Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A clear view into the career and life of a memorable player
If you were a hockey fan during Bob Probert's career on the ice you will find this book an interesting read. It is one of the better written sports autobiographies, making it an easy read; a credit to Kirstie MacLellan Day. Where other hockey story books give you disjointed stories in time, Probert's book provides a coherent continuous timeline. Be prepared for graphic...
Published on Nov. 30 2010 by John Hrycak

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tough Read
This book was depressing. Theo Fleury appeared to battle his addiction demons. He also had some reasons for his struggles, particularly sexual victimization by his coach. We never find out the reasons behind Proberts serious drug and alcohol addictions. We hear about his huge boat, huge cars and huge house but little about why he continues to return to substance abuse...
Published on Dec 17 2010 by Harris Macklin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A clear view into the career and life of a memorable player, Nov. 30 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tough Guy (Hardcover)
If you were a hockey fan during Bob Probert's career on the ice you will find this book an interesting read. It is one of the better written sports autobiographies, making it an easy read; a credit to Kirstie MacLellan Day. Where other hockey story books give you disjointed stories in time, Probert's book provides a coherent continuous timeline. Be prepared for graphic description of a rough and tumble life outside of the arena. His book sure gives you insight into other players, team management and some politic of the league.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant, March 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tough Guy (Hardcover)
Grew up loving this guy. The book was great. Didnt realize he had so many demons inside. One tough man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, Feb. 8 2012
This review is from: Tough Guy (Hardcover)
This was a moving book. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Everybody should read this book, whether you remember who Bob Probert was or not. This book told the story how it was. It was absolutely fantastic. I can't even describe it. This was probably the best hockey auto-bio I have ever read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good read, Nov. 24 2010
By 
D. Brooks (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tough Guy (Hardcover)
good honest read, kinda felt disappointed with him and all chances he had and setbacks. Never will understand a guy with a knockout beautiful wife and nice family getting involved with degenerates/strippers in his personal life. hell of a fighter though . if your gonna tell your story be honest and he was
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tough Read, Dec 17 2010
This review is from: Tough Guy (Hardcover)
This book was depressing. Theo Fleury appeared to battle his addiction demons. He also had some reasons for his struggles, particularly sexual victimization by his coach. We never find out the reasons behind Proberts serious drug and alcohol addictions. We hear about his huge boat, huge cars and huge house but little about why he continues to return to substance abuse. Why would a guy with a beautiful wife, great kids and an awesome job prefer the dark side of life? I don't know. It is never answered. Of course he died while writing the book (the prologue is written by his wife and details his tragic death) which may be the reason. While Fleury appeared to struggle to overcome his addictions, Probert revels in them for the most part. The book does not flow as well as Fleury's either as he jumps between recovery and relapse and you never know quite where he is. He makes one brief commitment to religion and nothing further is said about it. It all comes across as a wasted life. Judging by this book and Fleury's; drugs must have been rampant in the NHL during this time period. I hope it is not the case anymore. This book is not appropriate for young hockey fans due to drug use, coarse language and graphic information about Probert's various struggles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bob Probert Just Made My Christmas Easier, Oct. 26 2010
This review is from: Tough Guy (Hardcover)
Thanks to this book, Christmas just became easier. I had no idea what to get my dad, my nephew and my two brothers-in-law and now I do. I can take care of the whole family for under a hundred bucks!! They all want this book for Christmas. I have not heard one bad thing about it. I have several friends who feel the same. I just hope they have lots in stock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good service, Dec 29 2011
Got here quick. Brand new. The book seems to starting off well. I would definetly recommend this seller. Good work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty average, March 6 2011
By 
Scott Beveridge (Port Moody, B.C. Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tough Guy (Hardcover)
The book was okay but there was not a lot of in depth information. He is quite a team mate and so he wouldn't go into great details with most of his stories because he would have had to put others in trouble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tragic life story, Feb. 21 2011
This review is from: Tough Guy (Hardcover)
Tragic to read about a lad who had so much going for him but drugs & alcohol fueled such anger within that it came out the way it did. Appeared to be well-liked in the dressing room though - you can't help but feel for his wife & kids. His lifestyle no doubt led to his early demise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting, Jan. 3 2011
This review is from: Tough Guy (Hardcover)
Interesting book about a colorful and sad figure. Too much money and addictive personality starting from a young age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tough Guy
Tough Guy by Bob M. Probert (Hardcover - Oct. 18 2010)
CDN$ 32.99 CDN$ 20.68
Usually ships in 6 to 9 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews