Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for hockey fans
I was completely surprised by this book. Sanderson and Kevin Shea have put together a telling of Sanderson's life that readers will find riveting regardless of whether or not they are hockey fans. The highs and lows of his life were so extreme that they are the stuff of legend. There are of course the stories of Derek's rise to fame and his party lifestyle, along with...
Published 17 months ago by twmsarh

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Little Tame
Pretty good read. lt seemed that he glossed over what should have been some of the juicier recollections of his heyday, l guess he either couldn't remember or didn't want to get sued. He obviously had plenty of help in reconstructing a lot of the stories on the game though. lt was a little soft.
Published 9 months ago by Steve McLean


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for hockey fans, Nov. 8 2012
By 
twmsarh (Halifax, NS, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crossing The Line (Hardcover)
I was completely surprised by this book. Sanderson and Kevin Shea have put together a telling of Sanderson's life that readers will find riveting regardless of whether or not they are hockey fans. The highs and lows of his life were so extreme that they are the stuff of legend. There are of course the stories of Derek's rise to fame and his party lifestyle, along with wonderful anecdotes about playing with his good friends Bobby Orr and Phil Esposito, but for me the best parts of the book came out in the retelling of Derek's relationship with his father, who was the most significant influence in his life. From the world's highest paid athlete, partying with celebrities at Studio 54 to broke and sleeping in Central Park, this book proves that sometimes the most entertaining stories are not thought up, but are entirely true
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING READ, Nov. 19 2012
By 
J. McHugh (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crossing The Line (Hardcover)
Another EXCELLENT book written by Kevin Shea!!!

For the longest time, I've said Mr. Shea's book, "Without A Trace; The Bill Barilko Story" was THE BEST SPORTS BOOK I'VE EVER READ!!

Well....That is still; # 1!.........Crossing The Line is # 1(a)

The first 1/3 of the book is a SUPER smooth read! It feels like you are sitting with Derek, having a coffee, and he is telling you what happened.

Then, it gets into a more SERIOUS, moving, and involved section, that DEFINITELY holds the reader's attention!!

The last part is very warm, and like the rest of the book; VERY DIRECT!! A great ending to a terrific book!

I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK, for hockey fans, who remember Derek as an outstanding face-off artist, and one of the best penalty killers of his time.

I would also recommend this book for hockey fans, under 40, as a definite part of your hockey education.

THIS would make an EXCELLENT MOVIE!!

Mr. Sanderson is the embodiment of the saying..."THE GREATEST ACOMPLISHMENT IS NOT IN NEVER FALLING....BUT, IN RISING AGAIN AFTER YOU FALL", which was first said by a pretty amazing man in his own right....VINCE LOMBARDI!!

If you have a sports fan, on your list, and/or, in your family, who is tough to buy for....NOT ANY MORE!!! This is it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Go bruins, Jan. 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great story. What a wild life. It did drag on a little bit and go over the same stories and views a few times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Derek Sanderson oh hell...., Aug. 22 2013
By 
D. Payne "MovieCat" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crossing The Line (Hardcover)
Derek Sanderson was "the" hockey player I hated the most when I was 9 years old. He was a villain. Back then, good was still admired, bad behavior was Sanderson. On the ice and off. In today's society he'd be more famous like those athletes who are jerks and still admired. Back then, only Bruins fans liked him.

This is a good hockey book and a great read. Kevin Shea is a fine hockey writer and I've enjoyed his other books. But I'd just like to state a couple things that the reader might not get out of the book. Firstly, Sanderson was a great player before he left for the WHA. He was a great skater. He could kill penalties. He won face offs. He was tough. He calls himself a third line center. That is BS. I don't know of another player at the time who could do all the things he could do. Every team would have wanted him, he was that good.

Secondly, the bad guy image. He wasn't just a guy having fun. But he did it in a nasty way. I can remember a game as a kid where the Leafs beat Boston 2-0 and with a few minutes left and the Bruins frustrated, Sanderson went after Tim Horton, putting on a ridiculous show, fighting linesmen and teammates to get at Horton. The Leafs fans couldn't even enjoy the win without shaking their heads at the antics. He was an arrogant piece of work. The other thing I remember is a Hockey Night in Canada intermission feature on him. I don't remember the feature except he threw a coffee cup or the like, into the street before getting in his car. Again, arrogance. It's funny how when you are a kid those heroes and villains seem to last a lifetime. Dave Keon was my hero, Sanderson my villain. And no book 40 years later is going to change that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read!, June 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crossing The Line (Hardcover)
This is an excellent story as told by one of the former greats of hockey. As someone who watched him from junior to the NHL and then self destruct it was very interesting. Not sure if he still accepts responsibility for his life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fast-paced, interesting, well-written autobiography!, May 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crossing The Line (Hardcover)
If you were a hockey fan in the 1970's , you will love this book. However,it is much more than a hockey story. It is also one man's battle with alcoholism and ultimate victory over the disease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great sports story, May 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crossing The Line (Hardcover)
Hard to put this one down. Derek Sanderson lived an unusual life. I enjoyed watching him play when I was a kid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic case of everyday joe hit it big and can't handle it, Dec 31 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crossing The Line (Hardcover)
This is a good book...well worth the $16 bucks. Gave a lot of insight into hockey back from my favorite era. Derek really knew the finer points of hockey. His first 3-4 years, he appeared to be a future hall of famer, but once the fame hit him his career got sidetracked. Around the time he defected to the WHA. He couldn't handle the money...the women, the partying. Phil Espo said in his book partying was main reason the early '70s Bruins didn't win more than 2 Cups. After reading this book, I would have to agree. Between that and being raided hard by WHA, helped out by Bruins extreme cheapness. Wasn't WHA alone which stole talent due to Bruins' cheapness. Harry Sinden, a hall of fame coach was lost for 2 years to a construction company over $3,000 bucks. Ridiculous decision by the B's. Probably top reason for upset in 1971.

But Sanderson, on his end...live like few others will. Paid cash for a high end Rolls Royce, played in NHL and won 2 Cups, slept with hundreds of beauty women, owned a successful bar in Boston. Maybe he knew what he was doing all along. Wanted the fast life style instead of another cup or two.

I gave the book a 4...I felt the book wasn't entirely truthful. Feeling Derek left some facts out either to protect other players or....just lying. Maybe to protect his family from certian details. Hard to believe anybody that hockey smart would be dumb enough to try coke for the first time after getting a phone call from the fuzz he was being set up by 2 hoes and about to be busted. He was on it before and got a break on the drug test. Also, if clean why tell people at a party in '73 to be clean as his company would be 2 female undercover officers?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Little Tame, July 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crossing The Line (Hardcover)
Pretty good read. lt seemed that he glossed over what should have been some of the juicier recollections of his heyday, l guess he either couldn't remember or didn't want to get sued. He obviously had plenty of help in reconstructing a lot of the stories on the game though. lt was a little soft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing..., Jan. 8 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crossing The Line (Hardcover)
I am not a fan of sports biographies, despite the potential for a great story in the lives of athletes. Many end up as vacant as the sports interviews you see between periods. I bought this book because Derek Sanderson's story is an incredible tale of highs and lows and I expected a story that would encompass that. However, the only word I can think of to describe this book is perfunctory. It barely scratches the surface in his descriptions of events in his life and many times I was left wondering where the rest of the story was...what happened, why did he do that, how did he really feel, and what was he thinking at the time?

Finally, I was left questioning the facts of the story. On page 143 he talks about giving his Stanley Cup rings to his dad and then not seeing them again until he was dating his wife. Later in the book, page 327, he tells a story about an old friend he reconnects with in 1984 who had saved his rings for him in a safety deposit box. Maybe I missed something, but the stories don't fit. This book could have been so much more, but failed to live up to its potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadaad390)

This product

Crossing The Line
Crossing The Line by Derek S Sanderson (Hardcover - Oct. 5 2012)
CDN$ 32.99 CDN$ 20.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews