Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read!
A very enjoyable trip down memory lane with a man who worked in Canadian broadcasting during six consecutive decades. So interesting to read his perspective on major events, how they were reported and how they affected Canada-- from the Kennedy assassination to the lunar landing to 9/11-- he was there for it all. Was also very surprised to learn of how rough his childhood...
Published 20 months ago by twmsarh

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars lloyd roberston a kind of life it's been.
mediocre at best just not enough meat here. mr. Roberson has seen some of the most tumultuous times from a point of view the rest of us can only dream of and he doesn't really have anything to say about them. that being said It didn't take too long to read.
Published 1 month ago by Roger Nadeau


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read!, Nov. 8 2012
By 
twmsarh (Halifax, NS, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kind Of Life It's Been (Hardcover)
A very enjoyable trip down memory lane with a man who worked in Canadian broadcasting during six consecutive decades. So interesting to read his perspective on major events, how they were reported and how they affected Canada-- from the Kennedy assassination to the lunar landing to 9/11-- he was there for it all. Was also very surprised to learn of how rough his childhood was. It's made me miss seeing him on tv at the end of every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the kind of life it's been, May 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Kind Of Life It's Been (Hardcover)
a true story of a great anchor.
a wonderful man - an interesting life - Miss you Lloyd.
frank o.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, May 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Kind Of Life It's Been (Hardcover)
I bought this for my mom! She absolutely loved it! It was very well written, and the pics in the middle were a bonus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great gift, Feb. 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Kind Of Life It's Been (Hardcover)
I bought this for a Christmas gift for a family member and he loved it. Lloyd is such a well loved personality so it's great that he finally has written a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting Memoir!, Jan. 17 2013
By 
Louise Jolly "Bookaholic" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kind Of Life It's Been (Hardcover)
Story Description:

HarperCollins Publishers|October 16, 2012|Hardcover|ISBN: 978-1-44340-861-5

For sixty years, Lloyd Robertson lived his dream of working in broadcasting bringing us the major events of the day. The longest-serving TV news anchor in Canadian history, first on CBC and then on CTV, Robertson remains one of the most accomplished journalists of our time. His career is truly the story of Canada over the past half century, as he told us about key events like the moon landing, JFK's assassination, Trudeaumania, Terry Fox's run, the Montreal Massacre, 9/11, and the royal weddings.

In The Kind of Life It's Been, Robertson shares the inside story and the insights he has gained over his long career, from breaking into the business in his hometown of Stratford, Ontario, to joining the CBC to his highly public departure for CTV to his career as senior editor of CTV News. Filled with fascinating and often hilarious anecdotes about Robertson's career, this book captures the essential tales of our time and is a must for any Canadian interested in the inner workings of a frenetic newsroom.

My Review:

Who doesn't love Lloyd Robertson? Lloyd's memoir will fill you up and leave you feeling satisfied as if you've just sat down and finished a long, well-deserved homemade turkey dinner. No one has been in broadcasting as long as our dear Lloyd and he has the credentials to prove it.

I was somewhat surprised to learn of his mother's problems and his father's older age, he certainly didn't have much of a childhood and I felt he was lonely a lot of the time but always managed to find himself something to do. He was self-motivated from the word go and it's not at all surprising he became so very successful.

The Kind of Life It's Been is a riveting story about a man who truly is Canada's voice! Lloyd is a man who is not only known and loved in Canada, but around the world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars lloyd roberston a kind of life it's been., June 27 2014
By 
Roger Nadeau "roger" (canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kind Of Life It's Been (Hardcover)
mediocre at best just not enough meat here. mr. Roberson has seen some of the most tumultuous times from a point of view the rest of us can only dream of and he doesn't really have anything to say about them. that being said It didn't take too long to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Robertson Bio Fair Read, Oct. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Lloyd's account has an air of honesty. Gives the unpleasant with the more pleasing parts of his life's story. At times the details tend to bore, and a few parts I skipped over. Over all it's a good, honest, and interesting read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A qualified OK, June 17 2013
By 
David (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Kind Of Life It's Been (Hardcover)
A news anchor becomes a national figure, and potentially has a broad range of experiences. I wish there had been more of Lloyd's experiences in the field and less on the manoeuvres between the different broadcasting stations. As common in an autobiography there was a plethora of name dropping, which to someone not connected with the TV or radio industry was confusing. Interesting parts, and I would say yes it's OK and worth reading particularly if you have an interest in the development of radio and TV in Canada.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, June 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Kind Of Life It's Been (Hardcover)
Very interesting book with the same personal style and mannerism that Canadians have grown to respect from Lloyd Robertson. Great book for anyone in Canada but especially those individuals from Ontario.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Gift, Jan. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Kind Of Life It's Been (Hardcover)
Purchased this book as a gift and have been told it is worth reading. Also, item arrived exactly as described and on time. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kind Of Life It's Been
The Kind Of Life It's Been by Lloyd Robertson (Hardcover - Oct. 3 2012)
CDN$ 33.99 CDN$ 21.31
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews