Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read
Really great zombie book, lots of action and well written. I'd have given it a full five stars except for the simple fact that as an e-book this was priced well in excess of what other comparable books are at. Honestly, if I hadn't enjoyed the first book I'd never have paid $16 for an electronic copy.
Published 7 months ago by Chris

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible
Poor, ham-fisted garbage. The edition I read looked like a poorly done vanity press job put out to ride the wave of zombie books, comics and movies. Badly written with boring, tedious characters who speak and behave in the most obvious stereotyped ways. No research seems to have been done about anything the book touches on. The worst kind of fan-based fiction.
Published on Jan. 31 2010 by Sean Armstrong


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, Sept. 13 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Really great zombie book, lots of action and well written. I'd have given it a full five stars except for the simple fact that as an e-book this was priced well in excess of what other comparable books are at. Honestly, if I hadn't enjoyed the first book I'd never have paid $16 for an electronic copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent zombie book!, Dec 24 2009
This review is from: Plague of the Dead: The Morningstar Saga (Paperback)
This is an excellent zombie book. The story follows survivors from all over the world from the very beginning of the zombie plague and how they deal with it.

It is well written with very strong character development. You won't want to put it down as you will always want to turn one more page to see what happens.

A great read and worth reading again and again.

This is only book one of three. I also recommending picking up the second book in the series at the same time "Thunder and Ashes (the Morningstar Strain)". As you will want to jump into the second book right after you finish the first.

No one is sure at the moment when the third book will be released as the author has recently passed away (December 2009). He was a great author and I hope it will be released one day.

So pick up the books and be prepared to end up wanting to read it from cover to cover in one sitting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, Jan. 31 2010
By 
This review is from: Plague of the Dead: The Morningstar Saga (Paperback)
Poor, ham-fisted garbage. The edition I read looked like a poorly done vanity press job put out to ride the wave of zombie books, comics and movies. Badly written with boring, tedious characters who speak and behave in the most obvious stereotyped ways. No research seems to have been done about anything the book touches on. The worst kind of fan-based fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good zombie novel, Jan. 11 2010
By 
J. Friesen "Avid Reader" (Edmonton, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Plague of the Dead: The Morningstar Saga (Paperback)
For the most part, Plague of the Dead is a great book. Recht comes up with an interesting (and plausible) way to have both fast (sprinters) and slow (shamblers) zombies. To me that alone was worth the price of admission.

The action is quite good and pacing adequate. Characters are fairly well developed and not one-dimensional stereotypical cut-outs like in so many other zombie books (the evil army officer, the criminal seeking redemption, the family man who is the sole survivor, etc). I also really liked the fact that the cast of survivors was international in make-up, which gave it a unique flavour other zombie books lack.

For me, the biggest let down was the battle of Suez. In the book, Recht clearly notes that a force of 500,000 multi-national troops is there to help enforce the quarantine of Africa, yet when the battle for all the marbles happens, only a battalion of troops and a couple of helicopter gunships is sent to prevent a horde numbering in the thousands from crossing the canal and spreading the infection. Pardon? Even an amateur military strategist could see that far more troops and gunships was necessary.

Still, I'm interested in reading the second book in the series (and the third if it was finished before Recht's untimely passing).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb77969f0)

This product

Plague of the Dead: The Morningstar Saga
Plague of the Dead: The Morningstar Saga by Z.A. Recht (Paperback - Dec 29 2009)
CDN$ 18.99 CDN$ 13.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews