Customer Reviews


637 Reviews
5 star:
 (374)
4 star:
 (168)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hatchet
The book Hatchet is about a thirteen year old boy named Brian Robeson. Brian is on his way to Canada to visit his father. During the flight up to Canada Brian's pilot has a heart attack. Brian is the only other person on the plane and has to figure out a way to land the plane. Brian crashes the plane in the Canadian woods and learnes how to survive in the wilderness by...
Published on April 7 2003 by Drew

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Survival and secrets
Hatchet is a wonderful story of survival by a thirteen year old. Basically, Brian, whose parents have just recently divorced, is going to spend his summers with his dad when the single-engine plane he is in, crashes in the Canadian woods. Armed with only a hatchet and his wits, Brian learns to survive. Like any child in his situation, Brian is very upset about the...
Published on Nov. 9 2003


‹ Previous | 1 264 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Survival and secrets, Nov. 9 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Hatchet (Paperback)
Hatchet is a wonderful story of survival by a thirteen year old. Basically, Brian, whose parents have just recently divorced, is going to spend his summers with his dad when the single-engine plane he is in, crashes in the Canadian woods. Armed with only a hatchet and his wits, Brian learns to survive. Like any child in his situation, Brian is very upset about the break-up of his family unit. The story is really one about survival so why bring up the divorce? My feeling is that it shows that you can have two types of problems -- those that you can control/fix like the survival issue, and those that you can do nothing about like the divorce. So, why did I give it a two-star? Well, this is a children's book so I saw no reason for a detailed description of a kissing scene in the mother's extramarital affair. Even the affair was irrelevant. In fact, it is not that Brian really deals with either The SECRET or the affair by the end of the book. If Paulsen's intention with the divorce was to just show kids that you cannot always do some thing about all the bad things that happen to you but that should not mean you should drown in self-pity, then including the divorce was okay. However, he should just have left it at that and would probably have received four stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hatchet, April 7 2003
By 
Drew (Tulsa, OK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hatchet (Paperback)
The book Hatchet is about a thirteen year old boy named Brian Robeson. Brian is on his way to Canada to visit his father. During the flight up to Canada Brian's pilot has a heart attack. Brian is the only other person on the plane and has to figure out a way to land the plane. Brian crashes the plane in the Canadian woods and learnes how to survive in the wilderness by himself.
I think that this was a good book. I liked that he was all alone and figured out everything by himself and was able to stay alive. I don't think that the author did anything wrong with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read, April 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hatchet (Mass Market Paperback)
I read this in school and I've thought of it numerous times throughout the years. I'm glad I finally decided to buy it and read it again. It's a good read and an awesome story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars My Review, Feb. 28 2004
By 
This review is from: Hatchet (Paperback)
If you like books about adventures and fights to stay alive Hatchet is a good book for you. Brian Rodeson is a Thirteen-year-old kid whose parents were divorced. He was going to the Canadian oil fields to see his father. His father was a mechanical engineer and invented a new oil-drilling bit. Brian was over the Canadian wildness and the pilot is having a heart attack and Brian started to panic because he was the only other person in the plane, he called for help many times. After awhile the plane ran out of gas and he had to crash land in a lake. After the crash he was left with the clothes on he had on and a hatchet on his belt. He thought he was going to die but he started to eat some berries he found. He built a shelter under a rock cliff. He made a wall out of wood and put it up against the rocks. Then he tried making a spear and a bow to catch fish. He finally started to hunt birds and rabbits.

I think people that would like this book are people that like adventure and action.
I like how Gary Paulsen writes because makes you feel like your actually there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Hatchet, March 21 2002
This review is from: Hatchet (Paperback)
The book called Hatchet is about a boy named Brian who is going on a single engine plane when suddenly the plane crashes because the pilot died of a heart attack. Now Brian has to survive in the wilderness until someone finds him. What made me read this book was a recommendation by a friend...I liked this story because it was about a boy who was trying to survive out in the wilderness and was learning really good things. When he first stayed out in the wilderness, it was hard for Brian to survive, but after a few weeks and months, he started to understand things out there. Like how to survive, how to get food, shelter, and understand animals.
My favorite part of the story was that when Brian was going to get some berries he found near by a tree, a wolf saw him and attacked. The next day Brian was all wounded. But when he saw the wolf again, the wolf and Brian understood each other by looking staight in the eye of the both of them, and the wolf didn't do anything to Brian this time. That is how Brian understood animals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hatchet by Gary Paulsen, Nov. 6 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hatchet (Paperback)
The Hatchet by Gary Paulsen is a survival story about a 13-year-old boy named Brian Robeson who was sent to see his father because of the secret that caused his parents' divorce. As he headed for his father, who lived in the Canadian wilderness, the pilot of the single engined plane had a heart attack. Brian vaguely knew how to fly the plane and landed it in an l-shaped lake. He survives the crash and is able to swim to shore. He then, builds himself a shelter and makes a fishing spear. To survive he used his hatchet and birch bark to make fire. To keep from starving, he ate gut berries, berries that made him sick, raspberries, and he eventually learned how to fish and hunt with spears. While fishing, he had an encounter with a moose that left him with broken ribs. To make matters worse, a tornado destroys his shelter and scatters his weapons. Right after the tornado, he realizes that the plane's tail end was sticking out of the water and the survival pack was still inside. He retrieved the survival pack and enjoyed the food, weapons and sleeping bag. There was also an emergency transmitter that, he believed, was broken. Little did he know, a nearby plane received the transmission and he was rescued. During the story, Brian learned many life lessons and had to learn things he would need to survive. He also developed a new outlook on life and an appreciation for what he had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing story of survival, Sept. 8 2006
This review is from: Hatchet (Paperback)
This is easily Gary Paulsen's greatest novel. This is a wonderfully interesting tale of survival and is the best in the series about Brian. This is a wonderful book to read and reread and it never grows dull. Everyone would enjoy reading this book, especially those who enjoy Gary Paulsen or other survival stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hatchet: 20th Anniversary Edition, Oct. 28 2011
This review is from: Hatchet (Paperback)
When my son was in grade 8 this was the first book he read from beginning to end without me
pushing him, and I remember him sharing the events in the book with great enthusiasm, so much so I
have remembered this title 14 years later. Feeling nostalgic he was interested in searching for it.
I found Hatchet, along with a few others in the series and bought them for him to read to his
young sons, well he picked it up and couldn't put it down. He enjoyed it as much now as he did 14
years ago. Even though this is considered a young readers book (on the reading list in the highschools)
it obviously still captures the young adults (almost 30 y.o.) interests as well.
It sounds like it is full of adventure that keeps all ages captivated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Author, April 9 2010
This review is from: Hatchet (Paperback)
My son love any book written by this author and if he keeps writing books I am going to go broke! Highly recommend them for older children and teens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Survival Story, July 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Hatchet (Paperback)
Recommendation
I would recommend this book to anyone 11 years old and up because it presents a picture of how a young man survives the wilderness. Another reason would be that it was a very interesting story about survival. For example, any mistake that Brian makes could cause disaster. "Small mistakes could turn into disasters, funny little mistakes could snowball so that while you were still smiling at the humor you could find yourself looking at death". Another example is when Brian tries to start a fire, but does not know what to use. "Clearly there had to be something for the sparks to ignite, some kind of tinder or kindling-but what?" In conclusion, if you are interested in survival and adventure, then read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 264 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad94d744)

This product

Hatchet
Hatchet by Gary Paulsen (Paperback - Dec 26 2006)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews