Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars hardcover 1st edition published 1997- a pleasurable read...
After a leave of absence, LAPD detective Harry Bosch comes forward via request to investigate the circle of circumstances involving the death of Anthony Aliso, whose body is found in the trunk of the victim's car, parked on Mulholland Drive. Author Connelly immediately catches the reader's attention with depth, each "clue" leads to another piece of solving this...
Published on Jan. 5 2004 by Josephine Kaszuba Locke

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Boot Music ?
Harry Bosch is back at work in the LAPD homicide squad after a period of suspension. (I wish I had read these books in the right order). The question is whether he can buckle down and play by the rules whilst cracking the mystery behind a hit-man style murder. A body is found in the boot (ooops, make that trunk) of a white Rolls Royce (well, it is a British car)...
Published on March 18 2001 by binnsie


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars hardcover 1st edition published 1997- a pleasurable read..., Jan. 5 2004
This review is from: Trunk Music (Hardcover)
After a leave of absence, LAPD detective Harry Bosch comes forward via request to investigate the circle of circumstances involving the death of Anthony Aliso, whose body is found in the trunk of the victim's car, parked on Mulholland Drive. Author Connelly immediately catches the reader's attention with depth, each "clue" leads to another piece of solving this thriller - such clues as the mysterious substance found around the victim's eyes. Each time Bosch thinks he has the biggest lead to the murder of Aliso, another corner is turned, leading to more information that detours Bosch to trail the killer(s).
Is Aliso's wife involved in any way? Are the individuals who Bosch meets in Las Vegas gambling casinos involved? In the process of investigation, Bosch is taken back in time to a former acquaintance, more-than-friend Eleanor Wish. Bosch encounters "enemies" within the LAPD and FBI who "hold" information over him, attempting to deter and dismiss Bosch from the case. With supportive efforts of the investigation team including head of department Billets, and department members Kiz Rider and Edgar, Bosch continues his travails to catch a killer.
Connelly spins this mystery like a smooth operating gambling wheel -- each piece of information, each character, each action, fit into a slot making for a pleasurable, entertaining, suspenseful, intricate and clever mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Excellent Harry Bosch Novel, Dec 29 2003
TRUNK MUSIC finds Harry investigating an apparent mafia hit on a small-time movie producer. The victim has been found in the truck of his car with two bullets in his head. He was shot from behind at very close range. Of course, Connelly provides plenty of twists before you get to the end. Some will surprise you even if some don't. But between Harry's personal travails and the difficulties of unraveling the case, there is plenty to keep the pages turning. Besides a convoluted plot, Connelly also provides characters of depth and lots of rough edges.
This is Connelly's fifth Harry Bosch story and it's the fifth one I've read. I've thoroughly enjoyed each one and I recommend them to anyone who likes gritty police procedurals. It's not really my favorite genre, but these are exceptional. Harry has developed steadily throughout the series, however, and there are elements that crop up from previous books, so if you haven't read any Harry Bosch stories before, I advise going back and starting from the first. I highly recommend TRUNK MUSIC, along with each of its four predecessors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MORE TROUBLE WITH HARRY, Oct. 3 2002
By 
Michael Butts (Berkeley Springs, WV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If I were Harry Bosch, I think I'd get a job as a bouncer or something...the poor guy, he's at it again and he's up against more internal affairs investigations. There's one time in here in which his new chief, Grace Bittell, looks at him and says, "Harry, why don't you grow up and stop these pissing games?". Bravo, Grace.
Now, don't get me wrong. Harry's still a great cop and he has a nose for finding out the details in snaring his criminals. Although in this one, he and his cohorts Kimz Rider and Jerry Edgar, blow it big time. But the new chief is a more intricate and understanding one than the previous Harvey Pounds.
Anyway, in this multi-focused book, Bosch is up against the murderer of a small-time Hollywood producer who is killed in the trunk of his Rolls Royce and it looks like a mob hit. Of course, Harry is not so sure about it, so off her goes to Las Vegas to do more research. He stumbles upon a likely suspect in Luke Goshen, who is more than what he appears to be. Lo and behold, Harry also stumbles upon his former love, Eleanor Wish, who has spent five years in prison for her part in a nasty crime committed in an earlier work. So add this to Harry's problem and you've got quite a bit of trouble brewing.
Connelly makes this work for him most of the time, although I tend to agree that the ending comes a little quicker than usual and even though we have an exciting climax in a little shopping mall, there's even one more little twist that Connelly tags on that's not really that exciting. However, there is a surprise for Harry at the end as far as his love life goes.
All in all, you really can't go wrong with Harry Bosch or Connelly. He's a great writer and you can't help but fall in with Bosch and his bullheadedness...he gets the job done!!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Altogether average, July 7 2002
This is quite good...but at times i had to work hard to convince myself that parts of it weren't a bit dull.
The main problem lies in the fact that whatever happened, the reader isn't made to care. The victim is never really fleshed out, and neither are some of the suspects. The writing is great, and the dual cities of LA and Las Vegas are written about well, with a well evoked atmosphere in each case. (As is the norm for Connelly.)
Harry Bosch is on fine form once again. In fact, it is him that lifts this book's from a three to a four star rating. When his love interest is introduced about a quarter of the way through, the pace (and interest) picks up a little. However, she is not featured enough, and soon interest drains away once more. The next time it gets interesting is only when there is a plot twist or two. From then on, this book does get better. There are a couple of first class twists along the way that are really unexpected and they freshen up the material.
However, the final solution is disocovered about 75 pages from the end, and thenceforth there is almost nothing extra to add to the plot. there is no final surprise, no last twist, no last minute realisations. There is a small surprise, i suppose, but it does not really carry much weight, and the 50 or so pages we travelled to reach it dont seem all that worth it.
All this being said, it is quite an interesting book, and there are some unmissable developments in Bosch's love life, which make this book worth reading.
By no means his best book, but for Bosch fans, it should be read. Casual perusers should read one of the other Bosch books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rises well above genre, May 30 2002
By 
Neal C. Reynolds (Indianapolis, Indiana) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the first Michael Connelly book I read (am currently reading the third). I was interested in reading one that just came out in paperback, but decided to read earlier books about the two lead characters first...good choice on my part. This is the earliest book I could find and was a good enough introduction to Harry Bosch, although I would've liked to have found earlier adventures of his.
It captured me from the beginning with the description of the crime scene and the Los Angeles area locale. The conflict between personalities and branches of law enforcement who should be working together to solve a crime is a constant theme woven throughout the book. And there is a fascination watching as a man's life is pieced together by the investigators.
But the real fascination is with the skillful guidance down the wrong path with the main character and the subsequent twists and surprises. There are clues, but I'm learning that Connelly is good also at tossing in irrelevant information in a way that makes it appear relevant for a time. There's no cheating. There's quite a bit that can be anticipated if the clues are caught.
The characters are stricty three dimensional, with no cardboard characters. Some you care for and some you don't. But they live and breathe.
This can be enjoyed either as an entertaining read, or as a puzzle, a game in which the author plays fairly, and yet very likely will manage to surprise you at least in some of the particulars. There's plenty of depth here if you choose to read from a deeper level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Solid Stars As Harry Catches A Well-Deserved Break!!!!!, Dec 19 2001
By 
Paul Dana (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Fictional LAPD homicide investigator Hieronymous "Harry" Bosch is more than slightly analogous to Dashiell Hammett's Sam Spade: an idealization; the cop (as opposed to Spade's private detective) that most real-life practitioners would dearly love to imagine themselves as being. Where Hammett drew upon his actual experiences as a Pinkerton op to flesh out Spade's character, Michael Connelly relies on his years -- and contacts -- as an L.A. Times crime beat reporter to achieve the high degree of verisimilitude he brings to Bosch's world.
Make no mistake, Bosch is the genuine article: There's a ruthlessness to him, a pin-the-eyeballs and outwait-the-scumbag patience in his manner. Bosch has been privy -- and party -- to interrogative procedures that would send an ACLU attorney ballistic should that individual ever find out. Harry Bosch has precious few (if any) illusions; the ends do justify the means. (If you doubt me on this, then never -- I repeat, NEVER -- let yourself be caught in a one-on-one with a large-city police detective.)
Where Bosch sails into the idealized world of a real-life cop's "wish-fulfillment," in this novel, is in his confrontation with a Deputy Chief (more than a demi-god in any city PD) as well as his arrogant trumping of an Internal Affairs "squint;" frankly, any practicing cop is going to tread much, much more lightly in either -- let alone both -- arenas. (I've had my own experiences in both situations; trust me on this.) But Connelly pulls it off. Largely, I believe, because his attention to detail in other areas -- the nuts-and-bolts of a major investigation -- is dead-on accurate.
As to the storyline itself: Bosch, freshly-reinstated as an Investigator III (Lead Investigator) following a suspension, is called out to what, at first-blush, appears to be a gangland execution. But is it? His investigation, as he spearheads his three-officer team, ultimately leads him to Las Vegas, into at least one (actually two) jurisdictional disputes, and once again places his career -- not to mention his calling -- in jeopardy. Add to that the rekindling of a romance he'd given up as lost, not to mention the decisions he'll have to face there, a brand-new supervisor (Lt. Grace "Bullets" Billets) whose confidence he must somehow win, and several peripheral, personal, issues -- and you'll likely find yourself wondering how in the blazes even Harry Bosch is gonna pull this one off.
A hint here as to the ultimate resolution: At least one (if not two) longtime tenets of homicide investigation apply. 'Nuff said, because -- in the long run -- you'll probably find yourself much more concerned for Harry's welfare than anything so mundane as the 'whodunnit.'
And it's this quality, finally, which earns "Trunk Music" my five-star rating: It may not be the best book in Connelly's Harry Bosch series (thus far, in my opinion, go for "The Last Coyote"), but it keeps you caring . . . right up to an ending which strikes me as uncannily 'right.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing read but not Connelly's best, June 21 2001
By 
Carol Peterson Hennekens (Colorado Springs, CO United States) - See all my reviews
I'm not a big fan of the hard-boiled, Southern California cop/P.I. genre. Still, Michael Connelly has the ability to take that setting and produce a compelling series. I really enjoyed the earlier Bosch books. This book is good but I got the sense that Connelly is getting a little bit bored with Bosch.
Much of this book seems to be a rehash of elements of earlier books. It's back to Vegas - again. Harry's hauled into IAD - again. Harry's smoking obsessively - again. With a movie producer as the victim, I had the sense that Connelly was playing the Hollywood movie card that he'd held in reserve for a day when his writer's block prevented more orginal and compelling plots. On the positive side, I really like the additions to Harry's police comrades. It's nice that he finally has a supervisor with a brain. And I'm optimistic about Eleanor - lone wolf Bosch was due for a change.
Bottom-line: Even a weak link in this series is better than the best that many other authors produce. Still, not the best book for a first time reader of Connelly to consider. It's worth going back to the Black Echo and reading this series in order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Connelly's Best is Here!, May 21 2001
Trunk Music is Michael Connelly's best mystery. It kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time I was reading the book. I really didn't want to put it down, but it was 15 minutes until I had to be at work.
I even read on it all day and finished when I came home. It was a simply delightful and suspenseful book.
The characters were selected for this story with the upmost care, and I was amazed at the believablility of the characters involved in the book. I was pleased that the author provided detail of not only the characters, but also the action, so that, like other mystery books out there, you end up getting confused because of not enough detail or too much. Not so in this book; everything was just right.
I liked the fact that the theme was believable, too. Many times I have read a mystery, only to think that it wasn't believable; it would have never happened. Not so with this book!! You will read things that come out of today's headlines. I won't say any more, because if you read the rest of the reviews, it would blow some good things for you, so just trust me!
Get this book; I know you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Boot Music ?, March 18 2001
By 
Harry Bosch is back at work in the LAPD homicide squad after a period of suspension. (I wish I had read these books in the right order). The question is whether he can buckle down and play by the rules whilst cracking the mystery behind a hit-man style murder. A body is found in the boot (ooops, make that trunk) of a white Rolls Royce (well, it is a British car) overlooking the Hollywood Bowl.
After identifying the corpse, the plot moves between the plush Hollywood movie environment and the bright lights of Las Vegas and its strip joints. The pace is quick and the reader would have to be very sharp to work out "whodunit? There are more twists and turns than a game of snakes and ladders. Bosch meets a former girlfriend (as I said, it helps to read these books in the right order) who becomes a central character in the story. So now Bosch has got his girl, but the hard part which is to get his man, still lies ahead. Who is the man and what is the motive? Red herrings at every corner. As in a good spy story, not everyone is who he or she seems to be. "Goodies" or "Baddies" - be careful Harry. Not only is Bosch up against an organised crime syndicate, he has to stay one step ahead of the FBI who don't want him on the case and have their own diversionary tactics.
This is a good novel which should whet your appetite for further crime thrillers from the pen of Michael Connelly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Connelly never disappoints, July 20 1999
By A Customer
I've read the first five Harry Bosch novels, and have come to regard them as one continuous narrative in the eventful life of an old friend. Trunk Music was one of the better installments, and displays Connelly's typical mastery of plot development and authentic characterization. I've never found anyone in this genre whose dialogue rings truer, reminding me of a print version of a Steven Bochco show. Trunk Music also re-energizes the formula by introducing some great new characters in fellow cops Kizmin Rider and Grace Billets, and bringing back old flame Eleanor Wish.
Connelly weaves ambitiously intricate mysteries, always with several possible outcomes suggested. At times he seems to overreach, and the ending here feels a little rushed and unsatisfying. It's not that he leaves loose ends; everything is explained in his chosen scenario, it just seems that something with greater ironic power might have been available in this case. However, as I began this review, the more of these I read, the less I require them to be stand-alone masterpieces, and the more I simply relish inhabiting Bosch's world for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trunk Music(CD)(Unabr.)
Trunk Music(CD)(Unabr.) by Michael Connelly (Audio CD - Nov. 22 2006)
CDN$ 45.50 CDN$ 36.40
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews