Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars indulgence in death, April 16 2014
By 
Sharon M. Beck "sharon" (Sudbury, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
this book along with the others In Death series are excellent. Don't know who did it until end.
I have recommended this series to my friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "in Death" series by J. D. Robb, Dec 12 2013
By 
S. Anne Cox (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Indulgence in Death (Hardcover)
As always, with this "in Death" series by Nora Roberts (AKA J. D. Robb), it's a great read. Once you've read one of these books, you want to read more of them. The reader becomes vested in the wonderful characters created by Nora roberts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book! Like the cell covers, Aug. 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Jd robb cant do wrong! another great book! I really like the quality of the cases! They seem really stable! The only thing I miss about it is a foil for the front for the glass !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A formula that results in a really good read - always fun, April 5 2011
By 
L. J. Roberts (Oakland, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Indulgence in Death (Hardcover)
First Sentence: The road was a killer, hardly wider than a decent stream of spit and snaking like a cobra between giant bushes loaded with strange flowers that resembled drops of blood.

Even on her vacation in Ireland with husband Roarke, Lt. Eve Dallas of the New York Police and Security Department, which came into being after the urban wars, becomes involved in a murder case, but only as an adviser. The vacation is definitely over when she returns to the murder by crossbow of a driver for an elite limousine service. The next day is a top paid escort is murdered by bayonet. The murders keep coming, the weapons always unusual and the link'

Sometimes you need a palete cleanser; a guilty pleasure read on which you can rely. J.D. Robb and her ''In Death' books is that for me.

A good, evocative analogy is something I always appreciate, while snappy dialogue and wry humor which surprises me into laughing aloud is something at which Robb excels. However, she can also touch the emotions and bring tears to my eyes. But don't ever mistake her books for being pure light fluff. The murders are brutal, the language course, and the sex graphic. It is the combination of these elements that brings keeps Robb at the top of the best-seller list and me back to reading the series.

Eve, who grew up with violence and brutality, chose to work for the law and has a dedication to representing and finding justice to the dead. Her husband, Roark, had the same type of childhood, and broke many a law on his way to extreme wealth and meeting Eve. There are certainly fantasy aspects of the relationship, but the balance of her lack of facade and his access to contacts and technology works. It's Eve's partner, Det. Delia Peabody, who exemplifies all the traditionally feminine traits for which Eve has no skill, patience or interest; and so that relationship works as well.

One thing on which you can always count is good action. But I also like that just when I figured out the killer, so did Eve. Disappointment averted'well done! Even though I knew Dallas would get the villain at the end, there was tremendous satisfaction when she did. However, my praise isn't unstinting; I did have a problem with the plot in that was very similar to a couple previous books. Even with 38 books in the series, those of us who've read them do remember and can't avoid noticing recycling a premise even if there could be a similarity in crimes over time. Had Dallas made a reference to the previous cases, the similarity would have been noted as intentional rather than a possible rehash of old plots.

You can certainly say that these books are formulaic, but it is a formula that works and is very enjoyable. It is not great literature. Even with its flaws, and they are there, it is a darn good read that made me happy I'd read it and smile when I'd finished it.

INDULGENCE IN DEATH (Pol Proc-Lt. Eve Dallas-Ireland/NYC-Future/2060) ' G+
Robb, J.D. (aka Nora Roberts) ' 38th in series
Putnam, ©2010, US Hardcover ' ISBN: 9780399156878
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER CRACKERJACK THRILLER FROM J. D. ROBB, Jan. 8 2011
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Susan Ericksen has won not only acclaim but an army of fans with her narrations of J. D. Robb's In Death series. She has become the voice of the
Eve and Roarke adventures, bringing to these stories not only the ultimate in professionalism but added suspense and emotion.

We're usually treated to the stories in this series twice a year, and each time the latest is said to be the best - we'll say it again INDULGENCE IN DEATH is prime Robb and Ericksen.

As many know Eve is a homicide detective who knows no fear and is married to Roarke, one very wealthy guy. Obviously, Eve doesn't have to risk everything to find killers; she could simply relax and enjoy the high life. But trying to keep NYC safe is her calling. And there are times that seems an impossibility - this is one of them.

We find Eve and Roarke on holiday in Ireland, but too soon it's a return to the City and a gruesome series of crimes. The recently deceased seem to have no connection to one another, and they were killed by rather bizarre means - a crossbow, a bayonet. Eve knows the killer will strike again but how to find out where or when?

- Gail Cooke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dallas is the best..., Nov. 26 2010
By 
Manon Lavoie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Indulgence in Death (Hardcover)
I just love this serie. All Eve Dallas' books deserved a five stars. The story and humanity in it is amazing. I have no shame in it...I am a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indulge yourself and read this book, Nov. 21 2010
By 
S. Morehouse (Langley, BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Indulgence in Death (Hardcover)
Eve Dallas is a New York City police lieutenant who is known as the top murder cop in the city. She is married to a wealthy man who is also considered to be the best in his line of work. Together, they are the quintessential power couple.
There is a game afoot and it involves murder. It's Eve's job to find out who is killing people who have become the best in their line of work. The murders involve exotic weapons, places and people. It's a world that Eve can navigate because of her position as well as her marriage.
J.D. Robb always tells a good story. The story is in the investigation and the conversation. This is a very verbal book. There is lots of banter and discussion. As with her other books, the reader knows early on who the killers are. It's the reasoning and interplay between the characters that makes the book interesting.
Along with the murders, the other themes are familiar ones. Friendship and family are key concepts in this series. Eve is learning to accept friendship and family and to allow herself to be loved. To find out why this is difficult for her you will need to start at the beginning of the series and find out about her background. But you don't need to have read any other of Robb's books to enjoy this one. Indulge yourself and read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Indulgence in Death(CD)(Abr.)
Indulgence in Death(CD)(Abr.) by J.D. Robb (Audio CD - March 29 2011)
CDN$ 17.50 CDN$ 14.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews