Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Addivtive
When I sat down to write a review of this book, I ran into a problem. First City of Bones was so good I bought and read this book before reviewing it. I am even a third through City of Glass before coming back to review this one. The writing in this series is just so good, I did not even want to stop and write a review but keep reading.

This book continues...
Published on Nov. 2 2010 by Steven R. McEvoy

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring
It is not as good as the first. I still have to finish it because I bought it. Not slow but not that interesting. Hopefully the other books are better.
Published 3 months ago by Irene Ham


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Addivtive, Nov. 2 2010
By 
Steven R. McEvoy "MCWPP" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: City of Ashes (Paperback)
When I sat down to write a review of this book, I ran into a problem. First City of Bones was so good I bought and read this book before reviewing it. I am even a third through City of Glass before coming back to review this one. The writing in this series is just so good, I did not even want to stop and write a review but keep reading.

This book continues almost immediately after City of Bones, The conflict and tension between Clary and Jace is at a new high. The triangle of Clary, Jace and Simon has new and interesting twists. Alex is accepting his sexuality and though many react negatively to his being homosexual, Clare does a good job of handing the subject matter. The battle between Valentine and the Clave takes a dark and deadly twist. Down Worlder children are being murdered and their blood drained. The Inquisitor has been sent to investigate Jace and his father Valentine. Valentine's quest for the Mortal instruments is intensifying. But questions about who is more unstable arise - The Inquisitor of Valentine?

I can only say this is a great book in an excellent series by and amazing author. I cannot recommend her writing enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Lost for Words, Sept. 17 2010
By 
This review is from: City of Ashes (Paperback)
The hunt continues for Valentine in this, the second installment in the Mortal Instruments series. Clary, Simon, Jace, Isabelle, and Alex are back along with a host of old and new characters.
This installment ups the ante and brings more surprising twists, as well as more questions. This book is definitely action-packed and secondary characters are now brought to the forefront. We also get a more detailed look at the Shadowhunter world.
Clary is still getting used to the idea that she is a Shadowhunter, but she has to learn quickly if she wants to stay alive. Surprise revelations from the last book make this one more interesting in regards to the dynamics of several relationships. It's intriguing to see what is going to happen, and what boundaries have been laid down. What happens when certain boundaries are crossed? Well, you'll just have to read the book to find out. Quips fly when Jace and Simon are together. Their banter is witty and amusing and keeps the story moving when the action is low.
All in all, City of Ashes is an absorbing read. It is full of exhilarating action, and just the right amount of slow scenes to have you wishing for more. This is definitely an excellent follow up to City of Bones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, Feb. 26 2008
This review is from: City of Ashes (Hardcover)
Last week, I received a copy of CITY OF ASHES, book two in THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS trilogy by Cassandra Clare, for review. I was so excited because I just loved the first book, CITY OF BONES. I wanted to read more about Clary, Jace, Simon, Luke, and the rest of the Shadowhunters and their adventures. This book, as with the first one, thoroughly entertained me. With this series, Cassandra Clare will easily make herself a household name.

The story opens with Valentine summoning a demon to be at his beck and call. This demon plays against a person's worst fears. You would need a protection spell if you wanted to ward off the advances of that kind of demon. How is that for an opener?! Once again, Valentine is up to no good - no surprise there. At the end of the first book, Valentine gained control of the Mortal Cup, which can only mean trouble for....everyone. What is he up to?

The last few weeks of this new seeing and slaying life has both exhausted and exhilarated Clary. Everything was so simple before that fateful night at the club. Clary was an ordinary teenager with an affinity toward drawing and manga. Now she can see werewolves, vampires, and fairies, and sketch her own runes. Plus, her mother is in a coma and Jace, one of the Shadowhunters who annoys and attracts her at the same time, turns out to be her brother. Bad news for Clary but good news for Simon, who used it to his advantage to get even closer to Clary. She has a tough choice to make about her future. Clary can leave the Shadowhunter world behind like her mother did, or she can become one of them and work toward finding out what Valentine's plan is now that he has the Mortal Cup.

Clary is not the only one to go through personal upheaval. Jace is devastated that he is not who he thought he was. Nothing good can come out of being Valentine's son, which he learns when his "mother" returns home full of accusations. Soon he is cast out from the one place he can call home. The Inquisitor, a real peach of a lady, holds Jace's fate in her hands. Believe me, there is no love lost between his adoptive parents, his real father, and her. Needless to say, the meeting between them doesn't go well and he is sentenced to prison in the Silent City. Prison turns out to not be the safest place for Jace, as dear daddy pays him a visit there trying to get him to switch teams.

Will Jace join Valentine or remain true to the Shadowhunter's virtues? And if he stays true to his Shadowhunter's roots, will he and his cohorts be able to stop Valentine before the rest of the mortal instruments are collected?

To find out how these and many other surprises happen, pick up your copy of CITY OF ASHES.

Reviewed by: coollibrarianchick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Très bon livre et accrocheur, Aug. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Je ne pouvais poser le livre, j'étais accroché attendant la suite. En lisant une infime partie du troisième, je me rends compte que cet auteur a beaucoup d'imagination et nous plonge facilement dans ce monde fascinant des vampires, chaseuts d'ombre, fées et lyvan... bonne lecture pour tous les ages meme s'il est classé pour ados...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i love the serious, July 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: City of Ashes (Paperback)
i love the serious, read the first book and had to order the second. if youre thinking its a teen wolf/vampire book, its actually much better. the movie did not do the book justice so make sure you dont judge whether to read it or not from the movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars City of Ashes, May 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: City of Ashes (Hardcover)
Also awesome .... when's the movie coming out????? There is so much going on here .... the Jace and Clary getting close but not too close ..... way to keep people hanging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, May 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It is not as good as the first. I still have to finish it because I bought it. Not slow but not that interesting. Hopefully the other books are better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent thank you, Feb. 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: City of Ashes (Paperback)
Book was for my daughter....she loves it.cant put it down.cant wait for the rest of these books to arrive.thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome book, awesome author, awseome collection, Oct. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
love this collection, can't wait for the new book out in march...this book is great for all ages..the author really knows how to put a story line together..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars read in a day, Aug. 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Was turned into it because of the first movie, and was pleasantly surprised about the writing stylings, and the overall flow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

City of Ashes
City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare (Hardcover - March 25 2008)
CDN$ 24.99 CDN$ 15.67
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews