Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Secret Garden.
This book has been around for many, many years and it's easy to see why. Inside are real women who talk about real things, fantasies and what have you. They don't hold back, either and some make "normal" fantasies seem almost vanilla. It's a great read for anyone who wants to explore this realm. Another good one: Playtime.
Published on Dec 30 2008 by CB

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars I'm sexual, but not disgusting
I wish there was one main thing that had been pointed out about this book before I bought it, and that is that there are actually disgusting and pathetic women out there that fantasize about have sex with actual animals, and underage children. Really, what has your life come down too? What a waste of money, this was even in the first chapter, and I quickly skimmed through...
Published 23 months ago by chocolate


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Secret Garden., Dec 30 2008
This review is from: My Secret Garden (Paperback)
This book has been around for many, many years and it's easy to see why. Inside are real women who talk about real things, fantasies and what have you. They don't hold back, either and some make "normal" fantasies seem almost vanilla. It's a great read for anyone who wants to explore this realm. Another good one: Playtime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I'm sexual, but not disgusting, Aug. 22 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Secret Garden (Paperback)
I wish there was one main thing that had been pointed out about this book before I bought it, and that is that there are actually disgusting and pathetic women out there that fantasize about have sex with actual animals, and underage children. Really, what has your life come down too? What a waste of money, this was even in the first chapter, and I quickly skimmed through to realize that there is lots of it in this book. Seriously, GET A REAL MAN, if that's what gets you off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nancy Friday's Pseudo-Psychopathology-of-Sex Book, March 22 2004
By 
I ain't no porn writer (author, "Crippled Dreams") - See all my reviews
This is so funny. Back in the bell-bottom days, Nancy Friday basically put out an add and got a bunch of women to send her their sex fantasies. Then she picked out the most deliciously perverted ones, left out the tame boring ones, and passed her book off as "research" into the "average" female's sexual imagination (haha).
This book has it ALL, even bestiality and incest. Read at your own risk.
David Rehak
author of "A Young Girl's Crimes"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rare Find for the Sexually Intelllectual, Feb. 1 2004
By 
I first read this book on the shelves of my public library when I was still a teenager, and I'll NEVER forget that first rush. WOW - someone else actually has these ideas going through their head?!
Mind you, that was 10 years ago. I've re-purchased the book many times over, because I keep on losing it or giving it away. This book is a fantastic combination of the psychology behind women's sexual fantasies and the actual fantasies themselves. I'll be honest - I haven't masturbated to these fantasies in years.. although I did constantly when I was still a teen.
This book opened my eyes up to the 'taboo' of sexual fantasy, and helped me understand at a crucial time in my life that fantasy is healthy and a necessary part of anyone's life. I no longer have ANY sexual taboos.. and it's mostly because of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I guess I'm more exciting than I thought...., Aug. 1 2001
By 
"lilylovesphone" (Tacoma, WA United States) - See all my reviews
I purchased this book hoping to get some new ideas, be inspired, enlightened, aroused, titillated...but no, none of the above.
The only thing this book did was reassure me that this world is full of a lot of sexually repressed women and even more Jerry Springer-like trashy ho-bags. There was no sensuality here. Perhaps it's because most of the text was written by amateurs but good LORD. If I were writing something that I thought would end up in a book, I'd take more care to make it interesting.
There's a distinct lack of imagination AND character in our society. This book makes that painfully obvious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good Pornography for the Middle Class., June 24 2001
By A Customer
The problem with this book is not that it is pornographic. The problem is that it is hypocrticial. It is one thing to edit and publish a collection of women's sexual fantasies and not care whether someone considers it pornographic or not. It is quite another to collect such fantasies, add a few introductory notes between the chapters, and try to disguise the pornographic content as "research". The idea, apparently, is to make this colletion "respectable", worthy of being sold in Barnes&Noble in the "psychology" section instead of in the local "adult bookstore".
Is this book *really* "research", like Nancy Friday claims, or is it "pronography"? The definition of "pornography" is, according to the american heritage dictionary, "obscene literature... having little or no artistic merit", literally from the greek "writing about harlots". "Reseach" is "dilligent and systematic inquiry into a subject". Clearly "My Secret Garden" is the first, not the second. It is almost literally "writing about harlots" (or women fantasizing of being ones). But it is *not* a "dilligent inquiry" into the subject by any stretch of the imagination.
For example, Nancy Friday's method was simply to collect the stories from *women who answered her request for fantasies*. Do you really think it is likely that a woman who sends her sexual fantasies to a complete stranger is the *average* woman? How about men who send stories, claiming to be women? Women who answered the advertisement as a joke with all kind of wild stories, and so on? Nancy Friday does not show the least awareness of such potential biases in her data. Nor does she do any quantitive analysis whatsoever of the results. She simply published the "best stories". If this is reseach at all, it is very bad research.
*As Pornography*, this book is quite good: much better, in variety of subject, experiences, and authenticity, than the usual "adult books". It can be exciting; it can add spice to one's sex life, and suggest some new things you haven't thought of (and, unlike the usual fictional "adult" book, these suggestions can actually be tried without getting yourself or your spouse arrested, injured, or worse.) It is clearly collected by an intelligent woman who had both men and women in mind when she chose her material.
I suspect Nancy Friday knows very well that her books are pronographic, and that her claims of "reseach" are merely a rather transparent excuse for publishing them with a "respectable" publisher. As a writer (or collector) of pronography, she did a good job, and it is perhaps a good thing to have this kind of high-level porn available. Just don't kid yourself about what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I believed that I never fantasized., Jan. 26 2001
By 
R. Byrd "byrdie" (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For years, I used erotica books as surrogate fantasy material, believing that I was incapable of fantasizing during sex, that I had no fantasies of my own and had to use other people's. Reading "My Secret Garden" changed my perception of myself drastically. Those horrid, disturbing thoughts that floated into my brain, that I would shove down quickly as "sick," were indeed fantasies. The brave women who contributed their fantasies and feelings showed me that even if what I was drawn to was "sick," it certainly wasn't uncommon.
I am especially grateful to the women who commented on making the decision to share, or not share, their fantasies with their lovers. This was crucial for me. At a time when my thoughts were to be confessed on demand, I deprived my lover by depriving myself: those weren't fantasies, they were just random weird thoughts that made me uncomfortable. However, after getting out of a bad relationship and realizing that my mind was my own toy, I found that I could explore those thoughts without fear of exposure to anyone but myself ... and thus without shame.
Once I allowed myself my own secret garden, I found that I could share with myself and my current lovers in a way that previous ones had tried to coerce out of me. Living well is indeed the best revenge, and I thank Nancy Friday for her subversive assistence.
There are sections and chapters. Here's a listing of the section headings:
Introduction: Twenty-Five Years in the Garden
1. "Tell Me What You Are Thinking About," He Said
2. "Why Fantasize When You Have Me?"
3. The House of Fantasy
4. "Where Did A Nice Girl Like You Get An Idea Like That?"
5. Guilt and Fantasy, Or, "Why The Fig Leaf?"
6. Fantasy Accepted
7. Quickies
Afterword: "In Defense of Nancy Friday" by Martin Shepard, M.D., psychiatrist
Along with fantasies submitted via taped interview and by mail, Friday includes her own analysis of the history of women's erotic nature, of the era at the time of initial publication and of the fantasies themselves. There's no bibliography and no footnotes; she mostly refers to any sources in the text itself. She's a good writer, whether or not I agree with her from chapter to chapter.
Written letters are kept in the style in which they were sent. Some of the women are amazingly articulate. Some of the letters are a painful read from a literary standpoint. But I think this enforces the idea that all of the submissions are genuine.
People who are interested in this book simply as another erotica compilation may well be disappointed. This is an academic study of women's fantasies, and not a "best of" compilation. If anything, it's a compilation of what Friday observed to be most representative of her times. And a quarter of a century after its initial publication, it changed my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I believed that I never fantasized., Jan. 26 2001
By 
R. Byrd "byrdie" (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For years, I used erotica books as surrogate fantasy material, believing that I was incapable of fantasizing during sex, that I had no fantasies of my own and had to use other people's. Reading "My Secret Garden" changed my perception of myself drastically. Those horrid, disturbing thoughts that floated into my brain, that I would shove down quickly as "sick," were indeed fantasies. The brave women who contributed their fantasies and feelings showed me that even if what I was drawn to was "sick," it certainly wasn't uncommon.
I am especially grateful to the women who commented on making the decision to share, or not share, their fantasies with their lovers. This was crucial for me. At a time when my thoughts were to be confessed on demand, I deprived my lover by depriving myself: those weren't fantasies, they were just random weird thoughts that made me uncomfortable. However, after getting out of a bad relationship and realizing that my mind was my own toy, I realized that I could explore those thoughts without fear of exposure to anyone but myself.
One I allowed myself my own secret garden, I found that I could share with myself and my current lovers in a way that previous ones had tried to coerce out of me. Living well is indeed the best revenge, and I thank Nancy Friday for her subversive assistence.
There are sections and chapters. Here's a listing of the section headings:
Introduction: Twenty-Five Years in the Garden
1. "Tell Me What You Are Thinking About," He Said
2. "Why Fantasize When You Have Me?"
3. The House of Fantasy
4. "Where Did A Nice Girl Like You Get An Idea Like That?"
5. Guilt and Fantasy, Or, "Why The Fig Leaf?"
6. Fantasy Accepted
7. Quickies
Afterword: "In Defense of Nancy Friday" by Martin Shepard, M.D., psychiatrist
Along with fantasies submitted via taped interview and by mail, Friday includes her own analysis of the history of women's erotic nature, the era at the time of initial publication and the fantasies themselves. There's no bibliography and no footnotes; she mostly refers to any sources in her text itself. She's a good writer, whether I agree with her at each chapter or not.
Written letters are kept in the style in which they were sent. Some of the women are amazingly articulate. Some of the letters are a painful read from a literary standpoint. But I think that enforces the idea that all of the submissions are genuine.
People who are interested in this book simply as another erotica compilation may well be disappointed. This is an academic study of women's fantasies, and not a "best of" compilation. If anything, it's a compilation of what Friday observed to be most representative of her times. And a quarter of a century after its initial publication, it changed my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Opened my eyes and my mind, July 11 2000
By A Customer
I've never been one for fantasies, but this book really helps open your eyes to a world in your mind that can make life so much more pleasurable. It helps you realize that fantasizing is a good thing. An excellent book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Secret Garden : Women's Sexual Fantasies, May 31 2000
By A Customer
I think this is a great book. I like the part where it told all the fantasies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Secret Garden
My Secret Garden by Nancy Friday (Paperback - Feb. 5 2008)
CDN$ 17.99 CDN$ 12.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews