Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping from beginning to end
First let me say that this book is nothing like Fifty First Dates; the main point being that this is a thriller not a comedy. If you were to compare it to a movie, Momento would be a better choice. Yes, it's another story involving amnesia but it's good.

I read this book in one sitting. The premise is rather simple but the way the story unfolds is completely...
Published on June 17 2011 by Slomacs

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good...but....
This book was beautifully written. It was quite interesting to read about amnesia and how it affects the lives of the victim and his/her family. I thought the book dragged on quite a bit however, I was waiting for something to happen, and had to wait until the very end. However, SJ Watson still kept readers somewhat interested with little hints here and there of what was...
Published on Nov. 8 2011 by M. LeB


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping from beginning to end, June 17 2011
This review is from: Before I Go To Sleep (Paperback)
First let me say that this book is nothing like Fifty First Dates; the main point being that this is a thriller not a comedy. If you were to compare it to a movie, Momento would be a better choice. Yes, it's another story involving amnesia but it's good.

I read this book in one sitting. The premise is rather simple but the way the story unfolds is completely captivating: a woman wakes up each day unable to remember anything that's happened in the last 20 or so years. The story is her journal as she pieces together her life and dark secrets are slowly revealed. This is a gripping, entertaining and unputdownable thriller and should be the big summer blockbuster this year!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You won't sleep 'til you finish it!, June 20 2011
By 
Luanne Ollivier - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
You might have heard about Before I Go To Sleep - the debut novel of S. J. Watson. You might have heard that it's an addicting, incredibly well crafted, finely honed suspenseful tale that will leave you turning pages long into the night.

Everything you've heard? All that and more! What an amazing debut! Rights have been sold in thirty countries already and the film rights are sold as well.

Christine wakes up early and finds herself in bed with a middle aged man. One she doesn't know and can't quite remember how she got there.

"Usually I can remember how I get into situations like this, but not today. There must have been a party, or a trip to a bar or a club. I must have been pretty wasted. Wasted enough that I don't remember anything at all. Wasted enough to have gone home with a man with a wedding ring and hairs on his back."

She creeps into the bathroom, but the hand that flushes the toilet looks wrong. And when she looks into the mirror, there's a middle aged woman looking back. That can't be her - she's twenty five, that woman is at least 45... And then the man wakes up and tells her who she is - his wife. His wife who had a bad accident that left her with head injuries and severe amnesia. She literally cannot remember anything from day to day.

"You've had amnesia for a long time. You can't retain new memories, so you 've forgotten much of what happened to you for your entire adult life. Every day you wake up as if you are a young woman. Some days you wake as if you are a child."

Ben her husband goes off to work. The phone rings and she answers it - it's a man who says he is a doctor treating her and tells her to look in her closet for her journal. And along with Christine, we read what she remembers. Until she goes to sleep and forgets it all again.....

Can you just imagine waking up with no memory and reading a journal you've written with what you've learned or remembered about yourself? Every day. As we get further and further into her journal everyday, the questions arise - should Christine trust the doctor - or her husband?

S. J. Watson has done a phenomonal job at intensifying the suspense and building on it in subtle layers. I was reminded of classic Alfred Hitchcock films. The ratcheting tension is thoroughly delicious. The cover art is great too, with the fogged mirror and the woman peering through. Loved it, loved it, loved it!!

Be warned - you won't be getting too much shut eye yourself until you turn the last page of Before I Go To Sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When all information is new, and all new information creates suspense, July 4 2011
By 
Andre Farant (Ottawa, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Before I Go To Sleep (Paperback)
For the most part thrillers focus primarily on plot while the main character and narrator fall into one of a very limited number of categories. For the most part, the Mc will be brilliant, a member of law enforcement, and highly moral. With this archetype as his or her base, the thriller author has only to paste on a few distinguishing characteristics, making his or her hero a black single dad, a quadriplegic criminalist, or a female forensic anthropologist. In these novels it is the events of the plot that are of importance, not so much the characters who participate in these events.

However, there have been, of late, a string of somewhat more literary thrillers that focus on the mundane aspects of daily life, relying on a unique narrative voice to imbue these otherwise banal events with suspense. Emma Donaghues' novel Room, in which the narrator is a five year old boy who has been raised in captivity, is such a book. The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold, in which a young girl follows the aftermath of her rape and murder from a heavenly vantage point, is another. These novels create tension and suspense by presenting their plots through a unique lens.

S.J. Watson's Before I Go To Sleep is the latter sort of thriller. His narrator is a woman named Christine and she is incapable of creating new memories. Every morning she awakes without any knowledge of the past twenty-odd years. In fact, her lost memories include some that predate the event that led to her condition. Every day begins only with questions and mysteries, so that even the most basic of information is, to her, a shocking revelation. She does not recognize her husband, nor does she remember her wedding day, or the day they met. She does not know what she studied in school, or which career she embarked upon after graduation. She does not remember what she ate the day before, or how she might have acquired that bruise above her eye.

Comparisons can be made to the film Memento, but Christine's condition is more akin to that suffered by Drew Barrymore in the terrible Adam Sandler comedy 50 First Dates. But here Watson treats Christine's situation, and the trail of truths, half-truths and lies she must navigate, with chilling seriousness.

Watson's debut hooks and reels you in with a fascinating exploration of daily life skewed by its protagonist's unique perspective, not unlike Genova's Still Alice, but there's a sharper, hidden edge to this particular tale . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could Be A TOP Book of 2011...Don't Miss It!!!, Aug. 23 2011
By 
Louise Jolly "Bookaholic" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Before I Go To Sleep (Paperback)
This is the first book I've read on my brand new KOBO e-reader and what a book it was!!! The mystery and suspense kept me turning page after page. The further the story went along, the faster I read and the quicker I turned the pages. This could very well be one of the TOP books for 2011.

The writing is flawless, the characters well-developed, and the story will just absolutely blow you out of the water.

I felt so bad for Christine. Imagine waking up every single morning and not knowing where you were, who the man in bed beside you was, what you were doing there etc. To have to be told anew at the beginning of each day and then lose it all again once sleep comes would be devastating at best. The ending was incredible and one I didn't expect.

This is one book that I will highly, highly recommend to EVERYONE!!! Excellent and very, very well done novel!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good...but...., Nov. 8 2011
This review is from: Before I Go To Sleep (Paperback)
This book was beautifully written. It was quite interesting to read about amnesia and how it affects the lives of the victim and his/her family. I thought the book dragged on quite a bit however, I was waiting for something to happen, and had to wait until the very end. However, SJ Watson still kept readers somewhat interested with little hints here and there of what was to come, and then toward the end, baffled us with a twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the description of this book is extreamly missleading, this ..., Dec 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
the description of this book is extreamly missleading, this book is chick-fiction, half the book is about a woman dealing with the awkardness of unshared intimacy between her and her husband and her shock at being older then she rembers. the mystery aspect is really weak and choppy. the story has no flow and no build up. if your into that buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but the ending is a let down, Oct. 26 2011
This review is from: Before I Go To Sleep (Paperback)
I could NOT put this book down. I was engrossed throughout the whole novel - trying to figure out what was going to happen with Christine.

The only downfall of the book, was that it seemed it was almost anti-climatic. 3/4 of the book builds the reader up & as the reader, you think you're getting close to a fulfilling, detailed ending. But, before you know it, the book is over & the ending leaves a lot to be desired. Watson definitely could have spent more time developing the ending, instead of wasting the reader's time by repeating over & over that Christine has just woken up & has to look at the photos around the bathroom mirror...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to put down, Sept. 20 2011
By 
Jessica Strider (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Before I Go To Sleep (Paperback)
Pros: sympathetic protagonist, good pacing, tension builds to a strong climax

Cons: some plot twists are predictable

Every morning Christine Lucas wakes up next to a stranger: her husband, Ben. An accident has robbed her of the ability to remember the past 20 years and to retain new memories.

She quickly discovers she has been keeping secrets from Ben, in the form of Dr. Nash, a doctor trying to help her regain her memories and a diary she's been keeping for the past few weeks. A diary that has, 'DON'T TRUST BEN', scratched into the front page.

This was a quick read that pulls you in from page one. The plight of a woman who has no idea who she is, who learns things each day and then forgets everything, is gut-wrenching.

Ben is alternately a sympathetic and sinister character. Christine discovers he lies to her, but isn't sure if it's to keep her from feeling grief over the events of the past or for another purpose.

I was able to guess a few things that would happen, but the climax was strong and contained a few twists I didn't predict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice distraction, Feb. 24 2012
This review is from: Before I Go To Sleep (Paperback)
A well-written book. Easy read and gripping enough to keep you occupied for the week.
Nothing overly complicated or technical, pacing of the novel was excellent. I disagree with reviewers who said it was too repetitive - it's called character development people! You're dealing with an amnesiac who can't form new memories...what did you expect?!

Don't expect to learn a lot about the condition as it is not very scientific (which were my expectations). Instead, this is a nice intro and might urge those interested to delve a little deeper into neurological conditions.

Readers should not rate this book poorly because of the "idea" they had in mind was not met, or the misconceptions led by other readers. Rate it for what it is. A great debut for the author. S. J. Watson has lots of potential & it will be nice to see where his career leads him.

Sit back and enjoy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, Oct. 19 2011
By 
Teresa Piorun (Mission, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Before I Go To Sleep (Paperback)
This book was amazing. It took a little to get into it... But the ending was so unsuspecting and exciting! I highly HIGHLY recomend this book! I couldn't put it down. I'm a pretty slow reader and finished it in 2 days! Amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Before I Go To Sleep
Before I Go To Sleep by S.j Watson (Paperback - June 6 2011)
CDN$ 21.99 CDN$ 15.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews