Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short n sweet
Having lived in in the south all my life & in Mississippi for a space of years, I found Nevada Barr's insight into the mentality of the south amazingly accurate ...having read many of her books I had made the mistake of *assuming* that she was from the southwest due to the accuracies there ... I was surprised to read that she is from Mississippi .. This book with it...
Published on June 11 2003 by Mordeis C. Commander, Jr.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Unlikely
I've recently finished listening to the Recorded Books (unabridged) version of this work with narration by Barbara Rosenblat. She does a fine job transfering the dialect from the printed page to the human ear, not an easy task. I am not one very much attracted to works of fiction, largely because I find it difficult to imagine an individual really going through the...
Published on Sept. 14 2003 by Dan Schobert


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short n sweet, June 11 2003
By 
Mordeis C. Commander, Jr. (Chattanooga, TN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deep South (Mass Market Paperback)
Having lived in in the south all my life & in Mississippi for a space of years, I found Nevada Barr's insight into the mentality of the south amazingly accurate ...having read many of her books I had made the mistake of *assuming* that she was from the southwest due to the accuracies there ... I was surprised to read that she is from Mississippi .. This book with it treatment of the racial situation twisted throughout the murder investigation with Ms Barr's other typical twists & turns to keep you guessing made this, for me, one of her best so far .. I bought my last two books by her based on her name alone ... immediately after finishing this one I ordered 5 more ... In my opinion she is one of the finest writers of this genre around today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Deep-fried kindness and cotton-mouthed hostilities", Jan. 27 2003
By 
tertius3 (MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deep South (Mass Market Paperback)
I found this the most engrossing of the Anna Pidgeon mysteries, almost Literature in the scope of its concerns. There's more depth of characterization here and a totally convincing atmosphere of nature's thick menace to match the hostility of the good ol' employees under her new supervision. The author's fulsome nature description should be expected since Mississippi is Barr's home, but the fuller characterization may stem from the fact that Anna is running out of time for a solid love interest, as well as due to the extreme violence to which she is subjected. Only one of these terrible episodes is necessary to the plot, the other is gratuitous and features animal cruelty. My only complaint is that the conclusion is rushed and its tension drooping (or limp from the heat? :-)
Barr has a light touch but is not frivolous with her heroine or with death (unlike, for example, some of Sharyn McCrumb's Appalachian Scots stories). Barr is good at letting you build up a picture of the suspects (and she subtly make everyone so), then have Anna yank you into something else with a tiny new fact, and then do it again. That should keep you on your toes! This story has everything: prejudice, murder, kids, alligators, Civil War, crazies, punks, a cat and dog, and several cases of maybe-its-love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Unlikely, Sept. 14 2003
By 
Dan Schobert (Plover, Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deep South (Audio Cassette)
I've recently finished listening to the Recorded Books (unabridged) version of this work with narration by Barbara Rosenblat. She does a fine job transfering the dialect from the printed page to the human ear, not an easy task. I am not one very much attracted to works of fiction, largely because I find it difficult to imagine an individual really going through the experiences reported. This is what I felt in the story by Navada Barr. While she paints some interesting pictures of life in Mississippi, it seemed to me to be a bit unrealistic that Anna would get into so much trouble is such a short time frame. To have to deal with a murder, troublesome teens, a possible love affair and old civil war fans in the first week on the job seemed a bit much for me. As skilled as she may have been at her former post in Colorado, it is hard to imagine that the National Park Service would toss her into this new position without some kind of orientation to those things expected of her.
I am sure Barr has great ability in using descriptive language but perhaps should use that talent in travel books, not mystery novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Better as a series than a single book, March 26 2003
This review is from: Deep South (Mass Market Paperback)
I gather from the jacket and some of the text that this is part of an ongoing series of books dealing with the adventures of a female forest ranger/police officer. This one's adventure consists of a job transition from the Western United States to something about as far a different environment as possible. That is, modern day Mississippi.
As a stand-alone book, it's pretty good. There are two major areas of narration, the transition to a new part of the country, and a nasty murder to solve practically out of the gate. As murder mysteries go, it's OK. We find a body, track down acquaintances, and then get to figure out suspects and motive. As a murder mystery is usually a murder mystery, I always try to add what I learn about the world surrounding it as part of making it interesting. In this case, it's the world of Civil War enactors. We get just a glimpse of their world, but it's covered in much more detail, and much more interestingly in Elmore Leonards' "Tishomingo Blues".
The other area is the transition. I would have liked to have seen a longer novel where this area is explored. We do get some conflicts, especially because she's a woman. But they get into the murder right away, where and this part is left at the wayside. I would imagine that the topic will be explored in more depth in "the further adventures", which would get the SERIES a four-star rating. But as this detail is lacking in this particular book, I hold it to three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful book, Jan. 24 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Deep South (Mass Market Paperback)
I just finished reading this book & it was so hard to put down. When Nevada Barr writes a book you feel like you are right there with Anna. And when she is hurt, which she really was in this book, you can feel her pain.
Nevada Barr is one of the best writers out there. All of her books are wonderful.
If you have not read any of her books do. They are great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Barr Raises the Bar, Nov. 1 2002
This review is from: Deep South (Mass Market Paperback)
"Deep South," the 8th entry in Nevada Barr's wonderful Anna Pigeon series, is definitely the best so far, especially as it comes after the somewhat lackluster "Liberty Falling."
In this installment, our intrepid park ranger has at long last allowed herself to be promoted. When the book opens, Anna is on her way to the Natchez Trace Parkway, which runs from Jackson to Natchez, Mississippi. There, she will assume the reins of district ranger in a land still fraught will male chauvinism and general distrust of females.
Nothing daunted (but secretly afraid of the very different flora and fauna--eg, gigantic spiders), Anna makes her way to her new job, along with her complaining cat Piedmont, and her dog Taco, a golden retriever in previous books who has suddenly morphed into a black lab (Barr's editor apparently doesn't know the difference). No matter. Once on the Trace, Anna is hit full force with two disgruntled male subordinates who refuse to accept her authority, a handsome sheriff who makes her hard heart flutter, a group of Civil War buffs who stage re-enactments in Anna's territory--and a murder.
Barely able to unload her Rambler (which has mysteriously morphed from her much-loved Honda--another editorial boo boo) of her worldly possessions, Anna finds herself immersed in the particularly nasty murder of Danielle Posey, a popular high school senior, whose beaten body is found in the wilderness tied to a tree and draped in a crudely makeshift Ku Klux Klan hood. Anna is thrown into the tangled web of the murdered girl's life and a mystery as thick as the fast-growing kudzu that blankets the region.
There are plenty of suspects from which to choose, from the high school's star quarterback, who was Danielle's prom date, to a mysterious and possibly mythical lover, to Danielle's own brother, an avowed racist who would love nothing better than to create an issue where none exists. The deeper the mystery, the more suspects. Anna struggles to make sense of the murder while also trying to settle in to her new cottage, her new life, her hostile office--and an alligator in her carport.
There is not a false step in this intriguing, fast-paced mystery. The thicker the plot, the more the reader is rooting for Anna to solve the case. I did not guess the murderer OR the motive until Anna did. It all made sense when the pieces were put together, but I had no clue beforehand, and that's the best kind of mystery.
As always, Barr's description of Anna's habitat is mesmerizing. In this case, since Barr herself was (and possibly still is) a ranger on the Natchez Trace, the descriptions are particularly evocative. I found myself smelling the hot, sultry, lazy Mississippi air along with Anna, and reaching for the air-conditioner for relief along with her. Anna Pigeon remains a thoroughly likeable and all-too-human heroine, and I look forward to reading the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good mystery, on the verge of great, Sept. 23 2002
By 
David Myers "david" (Franklin, TN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deep South (Mass Market Paperback)
Hey, this is only the 2nd Barr book I have read. The other one is liberty falling, and though the entire world appears to find that to be her best work, i would give that one only three stars and i am giving this one five stars.
It's not that she does anything so out of the ordinary for a mystery novel as to make you go, Wow! . . . but she does know her locale well enough to leave you feeling you know it just a little too, and that is a hard thing to manage in a simple little genre thriller. I give Barr high marks for depth of character, and of course it is easier with a serialized one like this. But it's never boring or tired.
If you like murder mysteries, or if you like outdoorsy stories and aren't sure if Barr is right for you, this is a good Barr book to start off with, I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Barr, Sept. 2 2002
By 
Jodie Goebel (Punta Gorda, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deep South (Mass Market Paperback)
I loved this book. I never saw the ending coming. It kept me on the edge. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This Yankee bows to the Southern Lady, June 25 2002
By 
Charles Hickey "The Dogwalker" (Marlboro, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deep South (Mass Market Paperback)
Who better to write about the south but someone who has been there and also worked the very same job in the very same location. Nevada returns to the Mississippi Deep South, having been a ranger on the same Natchez Trace she writes about. She sets the stage for both the reader and the story by proceeding slowly and explaining some of the things that make the area as well as the job special. Newly promoted District Ranger Anna Pigeon knows her job and knows her limitations. Nevada spends some quality writing time showing the reader around the area and explaining many of the things that make the south so special and also frustrating to newly arrived Yankees.
Anna Pigeon faces the challenges of not only her new job but the firm male prejudices of her two southern, somewhat lazy park rangers and many of the local folk. Anna is the new show in town and faces many challenges both good and bad.
The death of a teenage girl and the attack of an aligator on her that almost cost the life of her dog are just a couple of the things she faces in her first few days.
Is there anyone she can trust? Is there anybody she can count on for help? Will the "good ole boy" way of life make her give up and go home? The clock is ticking away as Anna faces southern pride, fear, and a Deep South that she doesn't understand.
This is a good book well writen by Nevada Barr that is sensitive to her subject matter and her readers. The only thing I felt it could use was either more suspense or more "on the edge" of your chair action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gators and Bubbas - look out for Anna Pigeon, ranger PI!, June 12 2002
By 
cousette copeland "codyhaha" (santa clara, california USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deep South (Mass Market Paperback)
Anna Pigeon is on the move again - with cat Piedmont and dog Taco in tow. Her new assignment is in the Deep South of the Natchez Trace in Mississippi. Before she can even get to her new digs, she's given bad directions by a junior ranger and ends up in the Mississippi mud. Once she finds her way to ranger central, she finds herself up against bible-thumping campers, Confederate soldier re-enactors, and employees that embody the southern Bubba spirit. All the men seem to have a layer of fat and a condescending attitude towards the lady ranger. But there's no time to dwell on the obvious, because in her first day/night she encounters boys who have abandoned a drunk and blacked out teenage girl. Another drunken girl, Danni, in the woods turns out to be the victim of a heinous crime - she's got a sheet with eyeholes cut out over her head and a noose around her neck. Is it redneck villians? Disgruntled boyfriends? A black-on-white crime? Nothing is slow as molasses as Anna fights off a gator who bites off one dog's leg, as she meets the victim's psycho mother, as she is endangered by the Bubbas who don't want to work for a lady ranger, and when she finds out about the local homosexual lover's point. There's the handsome and sexy policeman...but there's also his wife on her doorstep. Throw in the story of Grant's soldiers who disappeared during the Civil War, and a horrific attack on Anna, and you've got another Nevada Barr page-turner that will keep you up all night!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deep South
Deep South by Nevada Barr (Library Binding - Nov. 5 2008)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews