Customer Reviews


910 Reviews
5 star:
 (667)
4 star:
 (128)
3 star:
 (45)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (51)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST read
Enter the world of a drug addict, cold, horrifying, and lurid. Enter the world of a seemingly average 15 year-old girl who stumbles upon drugs unknowingly one day at a friend's party and staggers into a world far more bloodcurdling than she ever expected. Enter the world of one frightened little girl playing a game far too complex for her feeble little mind. The anonymity...
Published on June 15 2004

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it was ok
this is the diary of an anonymous girl and her struggle with drugs and addiction. as chance would have it i read it sometime after i watched that movie thirteen, which is supposedly also true, and that was kind of similar so i guess the book had less of an impact on me than it would have if i'd read it without any preparation. it was still a good read though. as you would...
Published on June 2 2008 by elfdart


‹ Previous | 1 291 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it was ok, June 2 2008
By 
elfdart - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
this is the diary of an anonymous girl and her struggle with drugs and addiction. as chance would have it i read it sometime after i watched that movie thirteen, which is supposedly also true, and that was kind of similar so i guess the book had less of an impact on me than it would have if i'd read it without any preparation. it was still a good read though. as you would expect from reading a diary, it did a a good job making the story realistic, though i suppose knowing this is based on an actual diary helped with that, though how much of this diary is fact is up for debate...

problems i had with this book is how little it went into the drug issue. drugs in general is a very complicated topic and i thought that this book simplified drug addiction ridiculously. since this book is aimed for teen audiences and as such the issue should be fleshed out a bit more... this book just seemed to perpetuate the boogeyman. don't get me wrong, drugs can be scary things and can really mess up someone's life, but at the same time nothing is so childishly black and white.

also, the heroine of this book had little to no backbone. she's dangerously ignorant and too eager to please... so basically she brought this upon herself. at some point when your life is flushing itself down the drain you would realize this, and at points in the novel you can tell she does, she just can't stop 'the outside world' from destroying her. i actually find it kind of interesting that as a society we celebrate novels like this, of complete destruction of the self. i enjoy this kind of story very much when the destruction is intentional, but in this instance the girl just float along on the current she was caught up in. this kind of bothers me, but at the same time... meh. because for myself it's just slightly annoying, but for some young girl who has been sheltered, this would be seriously disturbing... and it would be harder, i believe, for someone at that age to pick up on the fact that the girl didn't exercise her will... that drugs is a choice like everything else.

when i look at factors like these, you have to begin to wonder at the motivation of the authors, yes plural. this book was based on a real diary... based on, meaning some or even most of it is fiction. and in a book store you will find this in the fiction section. this book, and books like this, are mean to instil fear that comes from the ignorance that surrounds drugs. perpetuates the stereotype. as i say, i do not condone drug abuse, but neither to i approve of misinformation for the purpose of perpetuating fear and ignorance.

it was a decent fiction piece though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sigh..., Aug. 26 2014
This review is from: Go Ask Alice (Paperback)
I got this book, hoping it would be close to the Crank series by Ellen Hopkins, but was thoroughly disappointed. Whether real or not, the writing is horrible, I couldn't connect with the protagonist at all. I found it had less to do with addiction as a whole and more to do with the immaturity of young adults. It was more like reading Anne Frank on LSD. Can't believe the good reviews I have read. Moving on to more enlightening material!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST read, June 15 2004
By A Customer
Enter the world of a drug addict, cold, horrifying, and lurid. Enter the world of a seemingly average 15 year-old girl who stumbles upon drugs unknowingly one day at a friend's party and staggers into a world far more bloodcurdling than she ever expected. Enter the world of one frightened little girl playing a game far too complex for her feeble little mind. The anonymity of the book suggests that this girl could be anywhere, Japan, Mars, England, Tucson, and even in your neighborhood. Enter the world of Go Ask Alice.
Starting off slowly, and also rather boringly, the book begins with a younger, and nonetheless more naive Alice, an average teenager, writing about the ups and downs of everyday life, boys, and dieting, and mainly, her move out of her comfortable life in her home town to somewhere new. But this information, however superfluous it seems, is imperative to understanding the drastic changes that Alice undergoes later in the book- the change from the giddy little girl to the drained, weary young woman she becomes.
After somewhat of a struggle to meet new people and find friends in her new town, Alice spends a few weeks with her grandmother back in her old town. There she meets "Jill", and the two become fast friends, which is odd because they were never friends earlier. Alice is enthralled with Jill and her friends; she can't get enough of them. She eagerly accepts an invite to one of Jill's parties one fateful Friday night, and it is there, with a can of Coke and a little bit of a hallucinogenic called LSD, there where Alice's plunge begins.
From here, the novel is face-paced and vivacious, corresponding well with Alice's life at the moment. Upon Alice's return home, she experiments with more drugs, denying any trace of an addiction and delves herself into even more trouble, running away from home in the middle of the night, engaging in "swinger" parties, dropping out of school, and more.
At this point, the novel is very exciting, albeit somewhat hard to follow at times. But any experienced reader will have no trouble with this-Readers are fascinated with the novel just as much as Alice is fascinated with this new world she is exploring.
The end of the book is terrifying but poignant and heartbreaking, and will most certainly bring tears to the reader's eyes. As a young teenager myself, I can say with all of my heart that I will never become a drug user, especially after reading this compelling novel. It is unequivocally saddening to see how many teens fall under traps nearly identical to the one Alice falls under in the book. The book itself is not at a difficult level, and personally, I feel that it is a must that everyone, ages 12 and older, should read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kathleen's radical Review, June 15 2004
By A Customer
I read the fabulous book, Go Ask Alice. It is about a girl who started off as a good kid in a nice little town until she went off to a party and tried drugs. She ends up running away from home and becoming addicted. Alice turns from a great kid in a nice town to a drug addict in the slums. You follow Alice through her diary and through her life, parties, the mental institution, and even on the streets. You can't help but feel bad and mad at her at the same time. You just don't know.
Go Ask Alice is a fabulous story the really hits home for most teenagers who are pressured to do drugs. The fact that it's a true story really shows other readers and me how real it is and the consequences of doing drugs. Go Ask Alice is a wonderful story and i recomend it to any teenager who is looking for a storyto grab you in and never let you out until the final twist and the magnificant ending.
This book should be read by teenagers because it shows you hat could happen to you. This is a true story and should be taken seriously. Please read this! It is so good and you will really be missing out on something great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Go ask Alice, May 31 2004
This book is about a unnamed girl, who they call Alice.She keeps a diary and it talks about her life, everything that she had experience during her adolescence. She talks about her experiments with boys, drugs, and losing her virginity. Alice is a troubled girl who deals with her weight gain, her parents, and school. Alice' dad had taken a teaching job at another college, and Alice's family had to move to a new town. She made friends with her neighbor Beth, and during summer she went to a summer camp. Alice was forced to move into her Grandparents house. She didn't like living there at first because she didn't have any friends, but one day she had saw an old friend, Jill who had invited her to a party. It was then that Alice had her first drug experience, and from then on she kept doing them. Alice lost her virginity to a boy named Roger, she thought she had gotten pregnant from it. She later meets a girl name Chris, who she runs away with and starts her new life. They lived in an apartment and had jobs, but Alice missed her family and she went back home. Alice falls in love with a boy names Joel, and she opens up to him.
The only thing that I could find wrong the book was the ending. The ending of the book leaves you hanging. It talks about how her life has changed for the better. It seems like the ending is going to lead up to her death or some big thing, but instead it was a slow change to her deciding not to write in it any more. The entire book was amazing and I couldn't wait to get to the end, but when I did it was a little disappointing.
One good thing about the book was how interesting it was. The way they tell her story really makes you feel for her. When she takes the drugs I found myself saying what are you thinking. The book seemed real and I could relate to it well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Go Ask Alice, May 28 2004
By 
Danielle Chebabi (south pasadena, CA USA) - See all my reviews
A taste of reality is what you'll get once yove read Go Ask Alice the intriguing real dieary of the not so ordinary life of Alice. This book will put you in the shoes of someone who has suffered, learned, and gotten throught difficulties that changed her life and might just as well change your outlook on drugs. Reading of how one teenage girls life gets flipped upside down just because a classmate slips her some LSD through a drink at a not so innocent party,will leave some readers in shock of what happens to Alice, while others can relate to what Alice goes through. Alice deals with so many ups and downs in her life youll never know what the outcome of her next decision will be. Just reading about the crazy life of this girl makes you feel as if you've been through it yourself. This captivating diary makes you wake up to reality and realize what can happen to you when you take just the slightest amount of drugs. Turning an ordinary innocent girl into a drug addict. And just when you think Alice has gotten over her addiction to drugs her life takes another big turn making her end up in positions no one would ever want to experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Novel, May 19 2004
By 
Clare (Bak Middle School of the Arts, West Palm Beach, Florida) - See all my reviews
Despite some very intense scenes that had me cringing, Go Ask Alice was a fabulous non-fiction book. It is the story of a teenage girl that falls into the drug crowd at school at the delicate age of 15, and her life starts descending from there.
'Anonymous', the supposed author of the diary, documented her life very specifically and detailed. Alice, the teenager, authored a great diary. It all starts when one day she "accidentally" consumes some LSD in the Coca-Cola at a party she attended. It all goes down from there. She runs away, tries to be adult, and then falls back to the comfort of her own home. She experiences intense highs and horrible lows, one minute going to "I love life" attitude, to the next, wanting to die. Go Ask Alice made, I think, the biggest impact on me than any book has ever made. It is an excruciating story on what drugs really do to you. I wasn't planning on experimenting with drugs before I read this book, but the book definitely sealed the deal. It was horrible reading about some child, who basically ruined her life because she turned it over to drugs. She had the choice of quitting, and she did; well, she at least tried. Once you fall into the crowd, there is no coming out. After Alice came back, she tried to stay clean, but the 'druggies' would not leave her alone. Wherever she turned they threatened to give acid to her sister in the form of candy, or plant marijuana in her dads car. There is no doubt that I would recommend this book to everybody else. In my opinion, the book should be required reading in eighth or ninth grade, because that is when it matters whom you start to hang out with and whom you start to play around with. I have read other books about teens falling into drug abuse, and messing up their life, but this one was the most tragic. In various books, the story is intense and goes into great detail about the 'drug life', but everyone at the closing ends up happy, drug-free and alive. This didn't; a horrible thing happened to Alice three weeks after she stopped writing in her diary. This was real, despite people thinking that somebody wrote the book, and not thinking that it was an actual diary. If somebody did not go through this, then they must have an intensely vivid imagination, because this was real. Go Ask Alice had me feeling like I was actually there, watching her go through the hell she was going through, watching her go through the struggle and pain in her low ends, yet also the laughter and joy in her high ends. Once you start reading you don't want to stop. I like to read, don't get me wrong, but some books that are recommended, or are required to read, are just plain boring. Go Ask Alice was recommended to me by my eighth grade language arts teacher, and many friends, and I am glad that it was. It is almost addicting, you want the pages to go faster and you are able to read them quicker. For example, one scene that had me feeling for her, and pulled me into the book, was when she innocently went to go baby-sit, but the next morning ended up in a mental hospital. Somebody had planted acid on chocolate-covered peanuts that she had eaten, and they made her go crazy. This was the most intense scene in the book, and one that made me realize just how bad it is to start drugs, and just how horrible it is to have your life cut short because of them. Despite some very intense scenes that had me cringing, Go Ask Alice was a fabulous non-fiction book. It is the story of a teenage girl that falls into the drug crowd at school at the delicate age of 15, and her life starts descending from there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Go Ask Alice- Delve into her World, May 17 2004
By 
"lkm89" (Bak Middle School of the Arts) - See all my reviews
Enter the world of a drug addict, cold, horrifying, and lurid. Enter the world of a seemingly average 15 year-old girl who stumbles upon drugs unknowingly one day at a friend's party and staggers into a world far more bloodcurdling than she ever expected. Enter the world of one frightened little girl playing a game far too complex for her feeble little mind. The anonymity of the book suggests that this girl could be anywhere, Japan, Mars, England, Tucson, and even in your neighborhood. Enter the world of Go Ask Alice.
Starting off slowly, and also rather boringly, the book begins with a younger, and nonetheless more naive Alice, an average teenager, writing about the ups and downs of everyday life, boys, and dieting, and mainly, her move out of her comfortable life in her home town to somewhere new. But this information, however superfluous it seems, is imperative to understanding the drastic changes that Alice undergoes later in the book- the change from the giddy little girl to the drained, weary young woman she becomes.
After somewhat of a struggle to meet new people and find friends in her new town, Alice spends a few weeks with her grandmother back in her old town. There she meets "Jill", and the two become fast friends, which is odd because they were never friends earlier. Alice is enthralled with Jill and her friends; she can't get enough of them. She eagerly accepts an invite to one of Jill's parties one fateful Friday night, and it is there, with a can of Coke and a little bit of a hallucinogenic called LSD, there where Alice's plunge begins.
From here, the novel is face-paced and vivacious, corresponding well with Alice's life at the moment. Upon Alice's return home, she experiments with more drugs, denying any trace of an addiction and delves herself into even more trouble, running away from home in the middle of the night, engaging in "swinger" parties, dropping out of school, and more.
At this point, the novel is very exciting, albeit somewhat hard to follow at times. But any experienced reader will have no trouble with this-Readers are fascinated with the novel just as much as Alice is fascinated with this new world she is exploring.
The end of the book is terrifying but poignant and heartbreaking, and will most certainly bring tears to the reader's eyes. As a young teenager myself, I can say with all of my heart that I will never become a drug user, especially after reading this compelling novel. It is unequivocally saddening to see how many teens fall under traps nearly identical to the one Alice falls under in the book. The book itself is not at a difficult level, and personally, I feel that it is a must that everyone, ages 12 and older, should read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Go Ask Alice- Delve into her World, May 17 2004
By 
"lkm89" (Bak Middle School of the Arts) - See all my reviews
Enter the world of a drug addict, cold, horrifying, and lurid. Enter the world of a seemingly average 15 year-old girl who stumbles upon drugs unknowingly one day at a friend's party and staggers into a world far more bloodcurdling than she ever expected. Enter the world of one frightened little girl playing a game far too complex for her feeble little mind. The anonymity of the book suggests that this girl could be anywhere, Japan, Mars, England, Tucson, and even in your neighborhood. Enter the world of Go Ask Alice.
Starting off slowly, and also rather boringly, the book begins with a younger, and nonetheless more naive Alice, an average teenager, writing about the ups and downs of everyday life, boys, and dieting, and mainly, her move out of her comfortable life in her home town to somewhere new. But this information, however superfluous it seems, is imperative to understanding the drastic changes that Alice undergoes later in the book- the change from the giddy little girl to the drained, weary young woman she becomes.
After somewhat of a struggle to meet new people and find friends in her new town, Alice spends a few weeks with her grandmother back in her old town. There she meets "Jill", and the two become fast friends, which is odd because they were never friends earlier. Alice is enthralled with Jill and her friends; she can't get enough of them. She eagerly accepts an invite to one of Jill's parties one fateful Friday night, and it is there, with a can of Coke and a little bit of a hallucinogenic called LSD, there where Alice's plunge begins.
From here, the novel is face-paced and vivacious, corresponding well with Alice's life at the moment. Upon Alice's return home, she experiments with more drugs, denying any trace of an addiction and delves herself into even more trouble, running away from home in the middle of the night, engaging in "swinger" parties, dropping out of school, and more.
At this point, the novel is very exciting, albeit somewhat hard to follow at times. But any experienced reader will have no trouble with this-Readers are fascinated with the novel just as much as Alice is fascinated with this new world she is exploring.
The end of the book is terrifying but poignant and heartbreaking, and will most certainly bring tears to the reader's eyes. As a young teenager myself, I can say with all of my heart that I will never become a drug user, especially after reading this compelling novel. It is unequivocally saddening to see how many teens fall under traps nearly identical to the one Alice falls under in the book. The book itself is not at a difficult level, and personally, I feel that it is a must that everyone, ages 12 and older, should read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Go Ask Alice, May 17 2004
By 
Hannah Ringel (Bak Middle School of the Arts, West Palm Beach, FL USA) - See all my reviews
The diary of an anonymous young girl and her drug addiction is like no other. The novel, Go Ask Alice, brings you through the life of a troubled teen and her screwed up social life as she struggles to overcome her drug problem. The one thing that keeps her alive is the thing she treasures most in the world, and that would be her diary. This is the journal that the entire world now has access to. She takes it everywhere with her including her school, a mental institution, California, and a variety of other places. The style used by her in which she talks about her troubles and woes helps you to better understand her, almost as if you knew her, and were a close confidant of hers.
Many see this book as a way to encourage drug use. But I feel it can be used to teach the consequences of your actions. Many lessons can also be learned from this novel, such as; trust but verify. She was first introduced to drugs when she went to a friend's party in which cocaine was present. If only she would have "verified" before attending, her problem would have never occurred, and the course of this novel would have been entirely altered. One of the greatest things about this novel was your attachment to the main character. You felt for this girl as she tried and tried to overcome her addiction. You wanted her to finally break free from the things that kept her back such as speed, cocaine, and other harmful drugs that eventually led her to her death.
I would definitely recommend this book to others, yet only to a certain audience. People of twelve and younger, might have trouble comprehending this novel. It makes many references to things people learn about much later in life. Those who plan on reading Go Ask Alice will certainly get something back from this book. No longer do you look at drugs and those addicted to them the same way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 291 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Go Ask Alice
Go Ask Alice by Anonymous (Paperback - Jan. 1 2006)
CDN$ 12.99 CDN$ 11.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews