Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought-provoking crime thriller
Novels in the mystery and suspense genres often get a bad rap, with aspirations to something other than the typical being overlooked, or at most touted as "transcending the genre." The second entry in Joe R. Lansdale's series starring Hap Collins and Leonard Pine, Mucho Mojo, is a book just like that.
When Leonard's uncle Chester dies, he inherits the old homeplace...
Published on June 14 2004 by Craig Clarke

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars LANSDALE STORIES? YES! LANSDALE NOVELS? NO!
Joe R. Lansdale is, in my opinion, one of the best cult writers of our time when it comes to the short story. Any of his collections of short fiction is worth the MSRP price, no question. His voice is raw, crude, rude, vulgar, crass and funny as hell. Unfortunately, Ol' Joe just doesn't have the kind of imagination that fits well into novel format. I don't consider...
Published on April 11 2002 by Matthew C. Pinkerton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Thought-provoking crime thriller, June 14 2004
This review is from: Mucho Mojo (Mass Market Paperback)
Novels in the mystery and suspense genres often get a bad rap, with aspirations to something other than the typical being overlooked, or at most touted as "transcending the genre." The second entry in Joe R. Lansdale's series starring Hap Collins and Leonard Pine, Mucho Mojo, is a book just like that.
When Leonard's uncle Chester dies, he inherits the old homeplace. This causes complex feelings in Leonard since Chester had disowned Leonard on learning that Leonard was gay. While he and Hap are fixing up the place, they discover a large wooden box in which is found a child's skeleton and a stash of child porn magazines. Despite the obvious circumstantial evidence, Hap urges Leonard to look into alternative explanations. Meanwhile, they meet up the drug dealers across the street, a local preacher with questionable motives, and the lovable MeMaw, Leonard's neighbor who always has time (and an open invitation) for a glass of tea.
In addition to the plot involving the secret murders of several of a small town's black children, Mucho Mojo investigates such heavy subjects as relationships -- whether black-white, man-woman, gay-straight, adult-child, young-old -- and racism. And all the while Lansdale delivers a cracker of a crime novel, with a terrific ending, that continues the story of the main characters as begun in Savage Season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars These Hap&Leonard guys are hilarious!, July 23 2003
By 
Matthew King (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mucho Mojo (Mass Market Paperback)
Mucho Mojo is the second installment in the Hap&Leonard series. The first book in the series is savage season but that novel is now out of print and quite difficult to find. Besides, I've been hearing through the grapevine that it is easily the weakest entry in Lansdale's five-book Hap&Leonard series. I felt like Mucho Mojo was the best place to start and I was not dissapointed in the least.
The story is set in rural East Texas in a segregated black section of the town of Laborde. Leonard's uncle Chester has recently passed away and Leonard inherits his house. While him and Hap are working on renovating the house, they discover the remains of a young child hidden in a metal chest. Leonard refuses to believe that his uncle was a child killer and convinces Hap to help him uncover the mystery behind the child's murder.
As always, Joe Lansdale dazzles the reader with his unique writing style. You can practically feel the heat of a Texas summer day. I would have to say the highlights of this novel were the verbal exchanges between Hap&Leonard. There was something to make me laugh on every page. Now I want to read all of the Hap&Leonard books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars LANSDALE STORIES? YES! LANSDALE NOVELS? NO!, April 11 2002
By 
Matthew C. Pinkerton (Denver, Colorado United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mucho Mojo (Mass Market Paperback)
Joe R. Lansdale is, in my opinion, one of the best cult writers of our time when it comes to the short story. Any of his collections of short fiction is worth the MSRP price, no question. His voice is raw, crude, rude, vulgar, crass and funny as hell. Unfortunately, Ol' Joe just doesn't have the kind of imagination that fits well into novel format. I don't consider this to be a major criticism of him, but I do think it suggests that he keep his efforts directed at shorter narrative forms. Way back when I read "The Nightrunners," I passed off the book's shortcomings as simply the natural by-product of a first novel. Let's face it, even the best writers usually have a bum time of it their first day out. However, after having read "Mucho Mojo," I think I can say without hesitation that Lansdale should simply stay away from the format all together. The book has some interesting and highly atmospheric touches, to be sure. The plot, however, is one of the weakest I've ever read. Anyone paying attention and not simply using the book as something to do during lay-overs will have no problem putting the mystery together. The rest is simply a long slog as we wait for the two protagonists to play catch-up. There is also a ridiculous love story angle thrown in for no apparent reason and which adds absolutely nothing to the story. Weak, weak, weak! As I say, the book isn't without its stylistic charms (hence the three star rating), and Lansdale still ranks high on my list of contemporary authors (hence the high probability of my purchasing any forthcoming short story collections), but do yourself a favor, dear reader, avoid this guy's novels like the plague. Read or reread "Writer of the Purple Rage" or "By Bizarre Hands" for a real taste of Mr. Lansdale's talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Muchas Gracias, Senor Lansdale, Jan. 28 2002
This review is from: Mucho Mojo (Mass Market Paperback)
I've found another author to read regularly. This novel is my introduction to Hap Collins and Leonard Pine, two friends who happen to have one of the most original and realistic relationships I've read. Hap travels to La Borde, Texas with Leonard, who has been left his recently deceased uncle's old house. As they are fixing up the house they discover a small skeleton and several kiddie porn magazines buried under the floor. Leonard cannot accept that Uncle Chester was a ...child murderer so he persuades Hap to help him clear Chester's name. That decision opens the door to an expertly plotted and neatly tied together mystery. Lansdale gives pieces of information that are not contrived but flow into the story and add interest and color. He introduced characters and relationships that I became interested in and wanted to learn more about. The sarcasm and repartee between Hap and Leonard is reason enough to read the book. Put that clever and realistic dialogue in a mystery full of colorful characters that also has some very suspenseful moments and you have a few hours of rich, first-rate entertainment. I highly recommend MUCHO MOJO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE EXPLOSIVE DUO HAS THEIR HANDS FULL IN THIS ONE!!!!, Sept. 3 2001
By 
Wayne C. Rogers "Wayne C. Rogers" (Las Vegas, Nevada United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mucho Mojo (Mass Market Paperback)
The second novel in the "Hap Collins/Leonard Pine" series by Joe R. Lansdale is MUCHO MOJO. The title basically translates into "very bad magic" or "evil," while the story itself deals with the actual evil that human beings are capable of perpetrating. The novel begins when Leonard's Uncle Chester passes away and leaves his house and a hundred thousand dollars to his nephew. Leonard decides to stay in his late uncle's house in order to fix it up and talks Hap into moving in with him to help with the repairs. Everything is running smoothly until they rip up some old floorboards and discover a trunk beneath the house that has the bones of a murdered child in it, along with magazines of kiddy porn. At first they think that Uncle Chester was the culprit who killed the child, but as they probe deeper into the mystery it soon becomes apparent that LaBorde, Texas has a serial killer living within its midst...a person who is still alive and has been killing children for the last nine years. If that isn't enough, next door to Leonard's new home is a crack house, occupied by drug dealers who don't particularly like their new neighbors, but do like selling drugs to kids. This has all of the makings of a keg of black powder ready to explode; and, when it does, you definitely don't want to be on the receiving end of Hap and Leonard's anger! Needless to say, the East Texas duo will have their hands full as they do battle on two different fronts, taking names, kicking butt, and driving stakes into the hearts of the human monsters that are killing LaBorde's children. MUCHO MOJO delivers the same powerful kick of fun and entertainment as the other books in this utterly addictive series, but there's much more to this novel than meets the eye. Hap and Leonard have dealt with bad people and bad situations throughout most of their lives. This time around, however, they get a taste of what pure evil is like and have to question their own belief system about life, God, and the nature of being human. Neither one of them will come away untouched by what they encounter, knowing deep within themselves that sometimes people become evil by the circumstances of their lives, while others are simply born that way. Whatever the reasons, these are dangerous predators that have to be taken out the hard way, even if it means becoming judge, jury, and executioner. Mr. Lansdale's writing is as smooth as melted butter being poured on hot popcorn, his skill at creating believable dialogue is matched only by Elmore Leonard and Stephen King, and his unique ability to weave a suspenseful story line with characters that live and breath the East Texas air is simply unmatched. Pick up any of the "Hap Collins/Leonard Pine" novels, and you will quickly find yourself addicted to the writings of this remarkable author. This is the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow for readers searching for that special kind of writer who, not only entertains us, but also causes us to think and question our own day-to-day living. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A modern masterpiece of suspense, May 3 2000
By 
Gary Jonas "author of Acheron Highway" (Denver, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mucho Mojo (Mass Market Paperback)
Joe R. Lansdale is a writer like no other. He hears the music and translates it better than just about anyone. MUCHO MOJO is a fine-tuned suspense novel cranked up to the max. This is the second book in the series about Hap and Leonard, two Texas buddies who get into tons of trouble. Hap is a straight white guy and Leonard is a gay black man. Both are brilliantly realized characters and you're going to love them. You could just hang out with Hap and Leonard for a few hundred pages listening to them talk about stuff and you'd have a great time. But Lansdale is a true master. He hammers out a great story to drive the suspense. The scene where Hap and Leonard are in a black bar and Leonard explains various deragotory terms to Hap (like "honky" and a number of them that I can't print here) is worth the price of admission alone. There's humor, action and suspense as only Joe R. Lansdale can deliver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Like a freight train driven by a drunk conductor!, Oct. 28 1998
This review is from: Mucho Mojo (Mass Market Paperback)
After I finished this book, I had trouble trying to slot it in a classification. It was a mystery, that much is certain, but it is not a typical "here's the detective, here's the crime, here are the suspects, unveil the culprit" mystery. This book has more characterization than any five modern mystery books combined.
Hap and Leonard are the sleuth duo for the 90's. Their witty, brave, compassionate, driven, and the best of friends. Oh yeah, one's black and the other is white, but don't think for one moment that this book is politically correct. In fact, it is one of the most politically incorrect books I have ever read. And I laughed my *ss off in nearly every chapter at something Lansdale wrote.
Great stuff. Do yourself a favor and read something by Joe Lansdale! I wouldn't steer you wrong. If he was not worthy of the hype, I'd call him a hack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lansdale is the king, Oct. 29 2003
By 
Ryan Thomas "Magazine Editor" (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mucho Mojo (Mass Market Paperback)
Since discovering Lansdale earlier this year, I've read everythign i can get my hands on. i even visit his website once a week because he posts a new short story every Thrursday. The guy is simply amazing. By and far the best writer I've read in a long time, simply hilarious.
Hap and Leonard are two of the coolest characters I've ever had the pleasure to read about. One white trash, the other a black gay man. together they're two of the toughest honchos to ever clean up a neighborhood. I can't wait for the movie (though I'm sure it'll be crap in comparison).
Only reason I'm giving this four stars instead of five is that the mystery is a bit easy to solve. But it dosesn't realy matter because it's such a fun read. And now that Bubba Ho tep has been made into film (an amazingly funny film at that) you can expect to see a lot of lansdale's work translated to the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I was offended, disgusted and throughly entertained!, Aug. 13 2003
By 
Mark Thomas Paul (Chicopee, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mucho Mojo (Mass Market Paperback)
Those who are politically correct and who don't want to laugh at stigmas, stereotypes and others misfortunes will miss a real treat. The plot and the story are well written as well as the sarcasm and the wisecracks which will leave you giggling to yourself and too embarassed to tell your partner what you are snickering about. This is an offbeat author who has created a cult following. Mucho Mojo takes the worse social problems, child exploitation, drug use and violence and turns it into a mystery unraveled by two guys you would like to meet in a novel but would not want living one your street. Throw in one of the dearest grandma figures as well as a corrupt minister and you have a bizarre story which will hook you to this series. Yes I was so disgusted by this book that the third time I read it I said that enough is enough! (Time to move on to the next book in the series!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pure entertainment, Oct. 26 2000
By 
Laura D. Fields (Kingsport, Tn. United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mucho Mojo (Mass Market Paperback)
I stumbled upon Joe Lansdale's Mucho Mojo on a bargain table. The cover grabbed me and the preview was interesting so I paid the four bucks and went home. That's when it all began. I have read many books and I must say that the Hap and Leonard stories are the best ever. Joe Lansdale doesn't mess around. If you aren't engrossed, laughing or wanting more after the first page then you should check your pulse. Joe Lansdale is a true storyteller with his own unique crop of adjectives and the most hilarious group of metaphors I've ever read. I can't tell you how many times I have suggested this book to someone. Even non-readers get hooked. Since that first introduction I read everything I can find. He has other stories that are equally entertaining. But Hap and Leonard are two characters that come alive and will hopefully live forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mucho Mojo(MP3)Lib(Unabr.)
Mucho Mojo(MP3)Lib(Unabr.) by Joe R. Lansdale (MP3 CD - Jan. 13 2009)
CDN$ 51.97 CDN$ 32.74
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews