Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for a child
Bought it as a gift for a little boy. He loves it. Maybe when he is older he will be able to watch and learn from the DVD and music book it can with.
Published 2 months ago by Jeanette

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't tune.
Okay, so the ukulele is decent in construction, but for something that was ridiculously easy to fix that wasn't. The first two frets brings you up 3 semitones. So, basically, even if you have it tuned, your chords will never be tuned, unless you were to capo the first two frets permanently.

The strings are presumably nylon, which untunes itself pretty quickly,...
Published on March 11 2012 by Stu & Sally


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't tune., March 11 2012
By 
Stu & Sally (Brooks, Alberta) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Play Ukulele Today! Complete Kit: Includes Everything You Need to Play Today! (Paperback)
Okay, so the ukulele is decent in construction, but for something that was ridiculously easy to fix that wasn't. The first two frets brings you up 3 semitones. So, basically, even if you have it tuned, your chords will never be tuned, unless you were to capo the first two frets permanently.

The strings are presumably nylon, which untunes itself pretty quickly, but that's a common uke problem. The frets are not spaced properly, and there's no excuse for that.

The book is useful, shows the basic, easy to play chords. The DVD is as well, and for so little money, it's worth it. But the uke? It's a toy.

In other words, don't buy this for the ukulele. Buy it for the book and instruction DVD, if you like learning from a book.

If you like learning from videos, I suggest going online and looking on youtube, there are plenty of great instructional videos for beginners, and save your money for a better ukulele.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is a toy, Jan. 29 2012
This review is from: Play Ukulele Today! Complete Kit: Includes Everything You Need to Play Today! (Paperback)
Anyone purchasing this product should be aware that this is a toy! I should have known that given the price it was too good to be true. Pretty disappointed :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Instrument doesn't tune, May 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Play Ukulele Today! Complete Kit: Includes Everything You Need to Play Today! (Paperback)
Instrument is a toy, it goes out of tune within seconds, unless buying it for a child under 3 yrs old who is going to be "pretend playing" it's a waste of money. The book that it comes with is fine, just like all other method books are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for a child, May 24 2014
By 
Jeanette (Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Play Ukulele Today! Complete Kit: Includes Everything You Need to Play Today! (Paperback)
Bought it as a gift for a little boy. He loves it. Maybe when he is older he will be able to watch and learn from the DVD and music book it can with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Plunkin' Fun, Dec 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Play Ukulele Today! Complete Kit: Includes Everything You Need to Play Today! (Paperback)
Purchased as a gift for a 69 year old guitar player along with an Elvis songbook!
He's having a ball with it, but I suspect his young son may end up with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Broken, Dec 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Play Ukulele Today! Complete Kit: Includes Everything You Need to Play Today! (Paperback)
This was a Christmas present for my daughter. She was super pumped when he opened it. Went to play it and its broken. One of the string tightening things is broken. Now I need to return it and find something else. That's a pain :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Complete kit?, April 9 2013
This review is from: Play Ukulele Today! Complete Kit: Includes Everything You Need to Play Today! (Paperback)
The book, the DVD & the audio CD are fine. Know that the Uke is a *TOY*. Untunable. So, it's 'everything you need to play' if you already have a decent ukulele.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for Kids, March 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Play Ukulele Today! Complete Kit: Includes Everything You Need to Play Today! (Paperback)
Cheap and good to handle for kids. Strings could be a little better, but doesn't matter if it is for little ones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Unplayable, but possibly an okay value, March 18 2013
By 
Robin H. (Thunder Bay, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Play Ukulele Today! Complete Kit: Includes Everything You Need to Play Today! (Paperback)
We bought this for our 18 month old son who was constantly trying to take his older siblings' $300 guitar or $40 ukelele.

For $22 we suspected the ukulele would be bad, and it is. The body is constructed okay, but it has extremely cheap non-geared tuning pegs which make it very difficult to get in tune. Even if you get the open strings in tune, then when you fret notes, they are very sharp. It might be that the nut is too tall; perhaps it could be modified and you'd be able to make it more playable. As it is, the best you can do is tune it for one chord, such as a simple C chord (1st string at the 3rd fret, the other strings played open), and it sounds okay for a one-chord song.

However, we don't feel badly ripped off. This ukulele is enough of a real instrument that the toddler is fooled into contentment with it, and it's saved a lot of abuse of our higher quality instruments. He loves to carry it around; it's become his favourite toy. And there's a book and DVD included. If you want a playable ukulele, you should spend at least $40. We're quite happy with the Emus brand uke we have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good product for a child, Jan. 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Play Ukulele Today! Complete Kit: Includes Everything You Need to Play Today! (Paperback)
I bought it for my nephew that is now 1 year old, so the sound is not my priority. I wanted him to play with a small "real" guitar, and that's what I got with that product. Not expensive at all, good gift for a child. I am not a guitar player, so I don't know about the "real sound" that comes out of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Play Ukulele Today! Complete Kit: Includes Everything You Need to Play Today!
CDN$ 35.95 CDN$ 26.30
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews