Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yummy recipes
Very colorful book with lots of pictures of the dishes.
I've tried some of the recipes ... loved the mushroom gnocchi.
It's a must for any one who likes Italian food.
Published on Aug. 14 2012 by Cooking Mom

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I've never written a bad review but I wanted to balance the reviews that have been posted previously.
I don't think people that have cooked Italian food previously will be satisfied with this book. The pictures and layout of the book is wonderful, and some recipes are good. But most of the recipes are too simplistic in nature.

I am all about "la cucina...
Published 22 months ago by Jon P


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yummy recipes, Aug. 14 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Made In Italy (Hardcover)
Very colorful book with lots of pictures of the dishes.
I've tried some of the recipes ... loved the mushroom gnocchi.
It's a must for any one who likes Italian food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, Jan. 5 2013
This review is from: Made In Italy (Hardcover)
I've never written a bad review but I wanted to balance the reviews that have been posted previously.
I don't think people that have cooked Italian food previously will be satisfied with this book. The pictures and layout of the book is wonderful, and some recipes are good. But most of the recipes are too simplistic in nature.

I am all about "la cucina povera" (the poor kitchen) as my parents are Italian immigrants. However some of the "recipes" that are given are not recipes at all. I say this because there are too many 2-3 ingredient recipes.

- Bistecca Fiorentina - Porterhouse steak, salt and pepper (page 287)
- Lemon-Infused Grilled Scamorza - Scamorza Cheese, 4 Lemon leaves or zest of 1 lemon (page 241)
- Beppe's Family's Pasta Pranzo - 9 cups flour, Lukewarm water (page 205)

Yes, Italian food is about simplicity due to a focus on fresh ingredients, but this book does not do it justice. The genius of Italian food is lost in this book. Italians make such incredible food with limited ingredients (not one or two!).

If you are interested in Italian food, better resources would be:
- The Silver Spoon (A little expensive but covers all regions of Italy)
- The Classic Italian Cookbook - Marcella Hazan (step by step instructions of classic recipes)

Hope that helps!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Made In Italy (Hardcover)
A very authentic Italian receipes Loved It.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars David Rocco "Rocks", June 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Made In Italy (Hardcover)
This is a well layed out and beautifully illustrated book. David was gracious enough to sign my wife's copy when he come through Vancouver. Needless to say it is of her favorite cook books. David passion and enthusiasm come through on each pages. Well Done Paisano!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, May 23 2013
By 
C. robinson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Made In Italy (Hardcover)
Easy to follow and great photos to go with the recipes. Also David Rocco adds some history behind certain dishes. I love these recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous book, Jan. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Made In Italy (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my mom for xmas. Stunning photos and inspiring recipes. I would recommend this cookbook and wouldn't mind a copy for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yum and YUM!, Nov. 30 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Made In Italy (Hardcover)
Lots of good, simple recipes. Lots of yummy photos of David Rocco and of Italy. Many of the recipes are re-imaginations if those published in "La Dolce Vita", and can be found on his website. Nonetheless, no regrets in forking out the dough to add this to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great food done simply and well, Oct. 19 2011
By 
JD (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Made In Italy (Hardcover)
You gotta love these books. David and his team put together a cook book that's fun to read, a joy to look at and when you get down to actually doing the recipes, a pleasure to consume! We have "Rocco Nights" where 3 or 4 couples get together and each couple prepares a course from one of his books for our dinner party. 'Made in Italy' does not disappoint. Buon gusto!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful book, Dec 30 2011
By 
Daphne Joseph (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Made In Italy (Hardcover)
David's book, like his previous books is gorgeous in presentation, the pictures are beautiful, and the recipes are clear, simple and delicious. It transports you to Italy, the stories are real and enjoyable, and cooking with it is easy and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The closest thing to Italy, Jan. 22 2012
This review is from: Made In Italy (Hardcover)
The pictures, the recipes, the culture of Italy jump off every page.

A true delight in every way, with vegetarian recipes to satisfy any meat eater. Encourages you to use less expensive cuts of meats, use up whatever you have on hand, substitute any cheese and even use your death-bed vegetables. Most recipes are better the next day! However, while there are many simple recipes you'll find no shortcuts here - everything is prepared the way an Italian grandma would do it. She wastes nothing - and she spares no time, no expense and of course, no olive oil.

The first thing I cooked was the eggplant parmigiana, with such glorious results that I ordered his other book the next day. (yes it took three cups of olive oil, three pans and an entire evening... but it was worth every messy moment). Try the bollito and the salsa verde, which will prove that you're a fan of anchovies after all.

Best for those that cook with love... might even convert those that don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Made In Italy
Made In Italy by David Rocco (Hardcover - Oct. 6 2011)
CDN$ 39.99 CDN$ 25.07
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews