Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Book!, Feb. 28 2013
I think The Throne of Fire is great. It’s a magical story about an older brother named Carter Kane and a sister named Sadie Kane. In The Throne Fire Apophis is rising with the help of Vlad Menshikov and demons! Sadie and Carter live in Brooklyn House with their new recruits Walt, Julian, Alyssa, Felix, Jaz, Cleo, and Sean. Why this book is so great is because there is action and suspense. Also it is sometimes funny. I also recommend Rick Riordan’s other books, like The Labyrinth and The Lost Hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The books of Ra, May 5 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Kane Chronicles, Book Two The Throne of Fire (Hardcover)
If there was a problem with "The Red Pyramid," it's that too much of the action took place in dreams and visions. Fortunately Rick Riordan scales back on that in "The Kane Chronicles, Book Two: The Throne of Fire," a tighter, more action-packed adventure tale filled with cinematic monsters, mythological battles and an impending apocalypse. Fun stuff!

Things seem to be going fairly smoothly for the Kane siblings, despite a disastrous mission to capture one-third of the Book of Ra. Unfortunately, Carter and Sadie soon learn that not only has the House of Life sent its third-most-powerful magician (known as "Vlad the Inhaler") to destroy them, but that the god Apophis has almost escaped from his prison.

Unfortunately, the only god who can possibly stop Apophis is Ra, and the only way to summon Ra from his eternal sleep is to use the Book. Soon the Kanes are on a perilous quest across the world, running up against evil gods (and an endearing taxi-driving one), demons and treacherous magicians. But the price of victory may be a steep one...

"The Throne of Fire" is a somewhat steadier adventure than "The Red Pyramid." It's still not quite as instantly engaging as Riordan's Grecian-inspired fantasies, but it's still action-packed, sleek and full of flashy action sequences. I mean, a basketball game is interrupted by a giant three-headed serpent -- does it get cooler than that?

Riordan's prose is solidly descriptive, and he does an excellent job melding ancient Egyptian myth with modern-day sensibilities. His dialogue is solidly snarky -- at one point, the dwarf god Bes announces that, "I'm not going to call myself the god of vertically challenged people." But there's a much darker dimension to this story -- some spectacularly horrible things happen to some characters that Riordan has made you like.

And don't worry: while visions-dreams reveal a lot of important information, they don't overwhelm the story.

I find it a little hard to warm up to Sadie and Carter, but Riordan does do a solid job of fleshing them out with their new responsibilities and problems (particularly since some of their mistakes get people hurt). And Riordan introduces some very likable new characters -- in fact, I liked some of them better than the main characters -- particularly Freak the griffin, Tawaret, Mad Claude and Bes (who eats a chocolate head of Lenin).

"The Throne of Fire" is a somewhat darker, steadier second volume in the Kane Chronicles -- lovable gods, lots of action, and plot threads left dangling for the third book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Kane Chronicles, Book Two The Throne of Fire, Dec 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The most involved book I ever read it was one of the best books in this series so far, looking forward to reading the rest in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy follow-up for the first book!, May 28 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Kane Chronicles, Book Two The Throne of Fire (Hardcover)
The Red Pyramid was so good, I couldn't wait for this one to come out. I wasn't disappointed! I am delighted that these stories are so well done, yet are at a level that those strong students in grade 3 and 4 can handle them. What an accomplishment for a younger student to polish off a book that is nearly three inches thick!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Aug. 9 2014
By 
CP (Montreal, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
it's as good as the 1st book from The Kane series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great Riordan pageturner, May 17 2011
By 
Lisa Maccoll "divawrites" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kane Chronicles, Book Two The Throne of Fire (Hardcover)
Full disclosure. I'm a huge Rick Riordan fan. I've read all the Percy Jackson books, the heroes of Olympus and I enjoyed book 1 of the Kane Chronicles.
This book is an action packed page turner. The only thing that distracts the reader is the change in POV between Carter and Sadie, which can sometimes pull the reader out of the action until s/he reorients.
Sadie's caustic wit is a bonus and the story never slows down. Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast Paced Adventure Story, Aug. 4 2011
This review is from: The Kane Chronicles, Book Two The Throne of Fire (Hardcover)
I love Rick Riordan's books, and this one is no exception. I am especially partial to books with ancient mythology in them, and Riordan provides this along with fun, interesting books full of adventure. It feels like Riordan has done his research and that there is authenticity in the mythological parts of the story. I also love how he blends Egyptian mythology into modern every day life and how different realities can exist at the same time, a kind of urban fantasy feel. The Throne of Fire is the second in this series, where brother and sister team, Carter and Sadie have to save the world from some angry Egyptian gods.

The Throne of Fire is narrated in the first person alternately between Carter and Sadie. They are typical brother and sisters, who fight and argue, but who ultimately care for each other. Their relationship adds a good dimension to the book and is also a fun source of humour, which is needed in this fast paced adventure story.

Rick Riordan does some nice foreshadowing in this book (for example, how Sadie and Carter understand how the magic works), which I like because it adds depth to the story. This also helps with the character development, especially of Sadie.

In this installment, Riordan introduces some interesting new characters who gain the reader's sympathy and really add to the story. I hope we see them again in the third book. I really liked the kids from the school that Sadie and Carter are teaching and the dynamics of that. There are also some of the characters from the first book, but, for the most part, they play only minor roles.

As much as I enjoy the story and adventure of Rick Riordan novels, I do find the number of sentence fragments to be off putting. This seems to be a trend in a lot of novels lately, however, and is quite disappointing. It must make school teachers cringe as they try to teach grammar to kids. I also found that the writing was slightly repetitive.

I can see middle school kids, both boys and girls, enjoying this book, especially if they like adventure and Egyptian mythology. The interplay between excitement and humour should be appealing to kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Continuing the Kane Chronicles, June 1 2011
By 
Alison S. Coad (Montreal, Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kane Chronicles, Book Two The Throne of Fire (Hardcover)
"The Throne of Fire" is the second in Rick Riordan's trilogy about the Kane children, 14-year-old Carter and 12 (turning 13 in this book) year old Sophie. In it, they embark on their quest to find the ancient Book of Ra, the reading of which is the only way to bring back the ancient sun god Ra. At the end of the first book, "The Red Pyramid," they sent a call out to others who have the blood of the pharoahs, to join them in Brooklyn and learn the ways of the gods before it's too late; now, they are teaching their young students, or at least trying to. As they leave for their quest, however, the fate of the world hangs in the balance, for dark forces are trying to free the captive god of chaos, Apophis, who will destroy the Ma'at, the order of the universe, and everything within it if he is freed. The Kane siblings are all that stands between a chance of success and utter oblivion, but how can they possibly be prepared for such a task?.... As with all of Riordan's work, this story is fast-paced, action-packed and filled with both scary moments and sarcastic humour, an entertaining and quick read, perfect for a holiday on the beach (preferably one with water nearby, though, not one only consisting of sand!). As with all second books in a trilogy, however, it's also something of a place-keeper - yes, it advances the story, but there's neither the thrill of learning about one's abilities that motivates the young characters in the first book nor the satisfaction of a resolution to the story (that will come in the third book, one assumes). Of course, it's necessary to have read "The Red Pyramid" to follow this story at all, and I look forward to reading the final, as-yet unnamed, book in the trilogy; in the meantime, I quite enjoyed this, the difficult middle book. Recommended for fans of YA fantasy, but only after you read the first book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kane Chronicles, Book Two The Throne of Fire
The Kane Chronicles, Book Two The Throne of Fire by Rick Riordan (Hardcover - May 3 2011)
CDN$ 20.99 CDN$ 15.15
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews