Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Storytelling!
What King continues to do so brilliantly is defy expectation. These two tales could not be more different in tone, character, or style, yet they have a shared fascination for human behaviour (often at its worst). Both stories are superb: "Billy" is headlong in execution and flat-out narrative fun, while "Morality" simply sits in one's head for days/months/years(?!) after...
Published on Oct. 18 2011 by T. Burman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute but...
As always, Stephen King is a superb, surreal author whom we enjoy but for the size of this book, even though hard cover, the price is way too high.
Published 19 months ago by Laurie Hawley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Storytelling!, Oct. 18 2011
By 
T. Burman "pale69rider" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blockade Billy (Hardcover)
What King continues to do so brilliantly is defy expectation. These two tales could not be more different in tone, character, or style, yet they have a shared fascination for human behaviour (often at its worst). Both stories are superb: "Billy" is headlong in execution and flat-out narrative fun, while "Morality" simply sits in one's head for days/months/years(?!) after it's read, like a horrible candle that won't extinguish. Unsettling ain't the half of it.

Consider me a constant reader for life then. I love following King down these dark roads of his. I don't ever presume to know where the destination will be, but remain grateful for his unexpected detours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stephen King Junky, Sept. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blockade Billy (Hardcover)
Had to have this as soon as it came out, but I am not an unbiased judge, I love everything Stephen King writes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good reading, Jan. 5 2013
By 
Garth Curwin "Read: It's good for you." (Moncton, New Brunswick Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blockade Billy (Hardcover)
As always,great little stories from Stephen King. The book was delivered promptly and the price was accceptable.I ordered this book to make up the price, with another item, to get free shipping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cute but..., Dec 21 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blockade Billy (Hardcover)
As always, Stephen King is a superb, surreal author whom we enjoy but for the size of this book, even though hard cover, the price is way too high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit and a Miss, Aug. 9 2010
By 
Jeffrey Swystun (Toronto & Mont Tremblant) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blockade Billy (Hardcover)
This is actually two short tales. The first, Blockade Billy, revisits his Colorado Kid folksy, pure mystery approach. I enjoyed it including the interview style he chose for sharing the story of a catcher who is wanted on and off the field. The second entry, Morality, was a 'what would you do' scenario that was less gripping. Both are of short length and may have been better presented in a larger collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mundane King Dressed Up Like Something Special, July 25 2010
By 
Andrew Salmon (Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blockade Billy (Hardcover)
If the two stories in this volume were part of a larger anthology, they would probably be more palatable as they are pretty standard King stories and nothing all that great. The second is better than the first but both are nothing special.

And they should have been! To warrant special packaging like this. That is if the book wasn't just a cash grab. Which it most certainly is.

Blockade Billy takes too long to go nowhere and Morality is also a little on the long side though it is at least about something and is disturbing. I don't blame King for writing these tales, that's what writers do, but this hyped-up hardcover, overpriced "showcasing" of mundane King makes no sense other than greed.

I got the book for free so I don't feel the financial pinch here. My advice would be to wait until these two tales are collected in a forthcoming anthology where they belong.

Nothing to get excited about here. Save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars B sides, Oct. 6 2010
By 
Chris (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blockade Billy (Hardcover)
Both stories were interesting, but neither lived up to its build-up. A short review, yes, but the book was short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blockade Billy
Blockade Billy by Stephen King (Audio CD - May 25 2010)
CDN$ 27.00 CDN$ 17.01
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews