Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well written guide to the grandeur and elegance of evolution
This book is not about God or faith or religion at all. Dawkins is not attacking elements of faith. This book is written for believers and secularists alike. It's a scientific look at the concepts and elements of evolution - all of which are well established and proven. He redraws Darwin's grand vision and offers it to us in a well written and readable form that...
Published on Sept. 26 2009 by David Annable

versus
20 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You better really like evolution!
Dawkins is a 1st class researcher and wrote a great scientific proof for evolution. For those that don't dispute evolutionary evidence I would suggest that reading this is like killing an ant with a bulldozer. This is not the larger concept thinking of his previous novel the God Delusion but rather a detailed factual look at Evolution. If you like reading about tooth...
Published on Oct. 9 2009 by Ron H


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough, Witty, and Devastating, Aug. 18 2010
While I came into the book with some trepidation, having found some of the criticisms and attacks in 'The God Delusion' to be missing the point, I left 'The Greatest Show on Earth' excited, amazed, and with a renewed sense of wonder at one of my favourite 'theories'. Dawkins takes his trademark wit, thoroughness, and passion and returns to his area of expertise - that of biology. Evolution is not an empty theory that can be chosen like an opinion or religion; it is a natural, observable, provable, and disprovable system. In this book, Dawkins clearly outlines each of the streams of evidence that, rather than creating a deluge of talking points and meaningless data, provide beautiful explanations for observable facts that each independently point towards the same inevitable outcome - Darwin was right, and evolution is here to stay.

We may not yet (or ever) have answers to some of life's greatest questions, but it is good to know that some care about those that we do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brave, but not the point, Dec 15 2009
By 
Robert Chadis "copleysq" (oslo, norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Those who believe in jehovah, allah, may as well believe in creationism, etc. Why get them to reject swallowing a fly while they swallow an elephant?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You better really like evolution!, Oct. 9 2009
By 
Ron H "Ron H" (Oakville, Ontario) - See all my reviews
Dawkins is a 1st class researcher and wrote a great scientific proof for evolution. For those that don't dispute evolutionary evidence I would suggest that reading this is like killing an ant with a bulldozer. This is not the larger concept thinking of his previous novel the God Delusion but rather a detailed factual look at Evolution. If you like reading about tooth decay in rat populations and comparing forest trees this is the book for you. However, I think most people will be skipping through large sections as we accept the basic concept. Absent writing a research paper this was too much detail for me. If his audience are the so-called history deniers, I hope this book offers some answers but I don't think it was a lack of evidence that was holding that group back before his novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More explanation than proof, Nov. 27 2009
By 
Rodge (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Dawkins has written a very readable and entertaining account of the evidence of evolution. He does include some compelling pieces of evidence, but he doesn't exactly provide detailed proof of all his assertions. So if you want something to give a creationist, this is probably not the most convincing work.

That being said, the book is fascinating. Dawkins has the tendency to be cruel at times, but in this book he lays the venom aside with some exceptions.

This book loses a star for not being quite what it was billed as - a proof of evolution. That's not to say it wasn't convincing in its way, but discerning readers on the fence will recognize that Dawkins uses more assertion and exposition than evidence in several places. If you read it for the "show", rather than the "evidence", it's well worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Science Discovers God's Secrets!, Aug. 27 2010
By 
Too Soon Old (Rothesay, New Brunswick Canada) - See all my reviews
In the United States, polls show that 44% of people believe God created human beings pretty much in their present form sometime in the last 10,000 years. 28% of the People in Britain believe that the earliest humans lived at the same time as the dinosaurs!

Richard Dawkins finds such survey information quite frustrating especially in view of all the discoveries made by evolutionary science over the past 150 years, and he has written this absorbing and fascinating book in another attempt to prove to people that life on earth really began at least 3.6 billion years ago and developed into the millions of present life forms through the process of evolution, a theory first described with scientific evidence to support it by Charles Darwin.

I must admit here that I believe in evolution, and have read several of Dawkins previous works, but unfortunately I do think it is unlikely that a nonbeliever that might be considering reading this book will be convinced by the exhaustive proofs that Dawkins presents. Dawkins is in effect preaching to the choir, but thankfully this in no way diminishes the wonders of his message.

In the book he gives accounts of how science can tell time from atomic clocks that cover billions of years and how the molecular clocks in our DNA can be used to trace the ancestry of living things. He shows how continental drift has contributed to species diversity and how the physical rules in the chemistry of our DNA and proteins combined with mutations and environmental factors have led to the many changes in life forms over thousands of years. Using hundreds of examples drawn from the natural world, he shows how all life forms are related but at the same time surprisingly different. I found his stories of insect evolution particularly fascinating. One example is of how most flying insects have four wings but evolution has caused the second pair of wings in flies to become reduced to a pair of `halters'. These swing about like high-speed Indian clubs which they resemble, functioning as tiny gyroscopes, and acting as stabilizers to keep flies property oriented in-flight. Our modern aviation technology just duplicates what nature produced millions of years ago!

Dawkins is a "true believer" in evolution and this unfortunately causes him to spend quite a bit of time attacking nonbelievers; infidels, such as the creationists of the religious right. In doing this Dawkins is on a quixotic quest, ignoring a fact of human nature that most people are "followers" and want to be told what to think and that the simple answers inherent in creationist beliefs are much easier to understand.

Late in the book Dawkins makes a statement that gets to the heart of why evolutionists like him have so much difficulty in getting their message across. "Natural selection is all futile." This lack of purpose in evolution makes it a hard sell; it means there is no hope! Hope is an essential requirement for human motivation. Science itself is driven by hope, the hope of discovery and succeeds spectacularly in explaining how, but can never explain why. Attempting to do this is "pointless", the word Dawkins himself uses for the futility we experience when we try to understand the evolutionary rationale of parasites. Unlike science, the message of the creationists does offer an explanation for why, and this is what helps to keep the flame of hope and purpose alive for so many people.

As Gustave Le Bonn (1841 - 1931) observes in his book The Psychology of Revolution, "intolerance arises from the indignation experienced by a mind which is convinced that it possesses the most dazzling verities against the man who denies these truths and surely are not acting in good faith." Hopefully Dawkins will soon come to realize the intolerance that has been created in him by his faith in science.

The stories Dawkins tells in this book about the findings of evolutionary science create a sense of wonder and dazzle us with the mystery of the natural world and I sincerely hope that Dawkins will continue to write books such as this one; but perhaps he should recognize that DNA has created in we humans, a life form in which not everyone can believe in his message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dawkins- a man with confliciting agendas, Dec 21 2009
By 
Ronald W. Maron "pilgrim" (Nova Scotia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If I were to grade this publication simply on the facts that it generated, it would rate a "5". From the early beginnings of Darwin and his implausible theory, through Miller's electrifying of the 'primodal soup', to archelogical findings of common ancestry, and through the recent artificial selection process of domesticated animals; all these subjects are well researched and presented in a logical manner. While I failed to find Dawkins literary diversions and 'humor' terribly interesting or in line with the topic at hand, I would, overall, rate the factual evidence presented as being quite commendable for both the experts and the novices of this field.

The author, however, seems to have a dual agenda. One, as stated, is to present the facts of evolution. The other, unfortunately, is to berate and ridicule all those who disagree with his conclusions about the evolutionary process. For no other reason than to place himself intellectually above the religionists, he inserts his ridicule at very inopportune and inappropriate times. It is only those who feel insecure with their own intellectual stance that are driven to such an adolescent end. Could it be that Dawkins himself is haunted by his own insecurities about evolution that he is driven to debasing others? It is not for me to say. My only wish is that if he continues with his research and writings is to stay with the topic instead of belittling those who disagree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not up to snuff, July 13 2010
By 
Russell J. Howe "Lawdog" (Aurora, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I used to be a very big fan of Dawkins. His earlier books on evolution were immaculate and I am a proud owner of all of them. But since "Delusion" he style has changed for the worst and his intellectual power and vigor seem to be on the wane. Where in the past his arguments were air tight and lean, and his prose spartan and effective, now his explanations are long, rambling and often veer off topic. His previous non-nonsense scientific focus has devolved into a self-indulgent writing style that is not as entertaining as he must think it is. When I pick up such a work I hope to learn science and reasoning, not read footnotes about what he would say on a crappy old men's show, or listen to him take cheap shots at lawyers and others. I am hopeful that Mr. Dawkins will get his ego and style in check and return to his impeccable educational style of the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK but be sure you are well rested before reading, June 16 2010
By 
R. Manzer (NB, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It has taken me a long time to get through this book. I just found it very dry and boring, in fact it has put me to sleep several times and I have had to re-read the passages again to figure out where I drifted off. Reading it felt like a chore. I am very interested in the subjects presented but was disappointed with this book's inability to engage me as a reader. Does it have to be so boring?
I also read The God Delusion and found that to be a much more engaging read and would recommend it over this book. Not Dawkins best work in my opinion. I gave it 3 stars, since it is just OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A long long slog through this book., Feb. 6 2010
This book read more like a graduate thesis than a novel. Very scholarly and technical but void of any real hooks to keep the person interested in reading to the end. Yes, there are some interesting arguments made in the book around the development of life on earth and for that reason alone I would say the book was worth my time to read. But just barely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 143 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I agree with the Grumpy Old Man, Sept. 29 2009
Richard Dawkins can not explain how life began, only that it did, and claims evolution happened after that. It's a lot of trouble to go to, all to disprove a God he doesn't believe anyway. Believing in evolution takes more faith than believing in a Creator.

Crystal Clear: The Inspiring True Survival Story of How a Professional, Olympic and World Champion Ice Hockey Player and Extreme Athlete Lost His Legs Due to Frostbite and Crystal Meth Only to Find a Better Life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc1b16eb4)

This product

The Greatest Show on Earth: The Evidence for Evolution
The Greatest Show on Earth: The Evidence for Evolution by Richard Dawkins (Paperback - Aug. 24 2010)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 14.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews