countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Music Deals Store Tools sports Registry


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 25, 2011
For anyone who thinks that outdated discipline practices (for example, a heavy reliance on consequences, especially punishment) are the the way to go for helping challenging kids, you'll think differently after reading this book. It will change the way you view children's problems and also change the way you treat them. This shows you effective ways of how to help challenging kids with their lagging skills and unsolved problems. A must read for teachers!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2016
Hello there. I work as a Educational Assistant in a Elementary school with children with challenging behaviours. This book has opened my eyes in how to help these children to learn skills they may not have. Great book!
Cheers Alanna
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2010
What a fantastic book for educators. If you have children with behaviour issues, you NEED to read this book. It will give you some insight into why they behave the way they behave. It may not give all the answers, but it certainly gives you some wonderful guidelines.
I encourage every teacher to read it. Even parents can read it, although it is more geared for teachers. If you're a parent, read the "companion" book, The Explosive Child, by the same author.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2010
This is a great resource for all individuals who work in the school environment. Provides insite and knowledge into why traditional behavior modification programs don't always work and a new way of working with students that exhibit challanging behaviors.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2015
I cannot say enough good things about this book. As a child psychologist it is one of the few books I recommend widely, and I believe that it should be required reading for every professional who works in a school setting. This book provides very important and useful information for those working with children who are experiencing behavioral difficulties at school. It would also be useful to parents who need to advocate for their children at school. If you are looking for an effective way to work with these children, I highly recommend this book! Parents may also be interested in the book Ross Greene has written for parents of children with significant behavioural difficulties (The Explosive Child), as it addresses the same ideas within the context of the home environment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2015
This is a book recommended to me (a developmental pediatrician by teachers. I am so glad that there is a change of philosophy occurring among teaching staff and less reliance on medications as solutions for behavioral problems.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2014
This book should be a must read for all teachers. It is fast read but a great help to understand how to work with kids that act first and think after.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2015
Great book! Great suggestions for making kids think about their behaviour and become self advocates and become problem solvers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2015
I read this for one of my educational psych classes and found it super insightful into how to handle a situation with a student productively. I feel as though the approach suggested can be potentially difficult to implement due to the time required to properly use it but I can see how it could be useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2013
Purchased this book for staff members and they found it very informative and another useful tool for working with teenagers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse