Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good read
This writer never dissappoints..action packed, easy read and probably more true to life than we would like to believe. Thanks
Published 6 months ago by music junky

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Rehash of earlier work
Slightly dissappointed with this book. It is a retro book about Rapp's earlier exploits not new material. Although I will still follow Vince Flynn's writing. Use your own descrition .
Published 11 months ago by Robin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Another good read, Oct. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This writer never dissappoints..action packed, easy read and probably more true to life than we would like to believe. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Rapp saga!, Aug. 2 2013
By 
Tom Mahdeen (Vancouver,BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Readers of the Vince Flynn "Rapp" series will not be disappointed. Wall-to-wall action from start to finish in the typical Mitch Rapp style!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Typical good Vince Flynn book., July 2 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Is as good as the rest of the series. Hasn't lost it as some writers do. A must read if you are a Rapp fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rehash of earlier work, May 18 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Slightly dissappointed with this book. It is a retro book about Rapp's earlier exploits not new material. Although I will still follow Vince Flynn's writing. Use your own descrition .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rapp Experience, Jan. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Pleasant reading but not up to his more recent works. Worth considering as part of the total Mitch Rapp experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still Captivating, Dec 10 2012
By 
Toni Osborne "The Way I See It" (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Book 12, in the Mitch Rapp series

This is yet another thriller that is very exciting and captivating in which the pages seem to turn themselves. This is the second novel “The American Assassin” was the first to revisit Mitch Rapp’s time in the CIA and his early years when he branched out on his own and became a drifter enforcing his own code of justice helping others who have been shorthanded by the legal system.

For months, Mitch has been avenging the death of his girlfriend in the Pan Am Lockerbie bombing. He has been steadily working his way through a list of people eliminating one by one those responsible for the slaughter of 270 innocent civilians. Mitch’s latest target is a Libyan diplomat currently staying in a posh hotel room in Paris. His plan is simple eliminate the man while he is asleep but all hell breaks loose when others kick open the door and catch him red handed and the hunter becomes the hunted fighting for his own survival.

French authorities are quickly put on high alert when they discover innocent people and a high ranking Oil Minister have been killed on their soil with the world watching.

With this unexpected nasty turn of events and fingers pointing at Mitch, he soon discovers there is a traitor behind the lines and the CIA quickly cuts any ties with him in an attempt to distance themselves from the botch mission. Out in the cold and not knowing who he can trust Mitch’s training goes into high gear. Alert and staying one step ahead becomes his only means of survival.

If you like thrillers that are fast moving with crisp writing and decent prose and plenty of intriguing characters, “Kill Shot” has it all. It is filled with captivating espionage and the best double dealing a spy world novel can deliver. Mr. Flynn has a knack of setting a scene and immersing his readers in the middle of the action while he expertly explains and dissects all the fast moving events around them.

I like this series, every one of the tales has given me many hours of reading pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An Awkward Outing for Author Vince Flynn, Feb. 25 2012
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 122,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kill Shot: An American Assassin Thriller (Hardcover)
"Hell from beneath is excited about you,
To meet you at your coming;
It stirs up the dead for you,
All the chief ones of the earth;
It has raised up from their thrones
All the kings of the nations." -- Isaiah 14:9 (NKJV)

Do you like "thrillers" to be continually exciting? I do. Publishers sometimes miss that point when they label the latest offering from a writer who often produces thrillers as a thriller . . . without thoroughly considering its contents. Before I read Kill Shot, I wouldn't have imagined that a novel about Mitch Rapp could be anything but thrilling. But I was wrong. There are a few thrilling moments in Kill Shot, but they are definitely the exception against the backdrop of a slow-paced novel with two creaky plot lines.

If you want action by Mitch Rapp, you won't get much here.

So what's it all about? Mitch is still in his early years at the CIA working on removing those who contributed to the Lockerbie bombing. He's sent to Paris to make a high-profile hit that should present few problems. But he runs into enough difficulties to test even his mettle. From there, the story draws back to consider what went wrong from the perspective of how the CIA will respond and from Mitch's perspective in wanting to find out who put him and his mission at risk. Most of the plot development relates about solving misunderstandings, miscommunications, and dealing with old scores. As such, from that point most of the book feels a bit more like George Smiley than Mitch Rapp.

Even if you are a dyed-in-the-wool Mitch Rapp fan, you could probably skip this novel and not miss much concerning your understanding of the character.

I sure hope the next novel in this series will be a lot better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa035c18)

This product

Kill Shot: An American Assassin Thriller
Kill Shot: An American Assassin Thriller by Vince Flynn (Hardcover - Feb. 7 2012)
CDN$ 29.99 CDN$ 18.89
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews