Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating
Very well written, gripping story of what it's like to live a double life. An important stour for us in the west to read.
Published 4 months ago by Konstanz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars descoq
Too biographical. His story goes too far back. I am beginning to doubt its veracity since all that detailed narrative would make it relatively easy to identify the author!
Published on June 14 2012 by descoq


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, June 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Time to Betray: The Astonishing Double Life of a CIA Agent Inside the Revolutionary Guards of Iran (Hardcover)
Very well written, gripping story of what it's like to live a double life. An important stour for us in the west to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Time to Betray, Feb. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is so informative and explains so very much of what is going on in the middle east and how dumb or ignorant westerners have been and are. No body seems to understand the pervasive enemy of islam and how Russia, China and many other countries were feeding the enemy with weapons and all sorts of gear to be be incredible killers. Evil evil evil. What goes on in the prison alone is enough to warp you forever. All of this has not changed except that it has increased and is a threat to all freedom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book., Aug. 23 2012
This review is from: A Time to Betray: The Astonishing Double Life of a CIA Agent Inside the Revolutionary Guards of Iran (Hardcover)
I read the book and although I wish more details were given, but for what could be shared, it was an astonishing book.
Thank you for this wonderful book Reza.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars descoq, June 14 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Time to Betray: The Astonishing Double Life of a CIA Agent Inside the Revolutionary Guards of Iran (Hardcover)
Too biographical. His story goes too far back. I am beginning to doubt its veracity since all that detailed narrative would make it relatively easy to identify the author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars an ok, but VERY fictional book, April 11 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Time to Betray: The Astonishing Double Life of a CIA Agent Inside the Revolutionary Guards of Iran (Hardcover)
I just finished reading this book. I found it quite entertaining however the book makes some serious allegation of event widely covered in the media.

That and also the style makes me believe that this is just a fiction not a true spy life story, nonetheless I think it is a good read.

Many of the "real" events that happened to him (the bombing when his kid was invited to a birthday party, or a girl being shot in a phone booth) are hearsay and old wife tales that circulated Iran during the war (some to boost moral, some to discredit the regime)

Again I think this is a great and entertaining "fiction" but def. not a real spy story. His book reminds me of all these so called Mossad agents who started writing books after Victor Ostrovsky published "By way of deception"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Underated - Definitely Worth Reading, June 18 2011
This review is from: A Time to Betray: The Astonishing Double Life of a CIA Agent Inside the Revolutionary Guards of Iran (Hardcover)
While I do not post online reviews ordinarily, after reading this book I am compelled to do so, to lend my support to the author and his telling chronicle.

This book has been recommended to me, by a friend. Having finished my reading, I am surprised this story has not received more attention.

"A Time to Betray" raises important awareness of the changed living conditions, and the underlying religious culture that continues to dominate Iran. More importantly, it provides an insider's systematic account of the historical events leading up to Iran's present-day environment (from the ousting of the Shah, to the rise of Iran's current political structure). The CIA-reporting undertone, further compliments the author's narrative by providing context and summary to events as they develop.

The story is easy to follow; progressing fluently. The chapters are relatively short and transition smoothly. All in all, a work worth reading.

At great personal risk, the author (Reza Khalili) has demonstrated extraordinary courage to effect positive change in his homeland. I credit his bravery, and encourage others to read this enlightening memoir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Time to Betray: The Astonishing Double Life of a CIA Agent Inside the Revolutionary Guards of Iran
CDN$ 29.99 CDN$ 18.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews