Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Story
This is a beautiful story of love and commitment. In a world where so many couples get divorced for the sake of convenience, it's nice to read about a couple who stood by their vows (and each other) in the face of tragedy. Some of the chapters with Krickitt's journal entries get a bit long, but over all I loved it!
Published on Sept. 8 2000 by C. Fuller

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Too slow moving.
This book was too unbelievable, even though it is based on a true event. I couldn't be bothered to finish it. A very religious person might like this but to me it was too far fetched.
Published 6 months ago by Heidy Black


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Story, Sept. 8 2000
By 
C. Fuller "carricarro" (Indpls., IN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Vow (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful story of love and commitment. In a world where so many couples get divorced for the sake of convenience, it's nice to read about a couple who stood by their vows (and each other) in the face of tragedy. Some of the chapters with Krickitt's journal entries get a bit long, but over all I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars reader from CT, June 26 2000
This review is from: The Vow (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful and heart-warming story. I highly recommend this for anyone in love now, was in love, or dreams about being in love. The true story is about a newly married couple that gets into car accident. The wife almost dies, goes into a coma, and finally awakes to remember nothing, not even her own husband. Her husband stands by her side to help her recover and to give their life a fresh start together, even though there are many ups and downs. This story touches all your emotions and reminds you how lucky some of us are in life. It is written well and the text and words flow very smoothly, as if sitting in a room with the authors and just listening to them telling you their story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing and inspirational vow of love, Sept. 19 2000
By 
Judith E. Pavluvcik (Dreaming of the beach in Hawaii, but living in the reality of the desert in Arizona!!) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Vow (Hardcover)
The Vow is one of the most amazing TRUE love stories that I have ever read. In our disposable society today, it is so refreshing to read about true love, faith, and commitment.
Kim Carpenter's wife, Krickitt, was not expected to survive massive head injuries sustained from a head on collision with a truck. Miraculously and against all odds, she did survive. Her faith in God, along with the unrelenting adoration and help of her husband and family (and of course all of the doctors!) helped pull Krickitt back into a functioning world. Unfortunately, Krickitt lost all memory of her brief marriage, engagement and courtship with her husband. Kim held on steadfast to his marriage vows and never, never gave up, despite the unsurmounting odds of their marriage ever surviving such tragedies.
It is so humbling to read of their devout faith in God, which pulled them both through some incredible life challenges, if not providing miracles in their lives, time and time again. Kim's heartfelt love for Krickitt comes through strongly and I do so admire his integrity, his devotion and the love he has for his wife. This story is a huge testament to the power and bond of love and marriage. I do believe that many men in his position would have walked out and not stood by Krickitt's side.
The Carpenters renewed their wedding vows for a second time, as Kim had to woo Krickitt all over again, as she had no memory of her husband at all. Their lives will no longer be what it was before the accident and Krickett is not the same person she was before, as is Kim. Both have grown and both have a deeper commitment and love for one another.
Living a nightmare in every conceivable way, the Carpenter's faith in God gave them the strength and will to persevere. God often gives us challenges in life and we do not understand why, and only later do the "lessons" or the meaning of all become clear to us. The messages imparted in this heart-felt story will hopefully ignite the love shared in all marriages and to help to heal those marriages in trouble and cement even further those solid marriages.
This story will have you crying and cheering as well as have you questioning what is "really" important in our lives and how faith in God can pull us through even the darkest nightmares. Love and undying faith is what it is all about!
Kim Carpenter you are one heck of a guy - the world needs more guys like you! Thank you both for a wonderful book - I recommend everyone read this book, especially couples that are engaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ASTOUNDING STORY!, June 23 2000
By 
This review is from: The Vow (Hardcover)
Imagine being young and in love, newly married with an exciting life before you when suddenly in a matter of seconds your future is shattered before your eyes. This book poignantly describes how Kim Carpenter feels as he emerges from a car accident slightly injured and discovers that his bride is near death. His life and happiness flashes before his eyes. The prognosis for Krickett Carpenter's survival is less than 1%, but miraculously she survives. When Krickett eventually awakens from her coma, her adoring husband, Kim, and her family is waiting anxiously by her side. The nurse begins asking the young woman questions . . .what is your name . . what's your husband's name? "I don't have a husband," she replied. Everyone thinks the young woman known for her wit is joking but then it becomes apparent that Krickett has no memory of her life the past couple of years including her husband and her marriage. This wonderful story beautifully told by the Carpenters with writer, John Perry, describes Krickett's journey back to her former life, part of which she has no memory. Not only does she not remember her husband, but she dislikes him intensely and doesn't want him near her. Through her brain injuries Krickett, a fun-loving laid back young woman now exhibits an intense anxious personality with a short fuse. Not only is Kim Carpenter dealing with a wife that doesn't remember him, but she is a different woman. Most men would have walked away at her insistence, but Kim Carpenter was a man of great faith and integrity. He had taken a vow so he was determined to win back his wife who is now a perfect stranger with a different personality. Read this unbelievable saga of a couple who took their marriage vows seriously and find the love; not the same love that they once knew but a deeper one that enables them not only to survive Krickett's accident, but their marriage. Fortuantely, Krickett is also willing to try it make the marriage work figuring she must have loved this stranger at one time and they seek counseling. A wise counselor recommends that Kim woo his wife back and they begin courting and get to know one another all over again. Ultimately after his second romantic proposal they are married again. This is an extraordinary couple from whom we all learn the true meaning of love, faith in God and commitment to the marriage vow. In this era when marriages are so easily broken, reading this story can strengthen one's own belief in the sanctity of the vow we take on our wedding day. I believe this book will inspire the marriages of all those who read this miraculous story about this remarkable couple. With God's ever present help, this couple lived through "sickness and health, for better for worse and as long as we both shall live!" You must read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Story, Sept. 8 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Vow (Hardcover)
This book is a beautiful story of love and commitment. With the average marriages' track record for divorces, it's refreshing to read the story of a couple who stuck to their vows even in the face of great tragedy. I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest love story ever., June 30 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Vow (Hardcover)
This book is one of the best ever written. It is so well put together and easy to read. You won't be able to put it down once you start it. It is awesome and is headed to the best seller list. What a wonderful story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Vow, July 6 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Vow: The True Story Behind the Movie (Paperback)
A very thought invoking movie. It shows what true love is an it is true not some fictional movie. Would recommend this book to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Vow, June 21 2000
This review is from: The Vow (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful story of how the love of two people can carry you through anything. Also having the love for the Lord can help you through all of the struggles and difficulties in your life. The way Kim said to Krickitt that he is praying for her as they air lifted her to the other hospital was a true expression of faith in the Lord. Also when they had the accident and the 3 people who came to help them was a true confession of the Lord at work in their lives. A must read for anyone who loves the Lord or someone who is doubting their faith!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such a touching book, June 25 2000
This review is from: The Vow (Hardcover)
This book is so wonderfully writen by the people who lived through this tragedy. This book tells of the had times Kim Carpentar went through as she dealt with the recovery of her husband, Kricket. There life was changed forever when a truck collided with their small vehicle and almost killed them. Kricket was in a coma for a while and when he awoke, he had no memory of his wife Kim. This is their true story of how she coped and how the fell in love all over again. I just finished this book and I'm so glad I read it. It was truly inspirational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great story- easy read!, Jan. 31 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Vow (Hardcover)
A newlywed myself, I bought this as an "airplane book" after seeing the Carpenter's story on "Today" and "Dateline." Not only is the story inspiring, it's also very easy to read. (I'm not the fastest reader in the world, but finished this book in 3 short sittings over a weekend!--it never made it to the plane)
In a day when the "D" word is an "easy out" this is a great example of how two people put their faith in God and each other to keep a promise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Vow: The True Story Behind the Movie
The Vow: The True Story Behind the Movie by Krickitt Carpenter (Paperback - Feb. 10 2012)
CDN$ 17.25 CDN$ 12.45
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews