Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good read
Interesting story and characters, very well written. I liked it and will definitely be back for more from Mr. Krueger.
Published 3 months ago by Stéphanie Amesse

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good start in an obviously projected series.
Good characters, especially the hero Cork O'Connor. Plot moves along quickly with a few surprises, though pretty much a predictable solution. A great change of pace to have a setting for a crime novel in an area other than NYC or LA.
Published on Dec 4 1999 by John S.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, March 17 2014
By 
Stéphanie Amesse (Montréal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Interesting story and characters, very well written. I liked it and will definitely be back for more from Mr. Krueger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Inevitable spooky stuff, Sept. 28 2011
By 
CGP - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Iron Lake (Mass Market Paperback)
I enjoyed this book. It has a good plot, better than average character development, and the story moves along. On the strength of this first novel I've ordered Kent Kreuger's next three. I would have preferred Kindle editions but found the higher-than-hardbound prices outrageous, so I went for paperbacks. My one reservation is the small helping of spooky stuff in the story, mainly about an oddly behaving tea-kettle and a voice in the wind. No explanation is provided. I sincerely hope this stuff doesn't increase in the next three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Iron Lake, Jan. 3 2003
By 
SLP books "uppolishak" (Escanaba, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Iron Lake (Mass Market Paperback)
This was my first "Cork O'Connor" book and found the characters believable. An excellent read and hard to put down once you start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Book, Dec 30 2002
By 
"mp406" (Moorhead, MN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Iron Lake (Mass Market Paperback)
Growing up in rural Minnesota may have given me insights into this book that I would have not otherwise had but nonetheless I am recommending this book to everyone. The characters are excellent - the setting incredible. I loved this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Debut, Jan. 29 2002
By 
sweetmolly (RICHMOND, VA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Iron Lake (Mass Market Paperback)
The murder?/suicide? of a corrupt judge in far northern Aurora Minnesota sets the momentum of this well written first novel. The mysteries pile up, a whiteout type blizzard sets in, the Windigo is afoot, and a crackerjack story ensues. The central character, Cork O'Conner is a straightforward man beset by complexities. He was fired from his post as sheriff and, wonder of wonders, deserved it. The usual mystery ploy is the hero was wrongfully used and was in fact a total hero, if only he had been understood. Cork is invested with real human frailties. His marriage is spiraling toward a divorce, and he can't get a handle on what to do about it. The sheriff who took his place, far from being an illiterate, crooked nincompoop, is actually a competent, honest man-much to Cork's discomfort.
The story is well paced with excellent plotting and characterization. The interplay between the characters, both verbally and emotionally, is exceptionally strong. There is a whiff of the supernatural (see Windigo above) that the author lightly touches upon and leaves to the reader whether to accept or not. What is extremely encouraging that as strong a book as "Iron Lake" is, I feel his latest, "Boundary Waters" is even better. Mr. Krueger is an evolving author in the best sense.
This highly enjoyable book is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Characters & Setting, Jan. 20 2002
By 
"epbob3" (Evergreen Park, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Iron Lake (Mass Market Paperback)
Montgomery magically interweaves Chippawa traditions into the Boundary Waters setting. Great style - easy to read, good characters that become your aquantances & good plot. Mongomerery's love for the Northwoods & admiration of the Chippawa is evident. I actually enjoyed a 7 hour delay at the airport because of this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Combines a great plot with great characters, Aug. 15 2001
This review is from: Iron Lake (Mass Market Paperback)
This is one of the few mysteries that I have ever read which really drew me in emotionally. The plot is realistic and satifyingly complex, but the real strength of this book is its characters. Cork O'Connor is a likeable, but definitely flawed hero. Jo, his estranged wife, is also a fully developed character, although I think she comes across as a little less likeable than the author probably intended. Cork's girlfriend Molly is also a great character and probably the most likeable person in the book. The only character that is very one-dimensional is the primary bad guy, who is just a little over-the-top evil. There is a good bit of action, and the ending is so suspenseful that you won't put the book down for anything short of your house catching on fire. I'm looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kudoes for Krueger, May 7 2001
This review is from: Iron Lake (Mass Market Paperback)
We need to welcome a new mystery writer to our midst. Krueger has it all: great characters, good plots, informative background settings and realistic human relationships. So glad I picked up Purgatory Ridge - then read Iron Lake and Boundary Waters. Hope Kruger keeps his heroes Cork O'Connor, his wife Jo, and the Windigo busily entertaining us for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Start of a great new series!, Dec 15 2000
By 
Bonnie E. Powell "Book lover" (Missoula, MT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Iron Lake (Mass Market Paperback)
You gotta love Cork O'Connor. He has lost his job, separated from his wife and now lives in the back of his little business. But he chooses good women, loves his kids and has a good heart. Now he will put everything on the line to deal with murder and an old Indian legend. I love series characters - it's fun to follow their progression from one book to another and this promises to be a top notch series. If you like Harry Bosch, Tres Navarre, or Kevin Kearney you will enjoy Cork O'Connor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good start in an obviously projected series., Dec 4 1999
This review is from: Iron Lake (Mass Market Paperback)
Good characters, especially the hero Cork O'Connor. Plot moves along quickly with a few surprises, though pretty much a predictable solution. A great change of pace to have a setting for a crime novel in an area other than NYC or LA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Iron Lake: A Novel
Iron Lake: A Novel by William Kent Krueger (Paperback - June 9 2009)
CDN$ 18.99 CDN$ 13.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews