Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The 13th Eve Dallas - J.D. Robb -- timely, fun, great !
Nora Roberts writing as J.D. Robb for this "...In Death" series, has developed a winning formula that seems to produce a gripping and delightful outing every time; and Seduction In Death is no exception. Our heroine, NYPD Homicide Lieutenant Eve Dallas, together with a broad supporting cast of regulars who we enjoy seeing back -- NcNab, Peabody, Feeney, Summerset, Mavis,...
Published on May 5 2002 by Jerry Bull

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dallas and Roarke and Friends Continue to Improve.
I began reading these books at my wife's suggestion; while the earlier volumes were a bit weak, i found enough to continue, and now look forward to each new entry in the series.
Dallas and Roarke and company are strong and interesting -- if somewhat larger than life -- characters, who pull the reader into their lives and adventures, a definite plus for a series...
Published on Oct. 27 2001 by Michael Weber


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Another solid entry, Sept. 28 2003
By 
Eve's latest case is a killer who seduces his victims via internet chat rooms, killing her on their first date. Eve has always been passionate about her job, but the predatory nature of the crimes makes her even more determined than usual to catch him before he has the chance to kill again.
"Seduction" is slightly different stylistically from the previous books, in that Robb shows the reader whodunnit from very early on, enabling the author to shift focus from solving a mystery to character exploration. At centerstage, as always, is Eve & Roarke's relationship, with a bit of Peabody & McNab thrown in for comedic relief. The secondary characters who have been given recurring roles in the series have very little to do in this book, so with little to temper Eve's manic energy, the pace seldom lets up.
This is a good read for those who enjoy futuristic fiction and/or hardboiled female detectives, but I would highly recommend that readers new to the "In Death" series begin at the beginning. Eve & Roarke have changed quite a bit from the early books, and their relationship is best understood as it unfolds and not in the middle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The 13th Eve Dallas - J.D. Robb -- timely, fun, great !, May 5 2002
By 
Jerry Bull "Gerald M. Bull" (Fairview, TN United States) - See all my reviews
Nora Roberts writing as J.D. Robb for this "...In Death" series, has developed a winning formula that seems to produce a gripping and delightful outing every time; and Seduction In Death is no exception. Our heroine, NYPD Homicide Lieutenant Eve Dallas, together with a broad supporting cast of regulars who we enjoy seeing back -- NcNab, Peabody, Feeney, Summerset, Mavis, and of course, Eve's husband and billionaire entrepreneur "Roarke" -- solves a serial killing spree thankfully spanning only a few days in fictional time. In this tale, we're told the identity of the killer up front and get both sides of the hunt and chase, which is a very interesting technique much in the mode of John Sandford's "Prey" series. The use of Internet chat rooms and budding relationships via email certainly add to the currency of the proceedings. The plot is complex and suspenseful, and entertaining from start to finish.
Two somewhat unusual elements add greatly to the appeal of this series. First, the stories are set ahead 50 years in time -- so there is an element of creative science fiction exhibited by voice-commanded computers, video cellphones, some sort of personal air travel vehicles, artificial food prepared by machines, and "droids" that look and act like humans but are really robots. Most of this borders on the believable and adds to the interest of the stories without detracting from credibility. The other angle is the "romantic thriller" relationship between Eve and her husband Roarke. While he is immensely wealthy now, he shares a poor and troubled upbringing as did Eve, a background that frequently allows our leading characters to find much solace in each other. For those that care, there are some fairly steamy, "R"-rated sex scenes between the two...
We join the audience who look forward to each new entree in this appealing, out of the ordinary, set of police mysteries. The evocative commentary, the case intrigue, the action, and a set of very interesting characters add up to top rate enjoyable reading. How does Nora keep pumping them out?!?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, Wonderful Read!, Jan. 28 2002
By 
"Seduction in Death" is the thirteenth novel in Robb's "In Death" series and shows absolutely no sign of going stale. Indeed, the story is especially fresh and thrilling and will keep you turning pages all night long.
In this instalment, Lieutenant Eve Dallas of the NYPSD (in the year 2059) is tracking a killer who courts his victims in Internet poetry chat rooms. Upon meeting his woman of choice, the killer slips a nasty date rape drug into her wine, takes her home and rapes her on a rose-petal strewn bed, then administers a final dose of drugs that proves fatal.
Eve is disturbed by this current case, as it dredges up memories of her own abused childhood. But anyone who knows Eve Dallas knows that she will find justice for the dead no matter what, and she begins the process of tracking her killer. The drugs administered to the first victim were valued at over a quarter of a million dollars, so who would have access to such a rare (virtually unheard-of) and expensive drug?
Eve is determined to stop the killer before countless more women are terrorized and killed, and when the opportunity arises, Eve decides to go undercover as bait in order to get her man!
I truly enjoyed the mystery Robb has crafted in this book. She used a slightly different format this time, letting the reader know the killer's identity early on. This in no way detracted from the suspense, however, as it was extremely exciting watching Eve put the clues together and come closer and closer to finding the killer.
As always, Eve and Roarke's relationship is fulfilling, passionate, and heart-warming. It's wonderful to read about these two, and see their devotion to one another. Robb has an immense talent for creating vivid and intriguing characters, and Eve and Roarke are two of her best ever. The secondary characters such as Peabody, Eve's aide, the E-Detectives, Captain Feeney and Detective McNab, and many others, are equally vibrant and always lots of fun to read about. You will fall in love with all of them!
"Seduction in Death" is a suspenseful and well thought out book, containing Robb's brilliantly rendered characters, in a fascinating futuristic setting. I guarantee this book and the entire rest of the series will entertain and satisfy you - so don't miss out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars She's really excellent at this..., Nov. 23 2001
By 
L. Quido "quidrock" (Tampa, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Nora Roberts writes a paperback fiction series as "J.D.Robb". This, the 13th instalment, shows no signs of being stale, although in 13 books, the time element has moved in the series only about a year. Nora/JD is incredibly innovative in her mix of plotlines, and juggles the romance element (not my favorite part!) admirably with the suspense and police procedural elements
to keep readers interested and make her books hard to put down.
In this outing, Eve Dallas, tougher than ever, follows up on a series of brutal sex crimes/killings perpetrated by a man who meets his targets and seduces them online. All the familiar back up characters are here...I especially love the backdrop of Mavis and her entourage partying in the background while Dallas and Roarke are consumed by solving the crime. We get an end (a beginning?) here of the Peabody/McNab/Charles triangle, in a very satisfying way...and, once again, Nora/JD leaves some breadcrumbs for those who are thinking it is time for Dallas to start a family.
Just a great, light mystery series by a writer who is not always taken seriously, but who never fails to entertain! 5 stars as one of the best in the "In Death" series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dallas and Roarke and Friends Continue to Improve., Oct. 27 2001
By 
Michael Weber "fairportfan" (Atlanta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I began reading these books at my wife's suggestion; while the earlier volumes were a bit weak, i found enough to continue, and now look forward to each new entry in the series.
Dallas and Roarke and company are strong and interesting -- if somewhat larger than life -- characters, who pull the reader into their lives and adventures, a definite plus for a series.
The plausibility of the police action portion of the stories continues to improve; that is, while not particularly like real-world police procedures, it still rings true enough for the purposes of the story.
The futuristic setting still fails to convince me, but it's certainly at least as self-consistent and plausible as the future we see in "Star Trek".
The romance elements... well, they're there. I never cease to be amused by the fact that mainstream, respectable romance novels of today often feature language and descriptions rather stronger than were common in under-the-counter pornography when i was in my teens, forty years ago.
As usual, Dallas's byplay with her assistant, Officer Peabody, and Peabody and computer cop McNabb's on-again/off-again hot romance provide elements of broad humour and Roarke continues to own virtually everything in sight. (I'm getting a bit tired of that gag, actually.)
Plotwise, it's one of the tighter and more complex to date; pretty obviously inspired by the real-life Leopold/Loeb killings that also inspired Hitchcock's "Rope", but giving a couple of nasty little extra twists of the type that are this series's stock in trade.
The initial crime(s) that bring Dallas into the story involve the use of some rather nasty date-rape drugs in the seduction and deaths of young women in kinkily-romantic settings; bed strewn with rose petals, fine wines, lovely dinners... and death.
As Dallas and Peabody probe the case, it becomes evident that this is something beyond "merely" a rapist/murderer... something nastier and sicker and dirtier.
And Dallas offers herself as bait for the monster...
If you've read earlier books in the series and enjoyed it, then you'll want to read this one as well. If you haven't read any of them, you could either go back to the beginning of the series, or you could, i'd say, easily begin with this or any other of the earlier ones that sounds interesting. Unlike some series, while the characters and setting have been steadily developing in interest and complexity, this is not a series that one has to read from the very first in order to properly appreciate them.
I would love to see a decent film or TV series made from this series; having caught an early "Remington Steele" the other day, i'd love to see Pierce Brosnan as Roarke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great edition to the IN DEATH series, Sept. 30 2001
This is a great book but I highly recommend starting at the first book in the series (Naked in Death) to fully appreciate this tale. It is another great addition to the Eve Dallas - Roarke saga, but definitely not the first book to start out reading this series with...
Although I was initially hooked by some of the romance and suspense, I have totally foregone the suspense and read it now for the romance and developing relationships between Eve & Roarke, Peabody & McNabb, Eve and her co-workers. This time, the Licensed Companion, Charles comes back and enjoys a hefty role, as well as other characters from her previous books.
This story is like reading a long letter from an old friend. You know and love the characters. You want to see them, visit with them and watch their live(s) change and grow. With this book, you see Roarke and Eve growing as a couple, strengthening their marriage, and resolving some of their past issues.
The mystery/suspense is good, not great in this story. For those of us who are Eve Dallas junkies, read the book. You laugh, you cry, you sigh, and you smile at the development of our "friends".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Satisfying Read, Sept. 28 2001
By 
A. Sullivan "asullivn" (Columbia, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've now read all 13 novels in the "in Death" series as well as the two short stories and I still haven't gotten enough of the main characters, Eve and Roarke. In this latest installment, Lt. Eve Dallas is investigating the serial murder of women who participated in on-line poetry chat rooms, each the apparent victim of romance gone horribly wrong.
This novel is a little different than most of the others in the series in that you know early on "who done it". The suspense comes in wondering if Eve will figure it out before anyone else is murdered and in hoping Eve can beat the killer at his own game.
In this novel, J.D. Robb re-introduces us to Charles Monroe and Dr. Louise DiMatto (tertiary characters from previous novels) and continues their character development. Peabody and McNab are also at it again with verbal sparring and miscommunication abounding.
"Seduction" is infused with taught suspense, laugh-out-loud wit, bad guys you love to hate, and a little romance thrown in for good measure. Please tell me there's more to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Strongest Story Yet!, Sept. 22 2001
By A Customer
I found this most recent of the "In Death" series by J.D. Robb to be one of the best yet. Once again, fans of the series enjoy the colorful and snappy dialog between Eve and Roarke, not to mention the curl-your-toes bedroom scenes that we all love! McNabb and Peabody garner a good and funny story line, and we visit with characters from previous books as well. Who doesn't chuckle over Charles calling Eve "Lt. Sugar!"
This is a good, solid story with additonal character developement. Knowing who the killers are at the beginning of the story (a nice change for this series) doesn't lessen the impact and suspence of the book, but rather adds to the plot and gives the reader a thrill knowing the "baddies" before Dallas does! In an interesting twist, the reader can check off the clues as Eve works the case and puts all of the pieces together by putting herself in the killer's shoes. Once again, the delectable Roarke stands with her as her civilian consultant with Eve grumbling all the way!
Eve and Roarke continue to grow together... accepting each other's quirks and foibles a little more each time, with more ease. Another a plus from reading such a wonderful series... I feel as though I am visiting old friends again! Kudos to Ms. Robb for another terrific story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Yet, Sept. 15 2001
Two sophisticated serial killers are stalking the women of New York via email. Or is it one man with multiple personalities? Tough homicide lieutenant Eve Dallas must solve the mystery quickly, before any more women are brutally raped and killed.
In perhaps her toughest assignment yet, Eve must unravel clue upon clue to get to the core of the case. And it won't be easy. As she peels away each false identity of the murderers, another even more clever identity emerges. Each victim has been lured to her death by a so-called "poet," who just happens to share a love of art, poetry, the classics, and other intellectual pursuits with his online "soulmate. It is chillingly easy to disguise one's identity on email, especially if, in the case of this murderer, he has multiple accounts that lead to nowhere.
Surveillance tapes and first-hand sightings of the possible suspect or suspects only compound the puzzle, as the killers are adept at face putty and other disguises, and so appear completely different each time they kill. In 2059, such appearance enhancers are all too available, as Eve well knows. When she needs a disguise of her own, she has to be almost literally hogtied as she submits to the "beautification" efforts of her dear friend, "mag" rock star Mavis, and Mavis's sidekick Trina. Those of us who know Eve et al. from the previous "In Death" novels tend to root for Mavis and Trina, as Eve's idea of beauty is primitive at best.
This insertion of comic relief is a Robb trademark, and only serves to intensify the mystery beneath. The genius of it, however, is that with each little interlude such as the beauty session, we learn more about what makes the "In-Death" regulars tick, just as we would in a real-life relationship. Thus we are privy to the on-again, off-again, often hilarious romance between Eve's stalwart aide Peabody and her peacock-dressing boyfriend, detective MacNab. There is more nasty verbal byplay between Eve and her husband's stiff and unyielding butler, Sommerset. And we get to see Eve's onetime mentor and dear friend Feeney in some unforgettable pajamas. As always, new readers will enjoy these characters, who only serve to add color and depth to the story. But regulars such as I feel we KNOW these people, and while we follow the mystery, we are also treated to the ongoing saga of each of their lives. MOST satisfying!
Nowhere is this more evident, of course, than in the deep and complicated relationship between Eve and her husband of one year, the brilliant and impossibly gorgeous billionaire Roarke. I have referred to their relationship before as fascinating, and it is...two strong, forceful people, each of whom have overcome unspeakable childhood horrors and emerged winners, must accommodate themselves to each other. We have watched as, in book after book, both Eve and Roarke, but especially Eve, have allowed layers of self-protection to fall away as they each learn to trust in the love they share. Theirs is not an easy relationship, but at its core is an intense bond that reveals itself more and more.
Robb skillfully weaves the many threads of her plot together with great skill, making it seem easy. In the end, the murdered women are avenged, and Eve has survived yet another attack on her character by a jealous rogue cop; queasily accepted the very physical relationship of Peabody and swain; seen her mentor in shocking pajamas; glimpsed a side of her Commander (Whitney) that she has never seen before; and, most importantly, let down another barrier in her erotic and high-energy marriage.
I strongly recommend this book. Regular readers will be thrilled to see Robb back in the groove after a somewhat disappointing (but still worth reading) "Betrayal in Death." Those new to the series will be tantalized enough to want to read all 12 previous efforts. And me? I'm pacing the floor, waiting for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The title should have been Snagged & Tagged!, Sept. 3 2001
By 
While I generally love the "In Death" books by Robb, this one fell short for me. Can we all agree that Eve and Roarke are the best part of any of the In Death books? I find myself skimming the story and trying to find the parts which contain scenes with Roarke and Eve in them. Yes, Mira and Peabody are interesting but the "mystery" is at the bottom of the list. As for my title for this review, once again this author has latched onto a word, or words in this case and felt the need to overuse them again and again.Do we really need to hear Eve say the workd tag in place of call, get in touch with, track down, look for, find etc....? As for snag, I suppose everyone in the future snags everything, the phone, the drink, the car, yada, yada, yada! Please, when you use the same word a few times on the same page and then turn around and use it 2-3 pages later, one is left to believe it has become the only verbs these characters know! Sorry for the rant but it is getting worse with each book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seduction in Death(CD)Libr(Unabr)
Seduction in Death(CD)Libr(Unabr) by J.D. Robb (Audio CD - Feb. 4 2008)
CDN$ 113.95 CDN$ 91.16
Usually ships in 3 to 6 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews