Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love's Barriers Delightfully Probed in Polite Conversation
Persuasion is Jane Austen's most sophisticated story and writing. She lovingly and incisively demonstrates the problems of being a well-bred sensitive person in a society that's more intrigued by social standing, money, and polite conversation than by good character.

Persuasion is Anne Elliot's story. The title's initial allusion is to Anne's brush with...
Published on Feb. 22 2008 by Donald Mitchell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Still reading
I'm not finished reading this book. I'm sure it will be great and I will pass it on to my husband to read
Published 13 months ago by Maureen M Lien


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love's Barriers Delightfully Probed in Polite Conversation, Feb. 22 2008
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Persuasion (Paperback)
Persuasion is Jane Austen's most sophisticated story and writing. She lovingly and incisively demonstrates the problems of being a well-bred sensitive person in a society that's more intrigued by social standing, money, and polite conversation than by good character.

Persuasion is Anne Elliot's story. The title's initial allusion is to Anne's brush with matrimony when a promising, but not rich, naval officer, Captain Wentworth, proposed and she fell in love with him at 19. But Anne's deceased mother's friend, Lady Russell, persuaded Anne not to make the match. Up until the time of the story, Anne hasn't had another suitor and she's now well past the usual age of marriage at 29 and "her bloom had vanish early." Her father's spendthrift ways mean that Anne could bring little money to a marriage so she's expecting not to marry.

While in her social class that lack of a husband is a drawback, in reality her family is a greater problem. Her father, Sir Walter Elliot, is a baronet who spends too much money, is obsessed by social rank, loves to be around the "beautiful people" and admire himself in a mirror, and keeps company with an unsuitable, scheming widow, Mrs. Clay, who is looking for a husband and has latched onto Elizabeth as friend. Anne's older sister, Elizabeth, is also unmarried and is as equally obsessed with social status as their father. Both Sir Walter and Elizabeth fail to value Anne and looked to her to suit their conveniences. The other daughter, Mary, is married but the connection doesn't thrill either Sir Walter or Elizabeth. Mary sees Anne as a virtual servant who should wait on her every beck and call when Anne is her guest.

Due to Sir Walter's over spending of his income, it is decided he will rent the family estate, Kellynch Hall, while he, Elizabeth, and Anne take up less expensive quarters and a reduced social life in Bath. This change sets lots of new events into motion, not the least of which is Anne being re-introduced to Captain Wentworth who now has a fortune and seems to be looking for a lively, young wife. Only their common commitment to being polite makes time in one another's company tolerable. What strong emotions burn under the surface? She's very embarrassed, but Captain Wentworth is hard to read.

In the course of the book, you'll find out a lot about social climbing in Regency England, the finances of the social elites and those who were up-and-coming, how marriage agreements were struck, and how the naval officers differed from the gentry. You'll also be impressed, I'm sure, by the patina of politeness that served as a social lubricant among people who often didn't care a trifle for one another.

In such a society, people mostly wore masks of being thoughtful, considerate people while in reality they were seldom thinking about very much and didn't care much for others. Anne Elliot is the exception in that her heart and mind are actually devoted to the service of others.

One of the most interesting parts of the story is how it was possible (mostly by accident) to sort out the phonies from among those with glittering manners.

Anne Elliot is one of the most memorable and admirable characters in English literature. Do read this book and find out about the other kinds of persuasion that took place during this year of her fictional life. You'll be delighted that you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Book of All Time...., May 28 2004
This review is from: Persuasion (Mass Market Paperback)
Over the years, I have read "Persuasion" by Jane Austen at LEAST 10 times. Simply put, it is my favorite book. While not everyone holds this novel with the same high esteem that I do, I urge those who have NOT read "Persuasion" to buy it.
This book has meant different things to me at different times in my life. I have often reflected why I find the story so fascinating and believe it is because it so accurately portrays the human spirit and exposes our flaws and strengths with such transparency.
Jane Austen reveals those who are so superficial that they see no goodness or worth other than beauty and wealth (Anne's father and sister); those who are so dependent that they do not listen to their own heart - but instead leave their most important decisions for others to make (Anne herself); and those whose pride has been wounded.
And perhaps what is so captivating, Austen lets the reader vicariously "undo" an error in judgment. This is an excellent and timeless novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not Austen's best, Aug. 18 2003
By 
Ganime B. Akin (Istanbul, Turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Persuasion (Paperback)
As an avid fan of Jane Austen, I began reading "Persuasion" with great expectations. Although I cannot say I am dissapointed, I must admit I did not like Persuasion as much as Pride and Prejudice or Sense and Sensibility.
First of all, although I sympathized with Anne when he was slighted by her own family and she was taken no notice of in the company of foolish women just because she is not as pretty and "fragile" as them, maybe because she is not as strong and passionate a character as Elizabeth Bennet in Pride and Prejudice, I could not particularly attach myself to her. Still, I read the novel from beginning to the end in a very short time because it has more than enough to keep our interest. Especially the character of Mrs. Croft, the sister of Captain Wentworth is worth notice; because among the "ailing" and "fatigued" women of the higher classes of that time, this woman who walks long distances with her husband, who accompanies him on long sea journeys and takes the reins of their carriage to manoeuvre out of the way of a post is very interesting. In this novel, Jane Austen says quiet a lot of things which can be thought quiet feministic. Well she says similar things in P&P, for example she makes Darcy say that Elizabeth's complexion is greatly improved after a long walk, when Bingley's sisters criticize her for such an unlady-like behaviour.
Another thing about the novel is that we don't really know the feelings of Captain Wentworth. It is true that the letter he writes to Anne at the end is full of love but I didn't feel his passion as I did Darcy's when he proposed to Elizabeth the first time.
All in all, I recommend the book to readers who have read Austen's other novels. But as a first read it may not be so enjoyable as Pride and Prejudice or Sense and Sensibility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The novel of maturity, July 9 2014
This review is from: Persuasion (Kindle Edition)
That's how "Persuasion" is usually defined, which is one of two posthumous novels of Jane Austen. The environments and situations are always the usual ones, which are also found in the other five books, but the maturity factor (let's call it like that) makes it different from the other works of this great author.
First of all I must say that I've read the book while listening to the audiobook. It was an enjoyable and instructive experience, thanks to the skill of the reader (I've downloaded the audiobook from LibriVox.org). Listen to an audiobook in English with a text in front helps to better savour the words and improve your pronunciation.
Beyond that, I was greatly impressed by the novel where all the characters really are so well defined as to have the impression of having them before your eyes. The love story of the main character remains in the background for most of the book, while a series of events is shown, filtered by the impact that these have on Anne. Her character is a docile at first, but as the story takes hold one realizes how she has learned through experience, given by the maturity , to get by in the most diverse situations without doing harm to no one and without exposing herself too much to others.
The narrative is divided between long dialogues and long tales of past and present events. In some passages I admit that I would rather know the exact words of the characters, rather than the summary of the author, but she seems to want to focus only on certain aspects of the story.
In this sense, the end is almost precipitous, but the twist that precedes it is spectacular, especially if you consider that you know from the beginning that there can be only one conclusion. Nevertheless, I was open-mouthed in front of the manner in which the author has decided to play her cards and this is where you see the maturity of Austen, no longer a young girl, but a woman who looks at the world with eyes that are a little less carefree than ever before.

Rita Carla Francesca Monticelli, author of Red Desert - Point of No Return
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars always like Jane Austen, May 13 2014
By 
Samreen Ahsan (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Persuasion (Kindle Edition)
Always a fan of Jane Austen.
Though Pride and Prejudice may be considered her best work by some, Persuasion is my favorite. Maybe it's the older heroine that makes it more relatable to me. Enjoy the journey through this book . It's not about getting to the end. It's a book that I've enjoyed reading again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Still reading, June 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Persuasion (Kindle Edition)
I'm not finished reading this book. I'm sure it will be great and I will pass it on to my husband to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Romance for Adults, March 2 2013
By 
Jeffrey Tedford "poetrylover 3" (St Louis MO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Persuasion (Kindle Edition)
This is a novel about second chances. The characters never elude the consequences of their mistakes, yet age has granted the wisdom to make better choices, becoming truer to the self. Persuasion is one of my favorite novels (out of the literally thousands I've read over the years)and certainly my favorite Jane Austen. Persuasion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful book, Jan. 28 2013
This review is from: Persuasion (Kindle Edition)
My favourite book! I have read Persuasion 5 times, and the more I read it the more I appreciate Jane Austen's genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Austen's Finest Novel, March 12 2012
Persuasion is Austen's last completed and finest novel. A poignant story of quiet regret and a lament for missed opportunities, Persuasion tells of dutiful, neglected Anne Elliot and her heartbroken suitor Captain Wentworth as they reunite eight and a half years after she refused his marriage proposal. Excellent!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love's Barriers Delightfully Probed in Polite Conversation, Feb. 22 2008
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Persuasion is Jane Austen's most sophisticated story and writing. She lovingly and incisively demonstrates the problems of being a well-bred sensitive person in a society that's more intrigued by social standing, money, and polite conversation than by good character.

Persuasion is Anne Elliot's story. The title's initial allusion is to Anne's brush with matrimony when a promising, but not rich, naval officer, Captain Wentworth, proposed and she fell in love with him at 19. But Anne's deceased mother's friend, Lady Russell, persuaded Anne not to make the match. Up until the time of the story, Anne hasn't had another suitor and she's now well past the usual age of marriage at 29 and "her bloom had vanish early." Her father's spendthrift ways mean that Anne could bring little money to a marriage so she's expecting not to marry.

While in her social class that lack of a husband is a drawback, in reality her family is a greater problem. Her father, Sir Walter Elliot, is a baronet who spends too much money, is obsessed by social rank, loves to be around the "beautiful people" and admire himself in a mirror, and keeps company with an unsuitable, scheming widow, Mrs. Clay, who is looking for a husband and has latched onto Elizabeth as friend. Anne's older sister, Elizabeth, is also unmarried and is as equally obsessed with social status as their father. Both Sir Walter and Elizabeth fail to value Anne and looked to her to suit their conveniences. The other daughter, Mary, is married but the connection doesn't thrill either Sir Walter or Elizabeth. Mary sees Anne as a virtual servant who should wait on her every beck and call when Anne is her guest.

Due to Sir Walter's over spending of his income, it is decided he will rent the family estate, Kellynch Hall, while he, Elizabeth, and Anne take up less expensive quarters and a reduced social life in Bath. This change sets lots of new events into motion, not the least of which is Anne being re-introduced to Captain Wentworth who now has a fortune and seems to be looking for a lively, young wife. Only their common commitment to being polite makes time in one another's company tolerable. What strong emotions burn under the surface? She's very embarrassed, but Captain Wentworth is hard to read.

In the course of the book, you'll find out a lot about social climbing in Regency England, the finances of the social elites and those who were up-and-coming, how marriage agreements were struck, and how the naval officers differed from the gentry. You'll also be impressed, I'm sure, by the patina of politeness that served as a social lubricant among people who often didn't care a trifle for one another.

In such a society, people mostly wore masks of being thoughtful, considerate people while in reality they were seldom thinking about very much and didn't care much for others. Anne Elliot is the exception in that her heart and mind are actually devoted to the service of others.

One of the most interesting parts of the story is how it was possible (mostly by accident) to sort out the phonies from among those with glittering manners.

Anne Elliot is one of the most memorable and admirable characters in English literature. Do read this book and find out about the other kinds of persuasion that took place during this year of her fictional life. You'll be delighted that you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Persuasion(MP3)(Unabr.)
Persuasion(MP3)(Unabr.
)
by Jane Austen (MP3 CD - Oct. 16 2008)
CDN$ 29.95 CDN$ 18.87
Usually ships in 2 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews