Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible True-Life Story
This book brings to life the extraordinary Lily Casey, born in 1901. Witten as a novel, the story is told through Lily Casey`s voice, giving shape to her character. An independent and resilient woman, her amazing real-life adventures provide a view into the era that eclipse any history book. The novel begins with the inspiring episode of an 11 year-old Lily using her...
Published on Aug. 23 2012 by Teri B.

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Half broke horses
Definitely not as good as glass castle by the same author.. So far disappointed as I read glass castle and really enjoyed.
Published 13 months ago by jennifer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible True-Life Story, Aug. 23 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book brings to life the extraordinary Lily Casey, born in 1901. Witten as a novel, the story is told through Lily Casey`s voice, giving shape to her character. An independent and resilient woman, her amazing real-life adventures provide a view into the era that eclipse any history book. The novel begins with the inspiring episode of an 11 year-old Lily using her wits during a flash flood at her childhood home in West Texas, saving herself and her young brother and sister. She began a teaching career at the age of 15, riding her horse Patches on a lone journey 500 miles through New Mexico and Arizona to her first post in a one-room schoolhouse, where she taught during the day and slept on the floor at night. Continuing through to her later years, this is a rich story, amazing, sometimes heartbreaking, and altogether a wonderful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Half broke horses, July 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Definitely not as good as glass castle by the same author.. So far disappointed as I read glass castle and really enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reminded me of my mother., Jan. 13 2012
By 
Johnny Boy "Ivan" (Sudbury, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
I read this book in two evenings and was amazed by Lily.As I said it kind of reminded me of my mother,a woman who during hard times and the good times soldiered on during the Great Depression.Lost her father,a railway man,in 1918 during her early teen years and being the eldest of six she taught with the help of her mother,her siblings who all turned out well.They were so poor that if the mud pout were not biting they sometimes didn't eat.A tough lady who passed on her knowledge to my siblings and I.God bless her and Lily too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good!!!, May 4 2014
Really enjoyed this book as well as the others...hope that she will write more hooks in the future!!! Good job!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book!, Jan. 30 2014
By 
Jeannette Walls writes so beautifully- I feel that I am there with the characters. The description is so complete...perfection.
I look forward to reading another of her books. This was number two!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another good book by this author, Jan. 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Of course I loved this author's other book: The Glass Castle much, much more, but this was still a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Bio, Dec 16 2013
By 
Breakmel (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Really good book about life early in the century - she was one strong lady! I recommend to anyone interested in the early West.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Story, Nov. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Half Broke Horses (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this story. It was one of those books that was hard to leave. You will really enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Half Broke Horses., Nov. 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Loved the storyline. It held my attention and I enjoyed reading about the children's escapades. Great read. Another good book by Jeannettte Walls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book show the power of a woman soul., Oct. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Liked this book very much. The strength of the main character shows the true source of a woman strength is her will to survive in the face of adversity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Half Broke Horses: A True-Life Novel
Half Broke Horses: A True-Life Novel by Jeannette Walls (Hardcover - Oct. 6 2009)
CDN$ 34.00 CDN$ 21.42
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews