Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars17
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on November 8, 2012
I was completely surprised by this book. Sanderson and Kevin Shea have put together a telling of Sanderson's life that readers will find riveting regardless of whether or not they are hockey fans. The highs and lows of his life were so extreme that they are the stuff of legend. There are of course the stories of Derek's rise to fame and his party lifestyle, along with wonderful anecdotes about playing with his good friends Bobby Orr and Phil Esposito, but for me the best parts of the book came out in the retelling of Derek's relationship with his father, who was the most significant influence in his life. From the world's highest paid athlete, partying with celebrities at Studio 54 to broke and sleeping in Central Park, this book proves that sometimes the most entertaining stories are not thought up, but are entirely true
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on November 19, 2012
Another EXCELLENT book written by Kevin Shea!!!

For the longest time, I've said Mr. Shea's book, "Without A Trace; The Bill Barilko Story" was THE BEST SPORTS BOOK I'VE EVER READ!!

Well....That is still; # 1!.........Crossing The Line is # 1(a)

The first 1/3 of the book is a SUPER smooth read! It feels like you are sitting with Derek, having a coffee, and he is telling you what happened.

Then, it gets into a more SERIOUS, moving, and involved section, that DEFINITELY holds the reader's attention!!

The last part is very warm, and like the rest of the book; VERY DIRECT!! A great ending to a terrific book!

I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK, for hockey fans, who remember Derek as an outstanding face-off artist, and one of the best penalty killers of his time.

I would also recommend this book for hockey fans, under 40, as a definite part of your hockey education.

THIS would make an EXCELLENT MOVIE!!

Mr. Sanderson is the embodiment of the saying..."THE GREATEST ACOMPLISHMENT IS NOT IN NEVER FALLING....BUT, IN RISING AGAIN AFTER YOU FALL", which was first said by a pretty amazing man in his own right....VINCE LOMBARDI!!

If you have a sports fan, on your list, and/or, in your family, who is tough to buy for....NOT ANY MORE!!! This is it!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2013
Derek Sanderson was "the" hockey player I hated the most when I was 9 years old. He was a villain. Back then, good was still admired, bad behavior was Sanderson. On the ice and off. In today's society he'd be more famous like those athletes who are jerks and still admired. Back then, only Bruins fans liked him.

This is a good hockey book and a great read. Kevin Shea is a fine hockey writer and I've enjoyed his other books. But I'd just like to state a couple things that the reader might not get out of the book. Firstly, Sanderson was a great player before he left for the WHA. He was a great skater. He could kill penalties. He won face offs. He was tough. He calls himself a third line center. That is BS. I don't know of another player at the time who could do all the things he could do. Every team would have wanted him, he was that good.

Secondly, the bad guy image. He wasn't just a guy having fun. But he did it in a nasty way. I can remember a game as a kid where the Leafs beat Boston 2-0 and with a few minutes left and the Bruins frustrated, Sanderson went after Tim Horton, putting on a ridiculous show, fighting linesmen and teammates to get at Horton. The Leafs fans couldn't even enjoy the win without shaking their heads at the antics. He was an arrogant piece of work. The other thing I remember is a Hockey Night in Canada intermission feature on him. I don't remember the feature except he threw a coffee cup or the like, into the street before getting in his car. Again, arrogance. It's funny how when you are a kid those heroes and villains seem to last a lifetime. Dave Keon was my hero, Sanderson my villain. And no book 40 years later is going to change that.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2012
This is a good book...well worth the $16 bucks. Gave a lot of insight into hockey back from my favorite era. Derek really knew the finer points of hockey. His first 3-4 years, he appeared to be a future hall of famer, but once the fame hit him his career got sidetracked. Around the time he defected to the WHA. He couldn't handle the money...the women, the partying. Phil Espo said in his book partying was main reason the early '70s Bruins didn't win more than 2 Cups. After reading this book, I would have to agree. Between that and being raided hard by WHA, helped out by Bruins extreme cheapness. Wasn't WHA alone which stole talent due to Bruins' cheapness. Harry Sinden, a hall of fame coach was lost for 2 years to a construction company over $3,000 bucks. Ridiculous decision by the B's. Probably top reason for upset in 1971.

But Sanderson, on his like few others will. Paid cash for a high end Rolls Royce, played in NHL and won 2 Cups, slept with hundreds of beauty women, owned a successful bar in Boston. Maybe he knew what he was doing all along. Wanted the fast life style instead of another cup or two.

I gave the book a 4...I felt the book wasn't entirely truthful. Feeling Derek left some facts out either to protect other players or....just lying. Maybe to protect his family from certian details. Hard to believe anybody that hockey smart would be dumb enough to try coke for the first time after getting a phone call from the fuzz he was being set up by 2 hoes and about to be busted. He was on it before and got a break on the drug test. Also, if clean why tell people at a party in '73 to be clean as his company would be 2 female undercover officers?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2015
A very well written book about the life and times of a very colorful Hockey player who was a very good player . I found once I started to read this book written by Kevin Shea I could not put it down . Sanderson goes into great detail of what really happened in his life and how he was portrayed by the media . This is a very good read about a short lived hockey player who lost everything to mind altering drugs, who briefly went from the highest paid athlete in the world to a bum on the streets! A eye opener about alcoholism!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2014
A very good autobiography. I watched Derek play at Maple Leaf Gardens in the 1970's when he was with the Bruins. I think he grew up lot and learned from his mistakes. Nice to read that he has a better life now than he was leading in his hay-day.

0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2013
This is an excellent story as told by one of the former greats of hockey. As someone who watched him from junior to the NHL and then self destruct it was very interesting. Not sure if he still accepts responsibility for his life.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2013
If you were a hockey fan in the 1970's , you will love this book. However,it is much more than a hockey story. It is also one man's battle with alcoholism and ultimate victory over the disease.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2014
The book is as described.

I'm unsure how this book was removed from the circulation system at a public library. It seems weird that someone is profiting from a library book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2014
Great book about the life of Derek Sanderson. We learn that life can be hazardous for people with too much money to spend.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Thunder and Lightning: A No-B.S. Hockey Memoir
Thunder and Lightning: A No-B.S. Hockey Memoir by Phil Esposito (Mass Market Paperback - Oct. 19 2004)
CDN$ 10.99

Tough Guy
Tough Guy by Bob Probert (Paperback - Oct. 25 2011)
CDN$ 15.31

Orr: My Story
Orr: My Story by Bobby Orr (Hardcover - Oct. 15 2013)
CDN$ 23.99