Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harry Misreads the Clues
Michael Connelly does something unusual in Trunk Music: He makes Harry Bosch fallible in his work as well as in his private life. The result is that Harry has setbacks that go beyond his usual run-ins with LAPD authority. The result is entertaining and convoluted, providing novelty to this excellent series.

This isn't my favorite in the series by a long shot...
Published on Aug. 4 2008 by Donald Mitchell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Boot Music ?
Harry Bosch is back at work in the LAPD homicide squad after a period of suspension. (I wish I had read these books in the right order). The question is whether he can buckle down and play by the rules whilst cracking the mystery behind a hit-man style murder. A body is found in the boot (ooops, make that trunk) of a white Rolls Royce (well, it is a British car)...
Published on March 18 2001 by binnsie


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harry Misreads the Clues, Aug. 4 2008
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: Trunk Music (Mass Market Paperback)
Michael Connelly does something unusual in Trunk Music: He makes Harry Bosch fallible in his work as well as in his private life. The result is that Harry has setbacks that go beyond his usual run-ins with LAPD authority. The result is entertaining and convoluted, providing novelty to this excellent series.

This isn't my favorite in the series by a long shot. The noir aspects just aren't as dark as in Connelly's best efforts.

Gallows humor saves the book, beginning with finding a corpse in a car trunk where the crime scene can be seen from the audience at the Hollywood Bowl. Even Harry knows that he's got to avoid messing up the concert. The show must go on!

The Las Vegas parts of the story open up many new threads for future tales, including a meeting in this book with an old friend from The Black Echo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Hits Vegas, Jan. 26 2007
Ce commentaire est de: Trunk Music (Mass Market Paperback)
"Trunk Music" was Michael Connelly's sixth book, his fifth to feature Harry Bosch and was first published in 1997. Although Harry remains a cigarette-smoking, beer-swilling, coffee-drinking jazz-fan, his life has seen a few changes since "The Last Coyote". It's been about eight months since Harry returned to the Hollywood Division from involuntary stress leave, but roughly eighteen since he 'officially' investigated a homicide case. Bosch has spent the previous eight months working the burglary table - officially, this was to ease him back into detective work. In reality, however, it was a slap on the wrist for his 'unofficial' investigation outlined in "The Last Coyote" - while he was his involuntary stress leave. He's also spending much of his free time redecorating his house - condemned after an earthquake, it's been demolished and now rebuilt.

The Hollywood Division is now under the command of a new Lieutenant, Grace Billets. In turn, she has decided that all homicides should be investigated by three detectives. Harry is the team leader of Squad One : his partners are Jerry Edgar, who he'd worked with previously, and Kizmin Rider. Rider transferred in around the same time as Billets, both from the LAPD's Pacific Division. "Trunk Music" covers Harry's first case back at the homicide table under these new arrangements. A body has been found in the trunk of a Rolls Royce along Hollywood Drive, overlooking the Hollywood Bowl. Certain factors seem to indicate the victim - Tony Aliso - was killed by the Mob. As such, the case should be turned over to the Organized Crime Intelligence Unit. However, when notified, OCID take a pass - although Harry's happy he hasn't lost his case, he still finds that decision a little strange. To complicate matters, it later appears the officer Harry contacted - a man called Carbone - is taking a 'casual' interest in the case. Harry believes there's more to this than meets the eye, but knows he'll have to be careful. While OCID are supposed to concentrate on organized crime, it is widely believed they hold thick files on many - including the Police Chief and the Mayor. In other words, they're not afraid to play dirty to get what they want.

Aliso, although a small-time player in the movie business, still made a healthy living from it. Married to one of his former actresses, he took regular trips to Vegas. The length of these trips would vary, depending on his luck at the poker tables - however, his wife suspected he did more in Vegas than just gamble. He was returning from one of these trips when he was apparently intercepted and killed. Realising the killer may have followed Aliso from Vegas, Harry takes a trip there to try and retrace his steps. The trip, however, throws up one or two surprises - and it wouldn't be a Harry Bosch novel if he didn't find himself in serious trouble.

Connelly has written another excellent book, and has also introduced two very likeable characters - Billets and Rider. Billets, unlike Harry's previous boss, seems to care about clearing cases - rather than fiddling statistics to make the department look good. Rider, meanwhile, is considered an excellent detective and is tipped to go right to the top. It would probably be a slight advantage to have read at least a couple of the previous Bosch novels- for example, there are certain slight references to some of the events from "The Black Echo" and "The Last Coyote". While it's not entirely necessary, I would recommend reading them first - they are both excellent books, and knowing the "full story" will add to the enjoyment of this instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hardcover 1st edition published 1997- a pleasurable read..., Jan. 5 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Trunk Music (Hardcover)
After a leave of absence, LAPD detective Harry Bosch comes forward via request to investigate the circle of circumstances involving the death of Anthony Aliso, whose body is found in the trunk of the victim's car, parked on Mulholland Drive. Author Connelly immediately catches the reader's attention with depth, each "clue" leads to another piece of solving this thriller - such clues as the mysterious substance found around the victim's eyes. Each time Bosch thinks he has the biggest lead to the murder of Aliso, another corner is turned, leading to more information that detours Bosch to trail the killer(s).
Is Aliso's wife involved in any way? Are the individuals who Bosch meets in Las Vegas gambling casinos involved? In the process of investigation, Bosch is taken back in time to a former acquaintance, more-than-friend Eleanor Wish. Bosch encounters "enemies" within the LAPD and FBI who "hold" information over him, attempting to deter and dismiss Bosch from the case. With supportive efforts of the investigation team including head of department Billets, and department members Kiz Rider and Edgar, Bosch continues his travails to catch a killer.
Connelly spins this mystery like a smooth operating gambling wheel -- each piece of information, each character, each action, fit into a slot making for a pleasurable, entertaining, suspenseful, intricate and clever mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Excellent Harry Bosch Novel, Dec 29 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Trunk Music (Mass Market Paperback)
TRUNK MUSIC finds Harry investigating an apparent mafia hit on a small-time movie producer. The victim has been found in the truck of his car with two bullets in his head. He was shot from behind at very close range. Of course, Connelly provides plenty of twists before you get to the end. Some will surprise you even if some don't. But between Harry's personal travails and the difficulties of unraveling the case, there is plenty to keep the pages turning. Besides a convoluted plot, Connelly also provides characters of depth and lots of rough edges.
This is Connelly's fifth Harry Bosch story and it's the fifth one I've read. I've thoroughly enjoyed each one and I recommend them to anyone who likes gritty police procedurals. It's not really my favorite genre, but these are exceptional. Harry has developed steadily throughout the series, however, and there are elements that crop up from previous books, so if you haven't read any Harry Bosch stories before, I advise going back and starting from the first. I highly recommend TRUNK MUSIC, along with each of its four predecessors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MORE TROUBLE WITH HARRY, Oct. 3 2002
By 
Michael Butts (Berkeley Springs, WV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Trunk Music (Mass Market Paperback)
If I were Harry Bosch, I think I'd get a job as a bouncer or something...the poor guy, he's at it again and he's up against more internal affairs investigations. There's one time in here in which his new chief, Grace Bittell, looks at him and says, "Harry, why don't you grow up and stop these pissing games?". Bravo, Grace.
Now, don't get me wrong. Harry's still a great cop and he has a nose for finding out the details in snaring his criminals. Although in this one, he and his cohorts Kimz Rider and Jerry Edgar, blow it big time. But the new chief is a more intricate and understanding one than the previous Harvey Pounds.
Anyway, in this multi-focused book, Bosch is up against the murderer of a small-time Hollywood producer who is killed in the trunk of his Rolls Royce and it looks like a mob hit. Of course, Harry is not so sure about it, so off her goes to Las Vegas to do more research. He stumbles upon a likely suspect in Luke Goshen, who is more than what he appears to be. Lo and behold, Harry also stumbles upon his former love, Eleanor Wish, who has spent five years in prison for her part in a nasty crime committed in an earlier work. So add this to Harry's problem and you've got quite a bit of trouble brewing.
Connelly makes this work for him most of the time, although I tend to agree that the ending comes a little quicker than usual and even though we have an exciting climax in a little shopping mall, there's even one more little twist that Connelly tags on that's not really that exciting. However, there is a surprise for Harry at the end as far as his love life goes.
All in all, you really can't go wrong with Harry Bosch or Connelly. He's a great writer and you can't help but fall in with Bosch and his bullheadedness...he gets the job done!!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Altogether average, July 7 2002
Ce commentaire est de: Trunk Music (Mass Market Paperback)
This is quite good...but at times i had to work hard to convince myself that parts of it weren't a bit dull.
The main problem lies in the fact that whatever happened, the reader isn't made to care. The victim is never really fleshed out, and neither are some of the suspects. The writing is great, and the dual cities of LA and Las Vegas are written about well, with a well evoked atmosphere in each case. (As is the norm for Connelly.)
Harry Bosch is on fine form once again. In fact, it is him that lifts this book's from a three to a four star rating. When his love interest is introduced about a quarter of the way through, the pace (and interest) picks up a little. However, she is not featured enough, and soon interest drains away once more. The next time it gets interesting is only when there is a plot twist or two. From then on, this book does get better. There are a couple of first class twists along the way that are really unexpected and they freshen up the material.
However, the final solution is disocovered about 75 pages from the end, and thenceforth there is almost nothing extra to add to the plot. there is no final surprise, no last twist, no last minute realisations. There is a small surprise, i suppose, but it does not really carry much weight, and the 50 or so pages we travelled to reach it dont seem all that worth it.
All this being said, it is quite an interesting book, and there are some unmissable developments in Bosch's love life, which make this book worth reading.
By no means his best book, but for Bosch fans, it should be read. Casual perusers should read one of the other Bosch books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rises well above genre, May 30 2002
By 
Neal Reynolds (Indianapolis, Indiana) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Trunk Music (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the first Michael Connelly book I read (am currently reading the third). I was interested in reading one that just came out in paperback, but decided to read earlier books about the two lead characters first...good choice on my part. This is the earliest book I could find and was a good enough introduction to Harry Bosch, although I would've liked to have found earlier adventures of his.
It captured me from the beginning with the description of the crime scene and the Los Angeles area locale. The conflict between personalities and branches of law enforcement who should be working together to solve a crime is a constant theme woven throughout the book. And there is a fascination watching as a man's life is pieced together by the investigators.
But the real fascination is with the skillful guidance down the wrong path with the main character and the subsequent twists and surprises. There are clues, but I'm learning that Connelly is good also at tossing in irrelevant information in a way that makes it appear relevant for a time. There's no cheating. There's quite a bit that can be anticipated if the clues are caught.
The characters are stricty three dimensional, with no cardboard characters. Some you care for and some you don't. But they live and breathe.
This can be enjoyed either as an entertaining read, or as a puzzle, a game in which the author plays fairly, and yet very likely will manage to surprise you at least in some of the particulars. There's plenty of depth here if you choose to read from a deeper level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Solid Stars As Harry Catches A Well-Deserved Break!!!!!, Dec 19 2001
By 
Paul Dana (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Trunk Music (Mass Market Paperback)
Fictional LAPD homicide investigator Hieronymous "Harry" Bosch is more than slightly analogous to Dashiell Hammett's Sam Spade: an idealization; the cop (as opposed to Spade's private detective) that most real-life practitioners would dearly love to imagine themselves as being. Where Hammett drew upon his actual experiences as a Pinkerton op to flesh out Spade's character, Michael Connelly relies on his years -- and contacts -- as an L.A. Times crime beat reporter to achieve the high degree of verisimilitude he brings to Bosch's world.
Make no mistake, Bosch is the genuine article: There's a ruthlessness to him, a pin-the-eyeballs and outwait-the-scumbag patience in his manner. Bosch has been privy -- and party -- to interrogative procedures that would send an ACLU attorney ballistic should that individual ever find out. Harry Bosch has precious few (if any) illusions; the ends do justify the means. (If you doubt me on this, then never -- I repeat, NEVER -- let yourself be caught in a one-on-one with a large-city police detective.)
Where Bosch sails into the idealized world of a real-life cop's "wish-fulfillment," in this novel, is in his confrontation with a Deputy Chief (more than a demi-god in any city PD) as well as his arrogant trumping of an Internal Affairs "squint;" frankly, any practicing cop is going to tread much, much more lightly in either -- let alone both -- arenas. (I've had my own experiences in both situations; trust me on this.) But Connelly pulls it off. Largely, I believe, because his attention to detail in other areas -- the nuts-and-bolts of a major investigation -- is dead-on accurate.
As to the storyline itself: Bosch, freshly-reinstated as an Investigator III (Lead Investigator) following a suspension, is called out to what, at first-blush, appears to be a gangland execution. But is it? His investigation, as he spearheads his three-officer team, ultimately leads him to Las Vegas, into at least one (actually two) jurisdictional disputes, and once again places his career -- not to mention his calling -- in jeopardy. Add to that the rekindling of a romance he'd given up as lost, not to mention the decisions he'll have to face there, a brand-new supervisor (Lt. Grace "Bullets" Billets) whose confidence he must somehow win, and several peripheral, personal, issues -- and you'll likely find yourself wondering how in the blazes even Harry Bosch is gonna pull this one off.
A hint here as to the ultimate resolution: At least one (if not two) longtime tenets of homicide investigation apply. 'Nuff said, because -- in the long run -- you'll probably find yourself much more concerned for Harry's welfare than anything so mundane as the 'whodunnit.'
And it's this quality, finally, which earns "Trunk Music" my five-star rating: It may not be the best book in Connelly's Harry Bosch series (thus far, in my opinion, go for "The Last Coyote"), but it keeps you caring . . . right up to an ending which strikes me as uncannily 'right.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing read but not Connelly's best, June 21 2001
By 
Carol Peterson Hennekens (Colorado Springs, CO United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Trunk Music (Mass Market Paperback)
I'm not a big fan of the hard-boiled, Southern California cop/P.I. genre. Still, Michael Connelly has the ability to take that setting and produce a compelling series. I really enjoyed the earlier Bosch books. This book is good but I got the sense that Connelly is getting a little bit bored with Bosch.
Much of this book seems to be a rehash of elements of earlier books. It's back to Vegas - again. Harry's hauled into IAD - again. Harry's smoking obsessively - again. With a movie producer as the victim, I had the sense that Connelly was playing the Hollywood movie card that he'd held in reserve for a day when his writer's block prevented more orginal and compelling plots. On the positive side, I really like the additions to Harry's police comrades. It's nice that he finally has a supervisor with a brain. And I'm optimistic about Eleanor - lone wolf Bosch was due for a change.
Bottom-line: Even a weak link in this series is better than the best that many other authors produce. Still, not the best book for a first time reader of Connelly to consider. It's worth going back to the Black Echo and reading this series in order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Connelly's Best is Here!, May 21 2001
Ce commentaire est de: Trunk Music (Mass Market Paperback)
Trunk Music is Michael Connelly's best mystery. It kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time I was reading the book. I really didn't want to put it down, but it was 15 minutes until I had to be at work.
I even read on it all day and finished when I came home. It was a simply delightful and suspenseful book.
The characters were selected for this story with the upmost care, and I was amazed at the believablility of the characters involved in the book. I was pleased that the author provided detail of not only the characters, but also the action, so that, like other mystery books out there, you end up getting confused because of not enough detail or too much. Not so in this book; everything was just right.
I liked the fact that the theme was believable, too. Many times I have read a mystery, only to think that it wasn't believable; it would have never happened. Not so with this book!! You will read things that come out of today's headlines. I won't say any more, because if you read the rest of the reviews, it would blow some good things for you, so just trust me!
Get this book; I know you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trunk Music(CD)(Unabr.)
Trunk Music(CD)(Unabr.) by Michael Connelly (Audio CD - Nov. 22 2006)
CDN$ 45.50 CDN$ 36.40
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews