Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have
I bought this manual as part of my textbook purchases for university. This manual is a must have for anyone writing APA formatted work. The Spiral bound book is great for staying on pages and easily locating information.
Published 18 months ago by Amanda Nelson

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars APA Manual flawed 1st printing -- how to get the corrected 2nd printing??
What has happened to the reviews of the APA 6th edition that warned buyers that they would receive the flawed July 2009 printing if they shopped on Amazon? The consensus was that to get the 2nd printing (with errors corrected), you would need to buy direct from APA. I did just that and last week received the flawed 1st printing from APA themselves. The blurb on this site...
Published on March 16 2010 by wrcr


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars APA Manual flawed 1st printing -- how to get the corrected 2nd printing??, March 16 2010
By 
This review is from: Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (Paperback)
What has happened to the reviews of the APA 6th edition that warned buyers that they would receive the flawed July 2009 printing if they shopped on Amazon? The consensus was that to get the 2nd printing (with errors corrected), you would need to buy direct from APA. I did just that and last week received the flawed 1st printing from APA themselves. The blurb on this site says that the number of errors has been exaggerated and that they fill 4 pages which can be downloaded from the APA site. Check the APA site and you'll see that the errors fill 8 tightly-spaced pages. Yet, APA continues to sell the faulty edition. In response to my complaint, they've offered to replace the two flawed copies they sent but first I must pay the costs of mailing the books back to them . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars APA Manual, Nov. 26 2010
The APA Manual was supposed to be easier to use for anyone who had to write in APA- it ISN'T. In fact it is harder to use because it doesn't identify the changes from the previous edition. The only good thing is that I bought it coil-bound so it's easier to use, just open it to the page. I bought it because I have to, not because I wanted to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unhappy, Sept. 3 2013
This review is from: Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (Paperback)
This book is not well organized. It is difficult to find information that is needed, and as a student who has been using this book for three years now for my nursing degree, I find it very frustrating. Many times our class has had discussions with instructors after papers have been marked and it's because this book is telling us the wrong information. Many of us had never written in APA before buying this manual so it's hard for us to know. I am not happy with using this book overall, I find it difficult to locate information. I probably have about 10 sticky notes and folded pages for things that I normally forget but always seem to have to look up because they are so important. It is hard to find all of these topics even though they are used frequently, so I marked all of the pages to save time. I bought my version from the university bookstore so I don't think it matters much who you buy it from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars (Spiral) Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Sept. 12 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was very disappointed in the copy that I received it is improperly formatted. It goes from page 154-195 and then back to 155. It is very confusing and I had highlighted in the book prior to realizing this so it is not even able to be returned! LOVE the book HATE the copy I received through Amazon. BUY directly from APA for this one!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful tool for writing, Jan. 31 2014
This review is from: Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (Paperback)
This is an explicit manual for APA style writing and I appreciate Amazon has sent me the most recent edition of the manual as I know there were errors on previous ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have, March 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this manual as part of my textbook purchases for university. This manual is a must have for anyone writing APA formatted work. The Spiral bound book is great for staying on pages and easily locating information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What can you say about a citation and style manual ..., Aug. 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (Paperback)
What can you say about a citation and style manual? It has information. It's ok. I think they need a bigger section on electronic sources. I had to look up how to cite the majority of electronic sources online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Would not buy it again, July 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (Paperback)
Never really referred to this. I found other handbooks more useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a required read, June 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
for those doing research papers, studying at post secondary level, this book is a necessity. No more marks deducted for inappropriate reference layout, citations etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Application of APA manual, May 29 2014
By 
J. E. Smith "counsellor" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (Paperback)
After a short read-through and use of this, it is a good revision of the APA Publication Manual. I will add more when I have read and used this more thoroughly. I am glad to have it, and I am pleased that APA revises regularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
CDN$ 33.50 CDN$ 31.82
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews