Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book as is the one before& after ( Red Mars & Blue Mars )
Kim Stanley Robinson has a Knack for writing a book that keeps you reading page after pager, not wanting to put the book down. The store line contains an incredible amount of real scientific information that make the story very easy to follow & enjoy
Published 1 month ago by Gordon Adams

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Tolerable middle
Robinson's Mars Trilogy begins as admirably written hard science fiction, based for the most part on physics and geology. As the story progresses, the plot is based more and more upon Robinson's previous suppositions than on fact - in short, he begins to extrapolate. By the last page of the last book, we're asked to believe that human beings can postpone death almost...
Published on Sept. 21 2003 by Isabeau


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great book as is the one before& after ( Red Mars & Blue Mars ), June 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Green Mars (Mass Market Paperback)
Kim Stanley Robinson has a Knack for writing a book that keeps you reading page after pager, not wanting to put the book down. The store line contains an incredible amount of real scientific information that make the story very easy to follow & enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best read, March 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Green Mars (Mass Market Paperback)
A tad slow paced, but strongly character driven, I would happily say that the Mars trilogy are the best books I have ever read. Lots of science, interesting story telling, believable events, and a nice break from the classic hollywood tension curve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kim Stanley Robinson Does Mars - GREEN, Nov. 22 2011
By 
fastreader - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Green Mars (Mass Market Paperback)
This whole series: RED, GREEN and BLUE, fully explore Mars like we wish we could, but can't afford.

Character development is great as are the various scientific aspects of the books.

Lots of adventure and excitement throughout make it an enjoyable read from start to finish. I've read this series twice now, IT'S THAT GOOD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Green Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson, July 8 2004
By 
This review is from: Green Mars (Mass Market Paperback)
This second volume of Kim Stanley Robinson's Mars Trilogy is a very worthy Hugo winner. Although there are elements of RED MARS I did not like (which I'll not go into now), with RED MARS as a background, I found GREEN MARS to be brilliant. If you haven't read Red Mars, don't tackle this volume first.
KSR really did his homework in studying the social scientific aspects of his novel (as he did with the rest). The metanational and transnational corporations are a believable outgrowth of current economic trends and their reactions toward Mars and its denizens in GM logically follows their development in the novel. KSR also did a better job of staking out the various issues and ideologies involved in terraforming, giving the policy and political middle-ground between the Reds and the policy of the Transnational Authorities (which is terraforming as quickly as possible moving toward a viable atmosphere on Mars).
The Part entitled "What is to be Done" was excellently written and extremely realistic (even if I have trouble believing that with all the political elements represented that some didn't opt out because of ideological extremism). That the group left without any real political action plans made the section even more convincing. The culture of the youth born on Mars seen through the eyes of members of the First Hundred shows a wonderful sense of cultural development with all the elements it entails including genetics, the Martian environment, and how they were raised (interacting with the first two). KSR does not do quite as well at developing individual characters in GM but his characterization does lend itself to understanding the motivations of individuals and empathy
The long descriptions of the Martian landscape is at times hard to appreciate given that I have never been to Mars and have never studied photos of Mars' surface and landscape. I like the two places where there were small maps of Mars in the text. The development of large, complex living environments with the limited resources of those outside "the net" or the umbrella of the metanational corporations that control most of Mars is hard to perceive too. But this is easily overlooked at the sake of the larger picture that GM paints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of hard SF..., April 5 2004
By 
"ajdecon" (Houghton, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Green Mars (Mass Market Paperback)
Let's be clear: this book is long, incredibly in-depth and can be hard work to read. While reading its predecessor, I had to put it down for a while before finishing, and this book is a worthy sequel to Red Mars.
That being said... it is absolutely a masterpiece. The characters are deep, the science is dead-on and the story is a broad, grand arc encompassing many small events in an overall future history. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and it's my favorite of the trilogy.
Just be ready to take your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Three..., Oct. 3 2003
By 
themarsman (Georgetown, TX) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Green Mars (Mass Market Paperback)
Green Mars is the best of a great Trilogy. Fast paced and once again depicting vividly imagined Martian vistas this book is the quickest read of Robinson's Trilogy. Also, with the introduction of several new characters Robinson continues to explore in immense detail how people are constantly shaping Mars...and how Mars returns the favor to those living on her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tolerable middle, Sept. 21 2003
By 
Isabeau (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Green Mars (Mass Market Paperback)
Robinson's Mars Trilogy begins as admirably written hard science fiction, based for the most part on physics and geology. As the story progresses, the plot is based more and more upon Robinson's previous suppositions than on fact - in short, he begins to extrapolate. By the last page of the last book, we're asked to believe that human beings can postpone death almost indefinitely, have solved the problem of war, and are ready to colonize space, all in about three hundred years. My willing suspension of disbelief wore out about two-thirds of the way through the last book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Second volume in Mars series, July 18 2003
By 
This review is from: Green Mars (Mass Market Paperback)
The colonists revolt has been crushed and Earth's metanational corporations now control the planet. The "first hundred" colonists have been forced underground and bide their time before organising another attempt to gain independence and control their own destiny and that of Mars.
In style, this is much like the previous instalment, Red Mars. It is slow moving and filled with loving geological and geographical descriptions of the planet. Again, hard core sci-fi fans will enjoy this book however personally I found it at times long drawn out and tedious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SOMETIMES REVOLUTIONS DO COME TRUE, June 15 2003
By 
Sesho (Pasadena, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Green Mars (Mass Market Paperback)
The first book of Kim Stanley Robinson's epic trilogy, RED MARS, wone the 1993 Nebula Award for Best Novel. This sequel, GREEN MARS, won the 1994 Hugo Award. Except for the last Hugo, which went to a Harry Potter novel (something which will taint the award forever), this award is not given lightly. Green Mars deserved all the honors that could be heaped upon it. In some ways it reminds me of Peter Jackson's Two Towers film, in that it is a middle chapter in a much greater landmark saga.
Green Mars starts out about 40 years after the failed revolution by elements of the original settlers to free itself of the rule of Earth. That revolution caused much destruction and thousands of deaths but in the end it failed. It failed because there was no coordination among the disparate groups. Some were fighting to keep Mars as it was, some to change it, some were out merely to seize power for themselves. Now the legendary First Hundred settlers have been hunted down and reduced to just 39. Those that are alive must live in secret sanctuaries hidden throughout the landscape or take on fake identities. And all the while, Mars is beginning to show life on its surface.
Hope springs eternal, for the metanational corporations, the real force that controls Mars, from Earth, are about to embark on a civil war amongst themselves. Also, a new generation of Martians are coming of age and doing something their predecessors didn't. Organizing themselves into a united and coordinated front. Establishing goals and having patience for the right moment to strike. Kinda like a twelve step program for revolution.
In Green Mars, different parts of the book are divided into the perspective of the various characters. Nirgal, the first to be introduced, is a young ectogene, a cellular descendent of the First Hundred, who is taught by Hiroko, the weird and reclusive religious cult figure from the first book. He will try to be the bridge between the old and the new Mars, gathering support from the young generation who see themselves as Martians, not settlers. Art Randolph is from Earth, sent by the CEO of Praxis, a leading metanational company, to infiltrate the underground movement of Mars. His mission is not to harm it, but to help it. Sax Russell's identity is changed by plastic surgery so he can spy on the metanationals. Ann Clayborne, the eco-terrorist from the first book must find her will to fight again. Maya Toitovna must come to terms with her past and find the ground to stand on to become a leader for the new generation as well. Only together will all these elements, will all these different camps be able to defeat the powers of Earth.
This book was great. Robinson's science fiction is not that of Star Wars. His vision of Mars is something to me that could truly happen. In fact, these books have read like future history, if there is such a thing. The settlers didn't land on Mars to fight aliens. They had to fight about what they wanted their world to be like in terms of politics, environment, and society, freedom. This book is a good treatise on what it takes to make a revolution. I mean, to make a good one. The book is really about finding commonality and being able to act as one. Kim is a masterful studier of character. There is no cuteness as in immature sf writers who know nothing of relationships except what they see in movies. This book is strong. It cannot be read alone though, meaning Red Mars must be read first. In some ways, reading this book is like looking at the problems faced by our founding fathers 200 years ago. The formation of a nation. Seek this book out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sequel, May 4 2003
By 
not4prophet (North Carolina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Green Mars (Mass Market Paperback)
"Green Mars" is a very well-written sequel, and it will definitely satisfy anyone who really liked "Red Mars". Much of the book focuses on the continuing terraforming effort on Mars. Near the start of "Green Mars", we are introduced to some of the new tactics that are being employed to adjust the Martian atmosphere and surface temperature. Gigantic roving machines are liberating water from the regolith, and a series of mirrors are placed so as to increase the amount of sunlight incident on the planet. Robinson's depiction of the scientific reality that would have to underlie a terraforming effort remain convincing throughout this volume. He keeps a record of how the atmosphere and the surface life forms are changing without ever getting excessively bogged down in the scientific details.
The overall story arc in "Green Mars" is still quite strong. It begins with the news that one of the huge corporations headquartered on Earth is interested in contacting members of the Martian underground, a loose collection of various groups that are considered to be outlaws by the corporate-controlled Martian government. On Mars, the resistance groups and the Authority figures have reached a sort of stalemate. Police forces raid several settlements with impunity, but the resistance groups are becoming better organized. The planning and preparations for another rebellion against the United Nations Authority are a major focus of "Green Mars". Robinson gives a great deal of thought to the logistics of such a revolt, and he provides a convincing portrayal of the conflicts between different rebel groups.
My biggest gripe with "Green Mars" is that the author seems to be growing a little bit too attached to some of his characters. We learn early on that the population of Mars has swelled into the millions, both because of immigration from Earth and because of new generations that were born and raised on Mars. But despite this fact, the overwhelming majority of the story is told from the perspective of surviving members of the first hundred, most of whom seem to be running out of interesting things to say. Only one very brief segment is told from the perspective of someone on the 'other side', a representative from one of the metanational corporations on Earth, and we get fairly few glimpses of what life is like for those born and raised on Mars. I feel that "Green Mars" could have benefited quite a bit from a broader perspective. Nevertheless, it is still a quite impressive effort overall, and I am eagerly awaiting a chance to read the final entry in the trilogy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Green Mars
Green Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson (Library Binding - May 1995)
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews