Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rincewind and Carrot and Death, Oh My
Cohen the Barbarian (lately Genghiz Cohen, Emperor of Agatea) and his Silver Horde (they used to be a Golden Horde, but that was before what hair they have left went grey) have set out on one last grand and pointless adventure; Cohen plans to swarm the mountain of the gods and "the last thief will return what the first thief stole".
For those who wonder just what...
Published on Nov. 16 2003 by Michael Weber

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars He hurried through this one...
Artwork is terrific, except Paul did not recall (as I do) that the Lady has GREEN eyes. The story is too SHORT and feels very rushed. Carrot is wooden, the Patrician just isn't his ole slithery self. Rincewind is more than ever a self-effacing heroic worm, though.
After THE TRUTH, I thought Terry ought to take a break. Now I'm not sure that he didn't.
Published on Jan. 20 2002 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rincewind and Carrot and Death, Oh My, Nov. 16 2003
By 
Michael Weber "fairportfan" (Atlanta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Cohen the Barbarian (lately Genghiz Cohen, Emperor of Agatea) and his Silver Horde (they used to be a Golden Horde, but that was before what hair they have left went grey) have set out on one last grand and pointless adventure; Cohen plans to swarm the mountain of the gods and "the last thief will return what the first thief stole".
For those who wonder just what that means, the first thief is currently chained to a mountainside with an eagle tearing at his liver, and Cohen has a large barrel of Agatean Fire Clay[1]...
And, if he succeeds, it's the End Of The World.
And so the Patrician of Ankh-Morpork turns to the wizards of Unseen University and to Leonard of Quirm[2] to figure out how to stop Cohen.
As usual, Leonard has An Idea.
And so Leonard, Captain Carrot of the Watch and Rincewind, the reluctant wizard[3] set out in the Discworld's first spacecraft to orbit the Disc and get there in time to stop Cohen and company.
Unlike the usual Discworld adventure, this is a large-format book with illustrations by Paul Kidby[5], and the illustrations (while not essential to the story) are hilarious and complement Pratchett's inspired satirical insanity brilliantly.[7]
As usual, though, one can count on Pratchett to hold up a twisted mirror to our own world and to make a few Telling Points here and there.
And -- mirabile dictu! -- Archchancellor Ridcully seems to be beginning to understand some of the implications of quantum theory as it applies to magic and the (more or less) Real World.[8]

[1]Not to mention a kidnapped minstrel to write the saga after it's all over. It is required by The Rules that Heroic Deeds be recounted in sagas.
[2]Usually kept locked up in a tower -- he's a Really Nice Fellow and brilliant painter who can't help inventing things that people with the Wrong Sort Of Minds (most people, actually) see all sorts of potentials for bigger and better mayhem in.
[3] Recently appointed Chair of Cruel and Unusual Geography at UU, on account of having seen so much of it in a lifetime devoted to hair-raising escapes, Adventures[4] and general Running Away.
[4]An Adventure, properly defined, is someone far away having a truly terrible day.
[5]Not to be confused with the late Josh *Kirby*, who painted the definitive Discworld covers, which we don't get to see in the States.[6]
[6]This fact (and the Generally Awful covers the books *have* had in the States) may be part of the explanation of why the Discworld books don't sell better Over Here...
[7]Probably the best of all of the illustrations is the one printed Very Faintly across a two page spread that is almost invisible -- Kate missed it entirely until i showed t to her -- of Cohen and Blind Offler in the poses of Adam and Jehovah from the Sistine Chapel. Cohen, however, is not limply holding out his hand for the Divine Spark.
[8]And Ponder Stebbins has been promoted from the High Energy Magic department of UU to Head of Inadvisably Applied Magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short... but good., Nov. 25 2002
By 
The end of the Discworld is near, as the geriatric Silver Horde, lead by Cohen the Barbarian, are on their way to Dunmanifestin with the firm intention of blowing up the Gods. They've even kidnapped a minstrel to write the story of their heroic lives. Someone has to stop them, and quickly!
So to save the world from total destruction, the Wizards of Unseen University and the Patrician of Ankh-Morpork, Lord Vetinari, have no choice but to call Leonard da Quirm to the rescue. Soon the inventor, along with the very literal Captain Carrot of the City Watch and Rincewind the chicken-hearted WiZZard, embark on a perilous journey aboard the Kite, a bird-shaped flying device powered by Swamp Dragons. According to his calculations, if the Kite goes over the rim at great speed, it'll come back around and rocket right towards the hub, where lies Dunmanifestin, just in time to stop Cohen and his gang.
Even though The Last Hero might seems a little bit short, comparatively, of course it has the genuine, punful, Pratchett style that we've all come to love so much. The good side of it is that it's read in no time, eh! And Paul Kidby's lavish illustrations are just astounding. Would do a wonderful gift idea, wouldn't it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the Discworld fan, Jan. 7 2003
By 
Sam (Yarmouth Co., Nova Scotia Canada) - See all my reviews
I loved this book! I would not advise it for someone who is not yet aquainted with the Discworld, but it is otherwise marvelous. The tale was short but made up for it with page after page of spectacular illustrations by Paul Kidby.
The Last Hero brings together Carrot and Rincewind who, to my knowledge, have never before shared an adventure, along with gods, wizards, priests and of course heros. Altogether, throughly spiffy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great! A must-have for fans new or old!, Dec 5 2004
By 
This review is from: Last Hero (Paperback)
This book is absolutely fabulous; it's 20 dollars well-spent!
Unlike some other books like this that I've bought (The Dragon Chronicles comes to mind), this one relies as much on its great text as it does on the gorgeous paintings.
The story here fits into the book quite nicely, although it gets off to a bit of a jerky start (at first it seems like there's a new story on every page) and at the end not ALL the loose ends are tied up (whatever happened to the priests in the Temple of Small Gods?). On the whole, though, there's much to enjoy here. This has got to be the most condensed Discworld story ever written yet, since it tries to cram almost every single major character in the series into one book. Nevertheless, once the story gets flowing it all reads like one of the better Discworld novels.
The paintings are gorgeous and plentiful (there's one on almost every page!) and add a whole new dimension to the story. All of the characters and landscapes were painted just like I THOUGHT they should look (I've read several Discworld novels already). Carrot in particular is a hard character to draw, but a good effort was made regardless.
This is a perfect book for newcomers to the series who want to see the best that it has to offer before deciding whether to read the other books, but also for seasoned Discworld readers who will love the illustrations and the new characters that this story brings into play.
Plus, Christmas is coming. This is the PERFECT gift book for anybody who has a sense of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Short of Wonderful, June 19 2003
By 
Mathew P. Sewell (Sioux Falls, SD) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a fabulous, fabulous book! Not only is it another wonderful yarn by Mr. Pratchett, but it is filled with absolutely WONDERFUL art that is at times stunning, and at other times very humorous.
For fans of Mr. Pratchett's other novels, there are numerous walk-ins by his other famous characters, which only adds to the fun. The story is original, though obviously satyrizing numerous greek myths.
I cannot recommend this book enough, it is an absolute delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Hero - John Deakins for ABSOLUTE MAGNITUDE, May 14 2002
By 
John R. Deakins (Harrison, AR USA) - See all my reviews
...Pratchett books are too short. This (sigh!) is the
shortest of the lot. Other than that, of course, it's
marvelous.
We last met Cohen the Barbarian and his antique
superheroes when they conquered the Counterweight Continent
in _Interesting Times_. With nothing left to conquer, they
give up the easy life that has already taken one of their
number. They are going to climb Cori Celesti, the impossibly
high central spire of Discworld, and return fire to the gods
- in the form of a barrel of gunpowder. The resulting
explosion in Dunmanifestin, the godly city, will destabilize
the entire world.
To stop them, Unseen University is launching an
experimental ship, powered by belching mini-dragons, off the
edge of the Disc. Designed by Leonard of Quirm, its orbital
path should land it on the mountain in time to stop the
attack.
Once again, Pratchett takes the ridiculous and raises it
to the sublime. Truckle the Uncivil, Boy Willie, and Mad
Hamish (in his wheelchair) can't take on the gods! But when
they do, we'll learn something about how to remember real
heroism. The terrified minstrel dragged along behind Caleb
the Ripper and grandmotherly war-maiden Vena the Raven-haired
learns how to write a song remembered forever. Leonard of
Quirm, the innocent super-genius, can design an possible
flying machine in his head, but stands in awe, painting the
grandeur he views from space.
There is clearly some Pratchett soul in Leonard, and
Rincewind the Wizzard, and even in Evil Harry Dread (the last
Dark Lord). Likwise, Paul Kidby has contributed part of his
being to everything from group shots of the gods, to the
masterful turtle-elephants-Disc views, to the dozens of
(Leonardo de Vinci) fantasy/technical drawings of dragon-
powered aircraft and self-filling ink quills.
This is a marvelous book to the very last page - Kidby
gives us rubies sprouting flowers in the snow. Pratchett
gives us an immortal saga on a lyre made from a skull and
broken wires, about five heroes who weren't sure they were
dead. (Well, if you're not sure, steal the flying horses of
the Valkyries who come for you and head for other worlds.)
"No one remembers the singer. The song remains."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Gerontological Journey!, May 1 2002
By 
Kathleen L. Barron "smrtrnu" (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is awesome, fabulous, funny, and gorgeous! The illustrations are as amazing as Pratchett's best writing (which, OK...Carrot in Space may not be a shining moment...). I especially love the picture of Death With Kitten, and comparing the first picture of the bard with the successive ones. The jokes are fantastic, and the problems presented are, as always, multi-universal.
If you've never read a Pratchett novel, this probably isnt the best one to start with, but its so pretty, you should buy it just to have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Terry Trying Too Hard., April 15 2002
By 
Morti (Louisville, KY) - See all my reviews
In "The Last Hero", Terry Pratchett takes the reader to the Discworld... a place where anything can happen and most of it does. A world where million to one chances happen nine times out of ten. A planet that is flat and carried around on the back of a turtle. Oh yeah, and that is where he takes you in all the Discworld novels. Read one of the others first.
"The Last Hero" is the story of Cohen the Barbarian and his quest to "Return what the First Hero stole'" It has just about every major character that has appeared in any Diskworld novel to date. To those of you who are familiar with the novels, picture Carrot, Rincewind, the Librarian and Leonard of Quirm in the same place, shudder, then put your mouse down.
I thought that this book was a rather entertaining "Candy Bar for the Mind" but it was not it did not contain the high wit or the highly contagous writing that I have come to expect from Terry. The biggest problem with this book is that Pratchett set the bar too high with his previous work. I gave this book 4 stars for the simple reason that I love the art by Paul Kidby and Terry will always be my fave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Terry Trying Too Hard., April 15 2002
By 
Morti (Louisville, KY) - See all my reviews
In "The Last Hero", Terry Pratchett takes the reader to the Discworld... a place where anything can happen and most of it does. A world where million to one chances happen nine times out of ten. A planet that is flat and carried around on the back of a turtle. Oh yeah, and that is where he takes you in all the Discworld novels. Read one of the others first.
"The Last Hero" is the story of Cohen the Barbarian and his quest to "Return what the First Hero stole'" It has just about every major character that has appeared in any Diskworld novel to date. To those of you who are familiar with the novels, picture Carrot, Rincewind, the Librarian and Leonard of Quirm in the same place, shudder, then put your mouse down.
I thought that this book was a rather entertaining "Candy Bar for the Mind" but it was not it did not contain the high wit or the highly contagous writing that I have come to expect from Terry. The biggest problem with this book is that Pratchett set the bar too high with his previous work. I gave this book 4 stars for the simple reason that I love the art by Paul Kidby and Terry will always be my fave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Terry Trying Too Hard., April 15 2002
By 
Morti (Louisville, KY) - See all my reviews
In "The Last Hero", Terry Pratchett takes the reader to the Discworld... a place where anything can happen and most of it does. A world where million to one chances happen nine times out of ten. A planet that is flat and carried around on the back of a turtle. Oh yeah, and that is where he takes you in all the Discworld novels. Read one of the others first.
"The Last Hero" is the story of Cohen the Barbarian and his quest to "Return what the First Hero stole'" It has just about every major character that has appeared in any Diskworld novel to date. To those of you who are familiar with the novels, picture Carrot, Rincewind, the Librarian and Leonard of Quirm in the same place, shudder, then put your mouse down.
I thought that this book was a rather entertaining "Candy Bar for the Mind" but it was not it did not contain the high wit or the highly contagous writing that I have come to expect from Terry. The biggest problem with this book is that Pratchett set the bar too high with his previous work. I gave this book 4 stars for the simple reason that I love the art by Paul Kidby and Terry will always be my fave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Hero: A Discworld Fable
The Last Hero: A Discworld Fable by Terry Pratchett (Library Binding - Sept. 2002)
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews