Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read!
A very enjoyable trip down memory lane with a man who worked in Canadian broadcasting during six consecutive decades. So interesting to read his perspective on major events, how they were reported and how they affected Canada-- from the Kennedy assassination to the lunar landing to 9/11-- he was there for it all. Was also very surprised to learn of how rough his childhood...
Published on Nov. 8 2012 by twmsarh

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A qualified OK
A news anchor becomes a national figure, and potentially has a broad range of experiences. I wish there had been more of Lloyd's experiences in the field and less on the manoeuvres between the different broadcasting stations. As common in an autobiography there was a plethora of name dropping, which to someone not connected with the TV or radio industry was confusing...
Published 22 months ago by David


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read!, Nov. 8 2012
By 
twmsarh (Halifax, NS, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kind Of Life It's Been (Hardcover)
A very enjoyable trip down memory lane with a man who worked in Canadian broadcasting during six consecutive decades. So interesting to read his perspective on major events, how they were reported and how they affected Canada-- from the Kennedy assassination to the lunar landing to 9/11-- he was there for it all. Was also very surprised to learn of how rough his childhood was. It's made me miss seeing him on tv at the end of every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting Memoir!, Jan. 17 2013
By 
Louise Jolly "Bookaholic" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kind Of Life It's Been (Hardcover)
Story Description:

HarperCollins Publishers|October 16, 2012|Hardcover|ISBN: 978-1-44340-861-5

For sixty years, Lloyd Robertson lived his dream of working in broadcasting bringing us the major events of the day. The longest-serving TV news anchor in Canadian history, first on CBC and then on CTV, Robertson remains one of the most accomplished journalists of our time. His career is truly the story of Canada over the past half century, as he told us about key events like the moon landing, JFK's assassination, Trudeaumania, Terry Fox's run, the Montreal Massacre, 9/11, and the royal weddings.

In The Kind of Life It's Been, Robertson shares the inside story and the insights he has gained over his long career, from breaking into the business in his hometown of Stratford, Ontario, to joining the CBC to his highly public departure for CTV to his career as senior editor of CTV News. Filled with fascinating and often hilarious anecdotes about Robertson's career, this book captures the essential tales of our time and is a must for any Canadian interested in the inner workings of a frenetic newsroom.

My Review:

Who doesn't love Lloyd Robertson? Lloyd's memoir will fill you up and leave you feeling satisfied as if you've just sat down and finished a long, well-deserved homemade turkey dinner. No one has been in broadcasting as long as our dear Lloyd and he has the credentials to prove it.

I was somewhat surprised to learn of his mother's problems and his father's older age, he certainly didn't have much of a childhood and I felt he was lonely a lot of the time but always managed to find himself something to do. He was self-motivated from the word go and it's not at all surprising he became so very successful.

The Kind of Life It's Been is a riveting story about a man who truly is Canada's voice! Lloyd is a man who is not only known and loved in Canada, but around the world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading, Jan. 27 2015
By 
RedMtl "RedMtl" (Montréal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Kind Of Life It's Been (Hardcover)
I purchased this book as soon as it came out, and do not regret doing so. It is well written, as one might expect from a journalist of Mr. Robertson's pedigree, and is very readable.

Reading other reviews I see references to what some have called "name dropping" and to the mentioning of various people who are part now, or have been in the past, of the news and journalism circles. I would have to say that this is hardly unexpected, and for anyone who has actively followed the news itself (not just the profession) over the decades none of the names are unknown. It is to be expected that such references would appear, and it is surprising that some readers would find this odd and/or annoying.

While one might have hoped for a bit more content with regard some of the more renowned and monumental news stories of the years, many if not most of which were covered by Robertson, that isn't really the focus of the book. Perhaps another volume will be forthcoming that addresses specifically the "big news events" of the last fifty years, and Mr. Robertson's personal coverage and view of those.

Where the focus does go – to his personal life (at least to some extent); to his career development and progress; and to the intra-political manoeuvrings of the world of broadcast journalism – is interesting and provides a view of the side of Mr. Robertson’s world that would not normally be seen.

He should be applauded for raising the important point of mental health, and while more comments on that would have been welcome, we have to remember that this is his personal life on a level that is very private, and he also has other family members to consider when raising this sort of point.

This is likewise the case with regard some of the commentary on the “office politics” of his profession. We must remember that Mr. Robertson is not retired. He has left the daily newscast, yes, but he is still very much active in the profession, especially on the documentary and investigative reporting side. As such, while we as readers might appreciate some of the juicier titbits, it must be remembered that Mr. Robertson is still active and working, and must take care with what he writes for public consumption.

Perhaps, after he actually retires at age 95 or so, we will get another instalment of what we can hope is a series, and that one will tell all the little bits that would get him into professional hot water if he were to publish them now.

All in all, a good read. Enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the kind of life it's been, May 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Kind Of Life It's Been (Hardcover)
a true story of a great anchor.
a wonderful man - an interesting life - Miss you Lloyd.
frank o.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A qualified OK, June 17 2013
By 
David (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Kind Of Life It's Been (Hardcover)
A news anchor becomes a national figure, and potentially has a broad range of experiences. I wish there had been more of Lloyd's experiences in the field and less on the manoeuvres between the different broadcasting stations. As common in an autobiography there was a plethora of name dropping, which to someone not connected with the TV or radio industry was confusing. Interesting parts, and I would say yes it's OK and worth reading particularly if you have an interest in the development of radio and TV in Canada.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great gift, Feb. 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Kind Of Life It's Been (Hardcover)
I bought this for a Christmas gift for a family member and he loved it. Lloyd is such a well loved personality so it's great that he finally has written a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, May 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Kind Of Life It's Been (Hardcover)
I bought this for my mom! She absolutely loved it! It was very well written, and the pics in the middle were a bonus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars lloyd roberston a kind of life it's been., June 27 2014
By 
Roger Nadeau "roger" (canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kind Of Life It's Been (Hardcover)
mediocre at best just not enough meat here. mr. Roberson has seen some of the most tumultuous times from a point of view the rest of us can only dream of and he doesn't really have anything to say about them. that being said It didn't take too long to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Kind of Life It's Been by Lloyd Robertson, Dec 24 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Kind Of Life It's Been (Hardcover)
This is a good peek into the life of a news anchor whose life has been in journalism.
The author is frank in the presentation of the details.
I found the commentary a bit too filled with references to colleagues whose names I did not recognize.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Robertson Bio Fair Read, Oct. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Lloyd's account has an air of honesty. Gives the unpleasant with the more pleasing parts of his life's story. At times the details tend to bore, and a few parts I skipped over. Over all it's a good, honest, and interesting read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kind Of Life It's Been
The Kind Of Life It's Been by Lloyd Robertson (Hardcover - Oct. 3 2012)
CDN$ 33.99 CDN$ 21.31
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews