Customer Reviews


181 Reviews
5 star:
 (149)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars THE BLUE SWORD
I Love this story I is a true classic and a wonderful adventure. Harri is my favorite character in any book she is wonderful to read about and thank you Robin for giving her life.
Published on Sept. 28 2004 by Watchgirl

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Well written story with a disappointing ending...
Harry Crewe, an orphan living in a desert manor, is stolen away by a band of desert nomads to fulfill her "destiny"-to wield the legendary Blue Sword and defeat the vicious Northern Army.
Although set in a well developed culture, the ending seemed a result of the "happily-ever-after syndrome"-authors feel that they must follow stereotypical fantasy ending rather than...
Published on July 2 2004


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars THE BLUE SWORD, Sept. 28 2004
This review is from: The Blue Sword (Paperback)
I Love this story I is a true classic and a wonderful adventure. Harri is my favorite character in any book she is wonderful to read about and thank you Robin for giving her life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Blue Sword deserves ten stars!, Oct. 12 2005
By A Customer
This is my absoloutly favorite book in the world!! And I have read a lot of books. I read about a book a day and over the summer I usually read around 2 hundred books, I'm not joking. And this is my favorite out of them all. In the story, Harry (who's real name is Angharad) moves out to Istan, the last Homelander settlement on the border of the Homeland and Daria, after the deaths of her parents. Her brother Richard (also called Dickie) is stationed at the military outpost (the General Leonard Ernest Mundy) in Istan. She finds friends in her cheerful hosts Sir Charles and Lady Amelia and the commander of the fort Colonel Jack Dedham. Harry has always had a longing for adventure and action and she soon gets her wish. A diplomatic party from the Damarians (called Hillfolk by Homelanders) arrive in Istan and when they leave they secretly kidnap Harry. All of the sudden Harry is thrust into the adventure she longs for and she discovers some suprising things about her past. Trying to find her way in an a world so very different from her own she finds friends in the Kings Riders, an elite group of warriors serving the Hillking Corlath. Harry soons finds herself the wieldier of the legendary sword Guntarun (once belonging to the Lady Aerin from "The Hero and The Crown") and possesser of the magical gift of Kelar. As the Damarians prepare for the coming war with the Northeners Harry is faced with a difficult descision. Should she ride to war with the People of the Hills, who have accepted her for who she is and made her one of their own? Or should she risk exile from her new home to warn the Homelanders of the coming attack? With the help of the wiseman Luthe, her teacher Mathin, her friends Terim and Senay, the foltsza Narnkon and her faithful Hill-horse Tsornin, Harry fights for her life and the things she believes in. Robin McKinnley is a master storyteller and "The Blue Sword" is an amazing gripping book. You can't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!, Feb. 10 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Blue Sword (Paperback)
I read the Berkeley edition of this paperback back in 1983 and still have the original. Battered, dog-eared and yellow but it remains a favourite of mine to re-read. I did break down and buy a more "modern" edition of it a few years ago.
It's a classic tale of a girl who is a fish out of water until she's taken from her "normal" life and thrown into a situation which shows her not only who she really is but what she is really capable of. A memorable cast of characters which include a horse, a hunting cat I wish I owned, and an eccentric wizard-type as well as a Mckinley version of the Knights of the Round table.
I hope you enjoy this story as much and as often as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A page turner, July 17 2004
This review is from: Blue Sword (Mass Market Paperback)
I simply could not put this fascinating book down. After a bit of a slow start with tons of descriptions of the stodgy, dull, orange growing colony Daria, the book really took off. The abrupt switch from stolid Brititshy normalcy to outright magical fun is what makes this book so good. Robin McKinley never puts in too many unessecary details of describing the native's lives which she could have easily fallen into. I thought that the novel was much more consistent and interesting than The Hero and the Crown which started off great but got progressively boring. If you love fantasy and magic books you will just love this book. However, even if you don't like fantasy you will want to read this two or three times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Well written story with a disappointing ending..., July 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Blue Sword (Paperback)
Harry Crewe, an orphan living in a desert manor, is stolen away by a band of desert nomads to fulfill her "destiny"-to wield the legendary Blue Sword and defeat the vicious Northern Army.
Although set in a well developed culture, the ending seemed a result of the "happily-ever-after syndrome"-authors feel that they must follow stereotypical fantasy ending rather than follow what would have really happened had the story actually occured. The ending event seemed rather gratuitous and complusory. There was no indication of the event in the storyline. The age diference between those two charactors is also unbelievable.
A well written book, but a let-down of an ending. Worth reading, but don't expect too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Young Adult Fare, April 15 2004
By 
This review is from: Blue Sword (Mass Market Paperback)
Once again, McKinley spins a nice story with a fairy tale feel, a strong but not perfect heroine, and the usual Good Conquers All ending. Nice, engaging young adult fare (I borrowed the book from my kidlet, in fact). If you haven't read McKinley before, buy The Hero and the Crown as well and read them back to back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Magic, Mystery, and Adventure, March 29 2004
By 
Ryan (Kaneohe, Hawaii USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blue Sword (Mass Market Paperback)
The Blue Sword brings to life, the sense of wanting and desire. In this great tale of of insightful adventure, nothing is ever what it might seem. Harry Crewe lived a normal life in what could only be paradise. But all that changed when she found herself in the middle of nowhere with her brother Richard. After being abducted in the middle of the night by Corlath the last King of Damar, Harry must find a way to fit in her new suroundings. Harry, while training to be a Damar warrior or King's Rider, learns more about the Hillfolk's culture and discovers startling secrets about her own past. Caught between feuding armies in an age old battle that could determine the fate of whether humans or demons would rule the last habital paradise in Damar, Harry must bring together the Homelanders and the last of the free Hillfolk to stop the monsterous invasion. I felt a sense of yearning to place myself in this epic story. Even though the story started out slow, I was more than glad to finish what I was reading. Robin McKinley is a great author that describes in great detail what is going on so that you feel like a part of story. I recommend if you start to read this book that you continue on through to the end. You will not be disappointed in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Blue Sword, March 5 2004
This review is from: Blue Sword (Mass Market Paperback)
Imagine first being a happy young girl, content with your quiet life in her home country along with your family; your mother, father, and your brother Richard. Then imagine reaching a certain age and having your only companion, your brother, abruptly taken away to military school. Following this, you're forced to take on a much more sheltered lifestyle. Before you know it, you become and orphan and are shipped out penniless to the continent of Daria, a mysterious place which your now distant brother is stationed on. With all of this, you could assume this wouldn't be a pleasant experience, but this is the intriguing tale of the young lady Harry in the book The Blue Sword, by Robin McKinley, which left me with feelings of triumph and really made me cheer on the characters.
I felt intrigued and had feelings of triumph by the way the true attitude of harry slowly progresses in showing her true strength, but she never loses her original care for others. In the first few chapters, Harry seems timid and seem dependent on others. By the end of the book, Harry is withholding the flank of the King of the Damarians against thousands of Northlander savages. She puts an end to the relentless attack when she unlocks the power of her kelar, or magic power, to cause the surrounding mountains to crumble, crushing the Northlander forces. Despite her growing separation between her original people and country, she maintains her deep connections with her friends and family. This specific developments is shown all throughout the book, but a clear moment of this is between she and her brother, who both had grown apart over the long years. While desperately trying to outlast the invaders, Richard arrives on the field. As the Northeners close in, she and her brother have a moment of redsicovering the once close connection they had as children. With her recent abduction, Richard expresses his feelings, and has the courage to say what he couldn't before, this being that they are both of Damarian descent, when she first arrived in Daria. This shows that despite all that is happening around her at the current time, she never forgets those she loves. This is an example that shows how the author made Harry unique through the development of her character, but made it so that she never lost sight of her origins.
While I did feel triumph for Harry in all her exploist, another event that is a good example is her training to become one of the King's Riders. During this six week long period she starts out as a woman knowing nothing of war, and she goes through a great many hardships to achieve her goal. I felt triumph especially in this chapter when she was sparring with Mathin, her trainer in war. During this she succeeds in knocking Mathin down, a long time experienced warrior. This is a crucial point when she first begins to tap into her kelar powers. I couldn't help but feel great for Harry when she took her first leap at finding her true niche in life.
In conclusion, I would normally declare a book worthwile when I feel emotion from the events of the story, and the achievements of Harry did exactly that by making me feel triumph for them. I also particularly liked this book because of Harry's unique development throughout the story, and never forgot the ones she loved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is a great book!!, Feb. 13 2004
By 
Vulgar Pigeon (Weymouth, Massachussets, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blue Sword (Mass Market Paperback)
I have just started reading this book about 3 or 4 days ago, and I'm at page 40 something. But so far this book is great!!
I would suggest this book to anybody that has an intrest into Medi-Evil books!! Anybody, really, would like this book!! I give this book 4 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The first of the fantastical..., Jan. 18 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Blue Sword (Paperback)
It is a wonderful book! I think that this book was the reason I have gone on to become both a reading and a fantasy fanatic. It introduced me to all the possibilities that fantasy and the imagination can dream up... I would highly reccomed this book to anyone who loves fantasy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa42e212c)

This product

The Blue Sword
The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley (Library Binding - Aug. 11 2008)
CDN$ 17.50 CDN$ 16.56
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews