Customer Reviews


381 Reviews
5 star:
 (269)
4 star:
 (59)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Entertaining!
This has got to be one of the best science fiction series I've ever read. The scope of this book and the sequels is amazing, it really keeps you glued to the page. Action packed, great character development, cool technical and scientific concepts, its all there. And many interesting thoughts about the role of religion etc, so it really makes you think. I really didn't...
Published on Nov. 5 2007 by Susan W

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not the best scifi
Not sure why this deserved a Hugo award. The book has some excellent ideas but overall was disjointed and lacked cohesion. I had the impression Simmons was setting the stage of some grand saga rather than writing a novel that was itself complete.
Published 5 months ago by Steve


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Entertaining!, Nov. 5 2007
This review is from: Hyperion (Mass Market Paperback)
This has got to be one of the best science fiction series I've ever read. The scope of this book and the sequels is amazing, it really keeps you glued to the page. Action packed, great character development, cool technical and scientific concepts, its all there. And many interesting thoughts about the role of religion etc, so it really makes you think. I really didn't want it to end, it was so enjoyable. Probably best to buy all of the books at once, as you will not to stop after reading the first one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Different, June 18 2014
By 
Gale/S (Surrey, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hyperion (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was very different than the usual science fiction that I have read. I enjoyed it and look forward reading the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not the best scifi, Feb. 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not sure why this deserved a Hugo award. The book has some excellent ideas but overall was disjointed and lacked cohesion. I had the impression Simmons was setting the stage of some grand saga rather than writing a novel that was itself complete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New addition to my favorites list, Feb. 22 2014
By 
Rose (Saint John, NB, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am blown away. Dan Simmons doesn't world-build - he created a universe. Even though this is only a half story, I would still give it 6 out of 5 stars.

It is part political, part religious, and fully science fiction. It takes place hundreds of years after Earth has become uninhabitable and humans moved to the stars. There are several individual stories within this one larger story. The large story is about seven people going on a pilgrimage to the Shrike temples. Each of the seven has a story as to how they came to be on this pilgrimage, although something happens to the seventh person so we do not hear their story. The Shrike, also known as the Lord of Pain, and the temples seem to be moving backwards in time. Even by the end of this installment we do not find out why, but I am fascinated by it.

To be honest, there were several things that piqued my fascination and imagination throughout the story but enough was left out that you could practically call it a mystery novel. As I have no patience whatsoever, I am already reading The Fall of Hyperion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I have ever read, Oct. 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hyperion (Mass Market Paperback)
Wow, just wow!!

This is truly a masterpiece of science fiction. Incredibly creative, astonishingly well written and a totally gripping and awesomely f***ed up story! This is well worth a read and belongs up there with the greats of the genre! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the all-time classic..., April 20 2013
By 
Luc Durocher (Québec) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hyperion (Mass Market Paperback)
Thanks again for the great price and service, guys. Everything was on time and in perfect order. Everything was first class! Love that series by Herbert. Now, it's complete!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a master piece, July 17 2004
By 
This review is from: Hyperion (Mass Market Paperback)
Dan Simmons has written a Cantebury Tale style masterpiece. Seven people are on their way as pilgrims to the time tombs to meet a monster called the Shrike. Each pilgrim tells their story of why they are going to meet the Shrike and what they want. Some see the Shrike as a monster and others as a god.
Dans Simmons has created a richly textured world that is very detailed and believable. The characters are neither good nor bad, just various areas of gray. The book is very deep and is worth the effort to read. The book is very readable but will take some time becasue it is not a super fast read. This is the first of four series and the others should also be read. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, July 9 2004
By 
SergeyT (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hyperion (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is a collection of several stories of varying quality.
Overall, I found the writing style to be too wordy. I would rather be entertained by ideas than an unusual use of words.
While I did enjoy a couple of the stories, two others left me completely indifferent - if not annoyed at having to read them.
The overall story was intriguing enough that it kept me reading to the end. A secondary benefit I was hoping for, was reading about one particularly annoying character's death. Unfortunately, the ending has let me down on both accounts. Not only did the annoying character survive, but there was also nothing even remotely resembling a conclusion.
Two stars - for the two stories I enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ugh, Oct. 5 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Hyperion (Mass Market Paperback)
How does an author who cannot even write convincing dialog manage to win the Hugo? Don't ask me. The worst is the character Silenus, a crazy poet, who speaks like someone straight out of a B sci-fi movie. A couple of the stories are actually interesting but if you're into "hard" science fiction, don't even consider this book. Simmons is heavy on the speculative but low on scientific content. He should stick to writing horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you liked it, you need a drool cup., June 3 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Hyperion (Mass Market Paperback)
One of the worst books ever written. The sequel is another. Fluff for the easily impressed. If you are completely taken in by verbose drivel and pseudo-intellectualism, this book and it's sequels are for you. I would have rated it a "1", but the words were spelled correctly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hyperion(CD)Lib(Unabr.)
Hyperion(CD)Lib(Unabr.
)
by Dan Simmons (Audio CD - April 1 2009)
CDN$ 124.95 CDN$ 99.96
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews