Customer Reviews


260 Reviews
5 star:
 (206)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A fun read
This series is so much fun to read by an author who obviously has a great sense of humour. Of course the character, Grandma is delightful. But, it also keeps you interested due to the suspense created.
Published 1 month ago by Gigi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A fun read
I would recommend the whole series of Stephanie Plum books. They aren't literary masterpieces, but they are fun to read.
Published on July 23 2001 by A reader


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A fun read, June 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This series is so much fun to read by an author who obviously has a great sense of humour. Of course the character, Grandma is delightful. But, it also keeps you interested due to the suspense created.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars They're all so good, June 9 2006
By 
This review is from: High Five (Mass Market Paperback)
This series is great, if you like comedy-mystery - this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars spectacular read!!, July 1 2004
By 
Courtney Maimon "mystery mommy" (brooklyn, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: High Five (Mass Market Paperback)
I love crime drama books, And this one takes the cake. At times this book is so funny that you can't even catch your breath. Stefanie Plum is a fantastic charachter, she is so real you can practically see her walk down your street. This book is well written, well thought out and will keep you guessing to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Solid Installment in the Series, May 23 2004
This review is from: High Five (Hardcover)
Evanovich never disappoints...this chapter in the Stephanie Plum series as just as consistently funny and engaging as the ones before it. With an intensely likable, witty, and imperfect heroine, these books never seem to lose their sparkle and appeal as Stephanie hops from one bizarre adventure to the next, encountering an endlessly entertaining entourage of oddball characters that will have you in stitches. While by no means does Ms. Plum have an ordinary life, she is, in many ways, an ordinary woman in her shortcomings - intensely real, but admirable. She's the kind of person you root for and would like to be friends with, and that is perhaps the true shining glory of these books. In short, another great novel from Evanovich in a can't-miss series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best one yet, April 23 2004
By 
K (Costa Mesa, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: High Five (Mass Market Paperback)
I just started reading the Stephanie Plum series last week. Needless to say, I just finished book 5 and am going to buy 6 today.
In High Five, Janet Evanovich explores Stephanie's relationship with Ranger, with Joe, with Lula, and with her family. Same as she does in all her other books. Evanovich mixes humor with New Jersey culture (which can also be mistaken as humor) which livens up the (mostly) boring mystery genre.
When I read One for the Money, I wasn't sure if I really liked the book or not and decided to give the author another shot by reading Two for the Dough.
Each book has a specific plot formula where Stephanie has to to find a missing person, which proves to be more difficult at first assumed. The search for the Failure To Appear (in this case, her Uncle Fred) then leads Stephanie to clues that lead her into deeper trouble and crosses her path with the secret investigation of her on-again, off-again boyfriend, Morelli.
The formulaic plots cause confusion at times with who a character is and which book he or she is from, which might very well be because I read them so close together. Overall, though, the author's consistancy works. I look forward to seeing which (or how many) car Stephanie is going to destroy and how it happens. I like meeting the not-so-normal people that latch on to her through every story (in this one, it is a "little person"). I like Grandma Mazur's outrageous behavior. I like Lula's expressionistic outfits.
So, what makes this one the best so far? Evanovich seems to be getting better with each book, feeling more comfortable and free with the characters, as if she is getting to know them better. This comes across the pages to the reader and leaves you with a feeling of comfort, as if you were with old friends.
I can't wait to read Hot Six to watch Evanovich's writing develop even further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Winner, April 22 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: High Five (Mass Market Paperback)
I'm happy to say that Ms. Evanivich never fails to give us another Stephanie Plum book we can truly love to read and hate to see it end.!! My daughter is 16 years old and happened to pick up one of the Stephanie Plum books and absolutely love it!! Needless to say we'll be purchasing them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Comeback, April 19 2004
By 
This review is from: High Five (Hardcover)
From a high of the first Stephanie mystery, the stories slowly became predictable and interchangeable with #3 the low point. But she is now back with perhaps the finest in the series and it does not even involve bounty hunting.
No, we are caught up in a search for a dottering uncle who has disappeared under increasingly mysterious circumstances. There is, of course, guest appearances by Grandma, the dinners with family, Lula and more ominously, a decided tilt toward the mysterious Ranger in matters not only business but also personal. Of course, Morelli is still around to excite and tease poor Stephanice.
Each novel brings one or two unique characters. FOUR brought the unforgettable transvestite and this one presents a midget (or "small person" as he prefers). He was an irrascible fugitive who somehow ended up staying with Stephanie. The evil Rodriguez is also back to threaten our heroine. The ending is a tour de force as the reader is left wondering who her romantic interest is for the night. (She draws a name out of a bowl!!)
Great effort, quick read - rush out and get your copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stephanie has man problems, March 31 2004
By 
Joseph Haschka (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: High Five (Mass Market Paperback)
In HIGH FIVE, the fifth in the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich, Stephanie hits a new high in dysfunctionality when it comes to men.
Plum is a klutzy bond enforcement agent, i.e. bounty hunter, working for bail bondsman and sleazy cousin, Vinnie, in Trenton, NJ. In this book, Stephanie's official assignment takes back seat to a family request to find Uncle Fred, who's disappeared. But what's with the photos Uncle Mabel found in Fred's desk of a plastic garbage bag containing a dismembered body? Photography wasn't Fred's hobby.
In HIGH FIVE, Plum is beset with Briggs, Bunchy, Ramirez, Morelli, and Ranger. And that's just for starters. Briggs is a midget that becomes Plum's unwelcome houseguest after the latter's zeal for fugitive apprehension results in an unfortunate incident. The mysterious Bunchy also wants to find Fred, and is following Stephanie around. Ramirez, a psycho rapist that Plum helped put away in book one, is now back on the streets and wants revenge.
But the real core of the novel is Stephanie's lack of a sex life - a condition that's now reaching the critical stage. Plum has prurient yearnings for Joe Morelli, a distant relative and Trenton undercover cop - that is, when she's not hating his guts for being totally exasperating in the way males often are. After all, twelve years ago he did take her virginity behind the eclair counter of the pastry shop in which she was working. Then there's Ranger, the Cuban-American, bounty hunter extraordinaire who's Stephanie's sometime mentor and now, to her distraction, the occasional stud muffin of her fevered dreams. Our heroine has a yen for Bad Boys, and both Morelli and Ranger can be that, especially when they dress in black.
As one would expect in a continuing series, the author must ratchet up the wackiness of Stephanie's life a notch with each succeeding volume. Through the first five books, she's managed to do this without stretching my credulity beyond the breaking point. Plum is just one of those girls with excruciatingly bad karma. I'm beginning to anticipate, though, a plot where Evanovich tries too hard. We'll see, because I intend to read all of the series - 5 more installments as of this review.
At the conclusion of HIGH FIVE, Stephanie succumbs to the need for a night of lovin', writes the names of Morelli and Ranger on separate pieces of paper, mixes them in a bowl, closes her eyes and picks one, summons the winner after showing his name to her pet hamster Rex, puts on a killer-sexy black dress, and waits for her man of the night to arrive. The reader won't know who got lucky until it's revealed in the prologue of HOT SIX. Rex and I know, but we're not telling.
If a Stephanie Plum book was to be made into a film, Sandra Bullock would be absolutely perfect in the title role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another winner!, Feb. 4 2004
By 
Ratmammy "The Ratmammy" (Ratmammy's Town, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: High Five (Mass Market Paperback)
HIGH FIVE by Janet Evanovich
The fifth installment of the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich, HIGH FIVE brings back Stephanie as the inept bounty hunter trying to earn a decent living. The large cast of characters is back: Lula the ex-prostitute, crazy Grandma Mazur, the sexy mysterious Ranger, and of course the some-time boyfriend Joe Morelli. And don't forget Rex the hamster! He's back too.
In this novel, Uncle Fred has disappeared and it's up to Stephanie to track him down. Was he murdered, or did he run off with one of his many girlfriends? Auntie Mabel doesn't seem to be in the least upset about his disappearance. Instead, she's busy making plans for cruises, new furniture, and other fun things she's not been able to do since Fred was always the cheapskate when it came to their money. He'd fight over a two-dollar discrepancy, even if it meant his money or his life. Stephanie is determined to find out if this was the fate that had befallen her uncle.
In the meantime, she has a run in with a "little person", Randy Briggs, who she tries to take into custody for the bond money. Unfortunately, Briggs doesn't cooperate, and it's one funny incident after another as she does her best to try to get a hold of the little guy.
And Benito Ramirez is back, the dangerous rapist who has threatened to come after Stephanie in previous installments. This time, it looks like he's going to get pretty close. And, don't forget her many adventures with her vehicles. Does she yet again lose her car to a bomb? Or maybe someone steals it?
As always, I was very happy to have read another book in the Stephanie Plum series. These books are so much fun. They are light-hearted comedies with a dark twist, but they always end up with a happy ending. However, this ending left me wanting more. What REALLY did happen at the end? In whose bed did Stephanie end up? I will have to read the sixth book to find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This One's a Ringer!, Dec 31 2003
By 
S. Schwartz "romonko" (alberta canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: High Five (Mass Market Paperback)
This fifth book in the Stephanie Plum series is a winner, and I think the best so far in the series. In it we get to see more of our favourites - Stephanie herself, Grandma Mazur, Lula and of course the fabulous Ranger!. The sparks between Ranger and Stephanie light up the book in this one. I defy anyone to be able to put the book down once you start it. I know that I couldn't. In this book Stephanie's bounty hunting has reached a low point since there don't seem to be many bail jumpers, but she gets talked into trying to find her Uncle Fred who disappeared from a grocery store parking lot. Sounds easy, but in true Plum fashion she bites off way more than she can chew. I lost track of the number of vehicles that she wrecked. And did I mention Ranger? We see lots of him in this one and he's a peach! Dangerous as can be, but still a peach, and Steph finds herself losing her head a little over him. You'll have to read to see what happens between them. A Stunner of a book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

High Five
High Five by Janet Evanovich (Library Binding - June 2000)
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews