march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars50
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$14.61+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 17, 2014
Fantastic with great illustrations and pictures. A treasure for anyone who loves science.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon November 28, 2009
Richard Dawkins always has something new and interesting to say about evolution, and this book is no exception. I'm certainly glad I read it. Nevertheless . . . this is far from his best work. The book seems like it has no core, no basic message or goal. Given the title, I expected an organized, point by point case for evolution, something like a lawyer going through a closing argument. But Dawkins is no lover of lawyers, so perhaps he avoided that approach on purpose.

Here's the bottom line: No matter what you are looking for in a book about evolution, Dawkins has done better elsewhere. The Ancestor's Tale provides a magnificent look at how we actually evolved, without a formal discussion of what evolution is. If you want a more direct discussion of how evolution works and why it is true, The Blind Watchmaker and The Selfish Gene are perhaps the two best books ever written on the subject. Try one of those three instead. If you still want more, Dawkin's latest offering is not bad.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2015
A great book with good information and easy to digest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2015
Great book, great author and came ultra fast!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2016
Great book. A must for any science major
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2010
While I came into the book with some trepidation, having found some of the criticisms and attacks in 'The God Delusion' to be missing the point, I left 'The Greatest Show on Earth' excited, amazed, and with a renewed sense of wonder at one of my favourite 'theories'. Dawkins takes his trademark wit, thoroughness, and passion and returns to his area of expertise - that of biology. Evolution is not an empty theory that can be chosen like an opinion or religion; it is a natural, observable, provable, and disprovable system. In this book, Dawkins clearly outlines each of the streams of evidence that, rather than creating a deluge of talking points and meaningless data, provide beautiful explanations for observable facts that each independently point towards the same inevitable outcome - Darwin was right, and evolution is here to stay.

We may not yet (or ever) have answers to some of life's greatest questions, but it is good to know that some care about those that we do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2016
Good as advertised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2009
Dawkins makes no mistakes regarding his excellent description for the clear evidence of evolutionary processes. His 'flaw' is in treating 'History Deniers' like the ENEMY, as opposed to misguided people who need our help. Anyone starting this book as a creationist will leave feeling that Richard thinks they are total idiots. Creating this sort of antipathy makes people unwilling to listen to you, even if you're right. There is no point in being 'right' if the people you are trying to convince hate you, and won't listen to you. Being a person that already knows evolution is true, I enjoyed the various descriptions of evolutionary processes a great deal; in that department...WELL DONE. I will use some of the material to try and convince my Jehovah's Witness friend of the error of his ways. Sadly, I won't be able to lend him the book on CD, because Richard's caustic attitude will surely turn off the logic centre in his brain:-)
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2009
By definition evolution does not explain how life began. There is a separate study called Abiogenesis. I ordered this book but not received it yet. So, this is not a book review just a correction to Grumpy Old Man's review.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2015
Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse