march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars17
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$35.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 14, 2012
Very colorful book with lots of pictures of the dishes.
I've tried some of the recipes ... loved the mushroom gnocchi.
It's a must for any one who likes Italian food.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2013
I've never written a bad review but I wanted to balance the reviews that have been posted previously.
I don't think people that have cooked Italian food previously will be satisfied with this book. The pictures and layout of the book is wonderful, and some recipes are good. But most of the recipes are too simplistic in nature.

I am all about "la cucina povera" (the poor kitchen) as my parents are Italian immigrants. However some of the "recipes" that are given are not recipes at all. I say this because there are too many 2-3 ingredient recipes.

- Bistecca Fiorentina - Porterhouse steak, salt and pepper (page 287)
- Lemon-Infused Grilled Scamorza - Scamorza Cheese, 4 Lemon leaves or zest of 1 lemon (page 241)
- Beppe's Family's Pasta Pranzo - 9 cups flour, Lukewarm water (page 205)

Yes, Italian food is about simplicity due to a focus on fresh ingredients, but this book does not do it justice. The genius of Italian food is lost in this book. Italians make such incredible food with limited ingredients (not one or two!).

If you are interested in Italian food, better resources would be:
- The Silver Spoon (A little expensive but covers all regions of Italy)
- The Classic Italian Cookbook - Marcella Hazan (step by step instructions of classic recipes)

Hope that helps!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2012
Lots of good, simple recipes. Lots of yummy photos of David Rocco and of Italy. Many of the recipes are re-imaginations if those published in "La Dolce Vita", and can be found on his website. Nonetheless, no regrets in forking out the dough to add this to my collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2013
This is a well layed out and beautifully illustrated book. David was gracious enough to sign my wife's copy when he come through Vancouver. Needless to say it is of her favorite cook books. David passion and enthusiasm come through on each pages. Well Done Paisano!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2011
You gotta love these books. David and his team put together a cook book that's fun to read, a joy to look at and when you get down to actually doing the recipes, a pleasure to consume! We have "Rocco Nights" where 3 or 4 couples get together and each couple prepares a course from one of his books for our dinner party. 'Made in Italy' does not disappoint. Buon gusto!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2013
I bought this book for my mom for xmas. Stunning photos and inspiring recipes. I would recommend this cookbook and wouldn't mind a copy for myself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2016
This book is wonderful. The recipes and photos are amazing! I gave this as a Christmas gift for one of my sister's who loves it as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2013
Easy to follow and great photos to go with the recipes. Also David Rocco adds some history behind certain dishes. I love these recipes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2011
David's book, like his previous books is gorgeous in presentation, the pictures are beautiful, and the recipes are clear, simple and delicious. It transports you to Italy, the stories are real and enjoyable, and cooking with it is easy and fun.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2012
The pictures, the recipes, the culture of Italy jump off every page.

A true delight in every way, with vegetarian recipes to satisfy any meat eater. Encourages you to use less expensive cuts of meats, use up whatever you have on hand, substitute any cheese and even use your death-bed vegetables. Most recipes are better the next day! However, while there are many simple recipes you'll find no shortcuts here - everything is prepared the way an Italian grandma would do it. She wastes nothing - and she spares no time, no expense and of course, no olive oil.

The first thing I cooked was the eggplant parmigiana, with such glorious results that I ordered his other book the next day. (yes it took three cups of olive oil, three pans and an entire evening... but it was worth every messy moment). Try the bollito and the salsa verde, which will prove that you're a fan of anchovies after all.

Best for those that cook with love... might even convert those that don't.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items