Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kanes on the run, May 16 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Kane Chronicles, Book One: The Red Pyramid (Hardcover)
Having explored the trouble caused by Titans and Greek gods, Riordan has apparently turned his attention to a new pantheon -- Egyptian gods. "The Red Pyramid" is overlong in places, but Riordan's first Kane Chronicles novel is a rollicking adventure/fantasy filled with ancient deities (in modern forms), fireballs, hostile magicians, and a basketball-playing baboon.

Ever since their mother died, the Kane kids have hardly seen one another. Carter travels the world with his Egyptologist father, while Sadie lives with their maternal grandparents in London. But when their father attempts a magic spell and is captured by the god Set, Carter and Sadie are temporarily whisked away by their uncle Amos -- and then found by a mysterious magical cabal called the House of Life.

Unfortunately, the kids soon learn two things -- Set is planning to destroy the world in just a few days, and the House has decided that they must be killed. So they're on the run with the cat goddess Bast (formerly Sadie's cat Muffin), trying to find a way to stop an ancient god of chaos from killing their father and plunging the world into horror.They'll have to venture into ancient, unspeakable dangers, and discover a side of themselves that they never knew of... but even that might not restore Ma'at.

On the surface, "The Red Pyramid" sounds a lot like Riordan's Percy Jackson series -- you've got disaffected teenagers trying to save the world from evil gods, and finding out they have some magic powers themselves. But it actually is a rather different story (there's no safe haven for these kids!), and the interwoven Egyptian myths and magic give it a very distinct flavor of its own.

The one problem is that the plot feels a bit stretched out, with lots of action interspersed with long stretches of inaction. But the plot is also very complex and carefully laid out, with lots of miniquests woven into the main storyline, plenty of humor ("How to tame the five essential elements of the universe--earth, air, water, fire, and cheese!"), and lots of flashy glowy magic (floating hieroglyphics, halls filled with memories, axe-headed demons, shooting fireballs, clay shabti, et cetera).

And his characters are well-drawn to start with, and are carefully fleshed out as the story goes on -- Carter is a likable, earnest young man who obviously wishes he had a bit of normalcy, while Sadie is a snarky, sassy girl with a fragile heart. Bast is also a wonderfully quirky, catlike character ("That's the spirit! Now, let's have a picnic"), while the gloomy Anubis and mad scientist Thoth make great supporting cast.

"The Red Pyramid" rambles on at times, but Rick Riordan's latest is still a fantastical, magical journey that paves the way for a whole new series. Can't wait to see what's next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rick Riordan Takes on Egyptian Mythology, Sept. 2 2010
By 
Alison S. Coad (Montreal, Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kane Chronicles, Book One: The Red Pyramid (Hardcover)
I adored Rick Riordan's series based on Greek mythology, Percy Jackson and the Olympians, so when I learned he had a new series going, based on Egyptian mythology, I was predisposed to adore it too. The Red Pyramid is the first book in The Kane Chronicles, and it introduces us to our main characters, Carter and Sadie Kane. Following their mother's untimely death six years earlier, 14-year-old Carter has been traveling the world with his archeologist father, being home-schooled and desperately wishing he could have a normal life, school, friends....Meantime, 12-year-old Sadie has been in the keeping of their maternal grandparents in London, with all the stability that Carter longs for; not surprisingly, she wishes she had his freedom, and his close connection with their father, whom Sadie only sees twice a year. On one of these semi-annual visits, Julius Kane, their formidable parent, takes them to the British Museum, where he intends to conduct a ritual involving the Rosetta Stone. But it goes horribly awry, and Julius is captured by one of the ancient Egyptian gods, the evil Set, whose mission is to cause chaos and destruction throughout the world. It is left to Carter and Sadie, with a little help from the cat goddess Bast and the magicians Zia and Amos, Julius's brother, to try to stop Set and save the world. But they have very little time....As is likely true of most readers of this novel, I am less familiar with Egyptian mythology than I am with Greek, but I'm assuming that Riordan is as accurate with this set of deities as he was with the Greeks; once again, he provides an action-packed storyline that is saved from sheer breathlessness by the excellent rendition of many, even minor, characters, who forward the plot and provide entertainment as well. Riordan has also not lost his sense of humour; the way in which murderous Sekhmet is transformed into mild, bovine Hathor is alone proof of that fact. I enjoyed this book, and am looking forward to the further adventures of Carter and Sadie as they fulfill their pharaonic destinies....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kane Chronicles, The Book One: Red Pyramid, Aug. 3 2010
This review is from: The Kane Chronicles, Book One: The Red Pyramid (Hardcover)
Purchesed for my 15 year old Grandson, who thought it was an awesome book and can't wait for the second one to come out in October. Has also totally peaked his interest in Mythology and can hardly wait to take course in school to learn more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rivetting action and memorable characters!, May 28 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Kane Chronicles, Book One: The Red Pyramid (Hardcover)
My students challenged me to read this book; I couldn't put it down! I had already started the Percy Jackson series but I think I like this one even more! Very well done, Mr. Riordan! One of my grade 3 students polished off this book in about three days; she was reading every spare minute! She and I were fighting over who was going to get to the second book first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hes done it again!, Nov. 22 2010
By 
Valerie (Alliston, ON) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Kane Chronicles, Book One: The Red Pyramid (Hardcover)
This is great, Rick Riordan has done an excellent job. I'm not ashamed to admit that I'm an adult and I have read this and the Percy Jackson series. Not everything's just for kids =P and I doubt very much that I'd grow out of reading these. I can't wait for May 2011, I'm sure he'll do just as great a job as the first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best new fantasy along with 'Godstone - The Kairos Boxes',, June 20 2010
This review is from: The Kane Chronicles, Book One: The Red Pyramid (Hardcover)
Rick Riordan's run of fun fantasy continues. Using myth combined with fantasy this has the promise of a great new series.

This new series, unlike the Percy Jackson series, is told by a brother and sister -- Carter and Sadie -- who alternate chapters. The setting is an alternative earth where magic exists. In this case, the magic is based in Egyptian mythology rather than the Greek of "The Olympians" books. And Carter and Sadie have their heritage flow from the pharaohs rather than from be offspring of the so-called 'gods' themselves.

The Egyptian myths leave plenty of scope for future stories to come. Other great new fantasy books that have recently been released are the brilliant 'Godstone - The Kairos Boxes' and 'Chosen Ones'.

Godstone - The Kairos Boxes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!, March 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Kane Chronicles, Book One: The Red Pyramid (Hardcover)
I wait for new books from that serie with impatience. Always good books from this author, this one doesn't change from that, thank you very much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Red Pyramid, Aug. 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Is a wonderful read and the characters are excellent the writing is awesome the best book in a great series I have already read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Once again, loved Rick Riordan's book, Jan. 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Kane Chronicles, Book One: The Red Pyramid (Hardcover)
This is the first book in the Kane Chronicles trilogy. I loved his Percy Jackson seres, so I decided to give this set a try. I loved it! Very entertaining, funny, and full of educational facts about ancient Egypt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, June 30 2010
This review is from: The Kane Chronicles, Book One: The Red Pyramid (Hardcover)
I started to read this book to my fifth graders, but it is long and the end of the year crept up on us and we didn't get to finish it. So I took it home and finished it myself. I loved it.

There are two main characters, Sadie and Carter Kane. They are brother and sister, but they are almost strangers to each other. When Sadie was 6 and Carter 8, their mother died and because of a bitter custody dispute, Sadie went with her mother's parents in London and Carter stayed with his dad. They only see each other two times a year. Carter travels with his father, an Egyptologist, and is home schooled, while Sadie goes to a public school in London. They really don't have much to say when they see each other.

One Christmas Eve, Carter and his father pick up Sadie and go to the British Museum for a research project. While there, Mr. Kane destroys the Rosetta Stone and unleashes five Egyptian gods into the world. He is entombed and leaves Carter and Sadie saddled with a mission to stop the god, Set, from destroying the world.

Many other reviewers have said that they couldn't tell the differences between Carter and Sadie's voices, but I could. Sadie was brash while Carter is more polite. They complimented each other in many ways. I loved getting two different points of view as I read.

Another character that I loved was Bast, the cat goddess, who took the form many times of Muffin, Sadie's cat. She was funny and you could tell she really loved the children. I had a little problem with the Egyptian mythology (I fell in love with Greek myths when I was younger), but enjoyed learning about it. I can't wait to read the next installment of THE KANE CHRONICLES!

Reviewed by: Marta Morrison
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kane Chronicles, Book One: The Red Pyramid
The Kane Chronicles, Book One: The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan (Hardcover - May 4 2010)
CDN$ 18.99 CDN$ 13.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews