Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Item description
I bought this used book, and according to their description, I was hesitate to buy a used product. But the book came out good, with no damage at all, except it looks old which is normal for me.
Published 17 months ago by Andreas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad, for Matt Reilly
Let's be honest, Matt Reilly's books are like Tom Clancy on speed. They're great fun, they flow smoothly, and if you want all that boring detail, read the map at the start of the chapter (actually, Matt Reilly has become far more detailed in his descriptions of rooms, and important things over the last few books, but he still does move at a fair pace). The Five Greatest...
Published on June 13 2011 by Charlie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good Item description, April 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Five Greatest Warriors: A Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
I bought this used book, and according to their description, I was hesitate to buy a used product. But the book came out good, with no damage at all, except it looks old which is normal for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars interesting ideas, July 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read all the books and it made me wonder about some things. It's so sad of all evil out there in the world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 5 greatest warriors, July 1 2010
By 
W. Bulmer (high river alberta canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
starts a tad slow [for reilly] some sameness in traps and pitfalls as in previous novels, but in the end he still has action scenes second to none.
enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad, for Matt Reilly, June 13 2011
Let's be honest, Matt Reilly's books are like Tom Clancy on speed. They're great fun, they flow smoothly, and if you want all that boring detail, read the map at the start of the chapter (actually, Matt Reilly has become far more detailed in his descriptions of rooms, and important things over the last few books, but he still does move at a fair pace). The Five Greatest Warriors is (as I'm sure you know), the 3rd book in the Jack West Jr. series, and I hear Mr. Reilly wants to go all the way down to: The One Something of Whatever. As the third book, it's just fine, but after following the same pattern for his characters, it starts to get a bit old.

This is not to say I don't like the book (or any of Mr. Reilly's other books, I own most of them), but it's purely a pleasure read. I find most of Mr. Reilly's books a nice, easy read, and that is why I keep buying them.

However, if you're looking for a book to keep your teenage boy interested in reading, you might be on to something. As long as you don't mind descriptions of death and gore, this series (and really any other book by Matt Reilly) should keep the wandering mind of a youth focused on the pages, wondering who will die next, and how (and it gets quite ingenious in some cases).

All in all, very enjoyable, and maybe even attention riveting. Any author who can get a professional book reviewer to say "His books grab your attention like seeing a loaded Glock pointed at your head" can't be all that bad.

But on a side note, if you're just starting to read Matt Reilly's books, start with Contest, and then Temple. Then move on to the Scarecrow books (Ice Station, Area 7, Scarecrow), and then hit the Jack West Jr. Series. I find that order to be the best.

I also cannot comment on Mr. Reilly's children's books, as I have not read any of them.

Ice Station
Area 7: Welcome to the Most Dangerous Place in the World
Scarecrow: A Shane Schofield Thriller
Contest
Temple
Seven Deadly Wonders
The Six Sacred Stones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the rest, Feb. 28 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Five Greatest Warriors: A Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
This was the third and I assume last in the series. The other two were The Seven Deadly Wonders and The Six Sacred Stones. This book almost seemed to be written like a movie , and would translate well into a movie. But, for reading, seemed rushed. I much preferred the first two and if you picked this one up not knowing it was the 3rd in a series, you would be totally lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Five Greatest Warriors: A Novel
The Five Greatest Warriors: A Novel by Matthew Reilly (Mass Market Paperback - Dec 28 2010)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews