to hear the next part of the mystery. It twisted and turned and often steered the me in the wrong direction, but in the end it all came together to reveal the secret that had been hiding between the lines all along. A great read about sorrow, love, jealousy, friendship and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeply Sad, May 7 2010
By 
Anna Black (Ottawa, ON CANADA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Forgotten Garden: A Novel (Hardcover)
This is a magnificent story, although its tragedies are very sad. Morton writes of a time in England where impoverished people were driven to drastic survivalistic measures such as selling their children (Adeline). The indelible effects of cold and cruel parents, have long lasting effects (Linus), and ignorance in the medical field left people permanently marred (Rose). A lineage of three orphaned children, Eliza, Nell and Cassandra. Eliza fairs the worst. While Nell has a traumatic incident in her fourth year, the love she finds with her new family, helps her form into a strong woman. And Cassandra feels unwanted and neglected until Nell raises her.

There were parts in the story which I found hard to fathom, for example, Nell's complete rejection of a family who loved her for 17 years, or Eliza's need to get the brooch/hierloom at the end of the story, when she had ample time to get it during her earlier forays. Still, it's an amazing story and Morton's writing is just gorgeous. Her poetic descriptors like "branches scribbled across the horizon" were so pretty.

This book is hard to put down. And I could see this film made into a movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Officially my new favourite book, AMAZING!, April 4 2010
This review is from: The Forgotten Garden: A Novel (Hardcover)
The Forgotten Garden had everything for me. EVERYTHING, I absolutely LOVED it!
The plot was ingenious, and it never left you without a mystery to mull over. In between reads (it was quite a long novel), I would constantly find myself contemplating the events in the story and it would rarely leave my mind. From beginning to end, I was sold, and the story only got better as you progressed. The way Kate Morton revealed each part of the mystery was very effective and kept me hooked. I enjoyed the parallel progression of the same story during the lives of each different character and the different eras. Occasionally there were unlikely situations, but that was inevitable and didn't take away from it all because nothing felt forced or tacked on as a last resort. The ending was powerful, conclusive, and did not disappoint!
The characters were interesting and likable, and they were easy to root for. I honestly worried for the well-being of the characters while reading this book. Her characters were also very complex. The protagonists were never perfect and all had flaws that the reader could relate to and even occasionally be frustrated with. The antagonists, on the other hand, (for the most part) were not purely evil, but the motives behind their actions were explained and very plausible. The character development was highly effective. The story even had a little bit of romance, in the perfect dose that didn't overpower the main theme.
This book was so well-written, the language Kate Morton used brought the story to another level and reinforced the emotion throughout the story. The mini fairytales throughout were as enchanting as they were meant to be in the novel, and I enjoyed the transformation of writing style when she wrote them. The symbolism in the fairytales and small details, and discovering their meanings as I read made the novel all the more enjoyable.
My only regret is that I will never be able to read this book for the first time again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The past is laid over the future and the future is laid over the past.", May 18 2009
This review is from: The Forgotten Garden: A Novel (Hardcover)
Kate Morton's multi-general genealogical saga is as complex as the over-grown and secluded garden which forms the story's title. Laden with memory and with the dark secrets of the grand aristocratic Cornwall estate, Blackhurst Manor, this novel takes the reader on a colorful journey into an Edwardian England of envy, abandonment and betrayal. In 2005 in Brisbane Cassandra maintains a silent vigil over her grandmother Nell Andrews. Towards the end of her life she peaks about a woman, a lady whom she calls the Authoress. She seemed to think they were on some kind of boat. When Nell finally passes, Cassandra discovers she's gifted her the deeds to an isolated Cornish cottage complete with a hidden walled garden, the back completely covered with brambles.

Traveling to London and then into the village of Tregenna which lies on the outskirts of Blackhurst Manor, Cassandra is overwhelmed by the circumstances of her visit, and that of the dark mystery surrounding Nell's past and why, in 1913, she was left abandoned on a sailing ship bound for Australia with a funny looking case with white leather and with silver buckles. Only a book of children's fairy tales published in London in 1913 remains inside. Secrets have a way of making themselves known, and both the garden and Cliff Cottage have a formidable reputation according to the inhabitants of the local village Tregenna.

Soon enough Nell's family, her blood and her past, and these secrets steadily materialize in the wake of Cassandra's investigations, all knitting together: Nell's unknown parentage, her arrival as a child at an ocean port, the suitcase, her mysterious trip to England the early 70's and of course the secret house. Morton steadily weaves the complicated narratives of Cassandra and Nell into that of the life of the Authoress, Eliza Makepeace, her delicate fairy tales anchoring the long forgotten memories and the threads that tie the Authoress of Nell's memory, the name of the Mountrachet family, particularly Rose Mountrachet and her marriage to the handsome artist Nathaniel Walker.

This novel constantly tosses up flecks of the past, offering a maze of unanswered questions. Yet the issue remains of what happened to Eliza who was last seen in London in late 1913, with a small girl Ivory Walter, perhaps Rose's daughter. Revenge and animosity play out in this Dickensian drama. The gorgeous Cornish countryside is eventually shattered by a shocking act of betrayal, Eliza finding herself envious of the glamorous American man who causes her cousin's affections to shift so readily and who steals her dearest friend in the blink of an eyelid. And then there's the fiercely manipulative Adeline lady Mountrachet, who runs a tight ship at Blackhurst and fears Eliza the interloper, the cuckoo who was sent back to Blackhurst by her husband Linus to supplant Rose and to push her from the nest that Adeline had fought to make her own.

With characters who are both compassionate and also cruel, the pitiless manipulations of those at Blackhurst Manor give much of this novel its dramatic heft. Packed with genealogical indexes and hidden scrapbooks, and fairy tale stories, the fear, uncertainty and the excitement of Eliza and Nell - and Cassandra's life gradually unfolds. Meanwhile, the weeds of brambles of the forgotten garden shape the narrative, the hole, very small, at the bottom of the wall, concealing a dark secret. As the jagged memories appear to Cassandra, it is finally revealed that it is Nell who'd spent enough of her life waylaid by regret, drowning in untruths and uncertainty in this painful allegory of love, family secrets, and mistaken identity. Mike Leonard May 09.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable, May 23 2009
By 
Dave and Joe (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Forgotten Garden: A Novel (Hardcover)
It's difficult for a book that's about family, relationships and memory to be a real page turner, but Forgotten Garden manages the task. It's as much a mystery as it is an exploration of how past affects present and how present presages future. The book succeeds because it doesn't stall in the emotions it explores. An ambitious and wildly successful book - the garden may have forgotten but the book may well never be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book!, Sept. 3 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Forgotten Garden (Paperback)
A real page turner. I was surprised how much I enjoyed this book as I don't usually get into historical type stories. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Forgotten Garden: A Novel
The Forgotten Garden: A Novel by Kate Morton (Hardcover - April 7 2009)
CDN$ 29.99 CDN$ 18.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews