biss Up to 40% Off CBC's Canada Reads 2016 Shortlist boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars118
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$19.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews(1 star). Show all reviews
on December 18, 2014
This book sounded interesting and I stayed to the end. There just isn't enough in the premise to sustain suspense. Certainly not original as a notable film handled the whole amnesia idea far better. The ending felt rushed and contrived. Disappointing.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2012
Why read the same thing over and over again only to get to a predictable ending?? Not good. I was very dissapointed after all the good reviews.
0Comment8 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2016
I was so disappointed by this book. I don't agree that it was "beautifully written," and there are many moments that I question the author's perception of what it feels like to be a woman. Sex shouldn't be painful or gory! And it's not healthy to feel invalidated when some guy in a cafe doesn't look your way!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2014
the description of this book is extreamly missleading, this book is chick-fiction, half the book is about a woman dealing with the awkardness of unshared intimacy between her and her husband and her shock at being older then she rembers. the mystery aspect is really weak and choppy. the story has no flow and no build up. if your into that buy it.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2012
I have never been so disappointed in a book. Drawn in by the accolades on the cover, and a huge fan of neurologically damaged characters I thought I'd enjoy the subject matter. How wrong I was. Literally three quarters of the book was dedicated to the description and constant, endless reinforcement of the main character's plight, full of holes as she writes (as only a writer can) what we are supposed to believe is the ramblings of a confused amnesiac. When you're ready to throw the book across the room there's a teaser of an ending and the hope that maybe, just maybe it's not going to end as predictably as you have convinced yourself it would do... And lo and behold, it does. In a hurry. With all the excitement of a wet Wednesday. Sorry, but I won't be making a dash for novel number two...
0Comment9 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2012
This book stinks. A reasonably good story line is buried under tons of sloppy research and stilted writing. The female voice is unconvincing. The author has done too little research on amnesia which he then attempts to mitigate by forcing the psychiatrist to tell us that this case is really unusual. The only unusual thing about the story is that this book is on a bestseller list.
0Comment4 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2012
The writing is pedestrian and consists almost entirely of dialogue. There is so little description of houses or people that you can't even imagine them. You develop no interest in the main character and so don't really care if she lives or dies. It's a drab little mystery novel that was published because they thought they could sell it. And they did.
But this is a thriller at the absolute lowest most inept level. God, it was boring.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2012
Do not believe the rave reviews on the book cover, or you'll be sorely disappointed. Oh, it's a "page-turner" alright, but you're turning them with speed hoping that the story will improve. But it doesn't. It goes along in a simplistic, uneven way up until the last 20 pages, when it becomes a haphazard flurry of explanation spelling out the rhyme and reasons. And by then you don't care, because the characters are like cardboard cut-outs, so there's no emotional investment right up to the end. Believe me, this is no 'thriller'.
0Comment2 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2012
This book is 50 First Dates with an evil twist, right down the journal, the husband and the child she doesn't recognize. Deja vu.
0Comment2 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2012
I liked the premise of the book, and kept hoping it would get better. I held out and finished it but was sorely disappointed that I wasted my time. The plot was predictable, the narrative was plodding and the protagonist was pathetically helpless and didn't spark an ounce of sympathy from me. Would not recommend.
0Comment0 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse